SRC Member ervine Posted July 26, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 26, 2006 Hi guys, Something's wrong with my GSPs, had them for a few months now but in the past 3-4 days they've completely closed up and refuse to open... What could be the reason? Thanks! Ervine Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member remus Posted July 26, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 26, 2006 did u change the location,and the flow to it.cos i used to have one open nice nice until my mum change location then close up totally.But when i place back the location it open well again.How about the water para maybe sudden cahnge in water para. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hammy Posted July 26, 2006 Share Posted July 26, 2006 i do realise my starpolyps have that habit too. but seachem reef plus seem to help Quote 2x1.5x1.5 tank Lighting: AI hydra 52HD Skimmer: Deltec SC 1455 Reactor: Minimax; rowaphos Skimz ; NP biopellets Wave Maker: MP 40 WQD Return pump: Eheim 1262 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 hp A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal, but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel -- Proverbs 12:10 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted July 26, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 26, 2006 din change position leh... but I'll try to move it somewhere else to see if it helps.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted July 26, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 26, 2006 i do realise my starpolyps have that habit too. but seachem reef plus seem to help but did they open up again eventually? and why would seachem reef plus help? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nakazoru Posted July 26, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 26, 2006 Some time dinoflagellate or cyanobacteria growning or algae or even dirt on them. Thus not opening. I sometimes blast waste them with for good 10sec until I see purple base again... After 2 days, they are good as new. Hope it helps. Quote Equipment: 30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer Live Stock: Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2 Reef: 1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato RIPs (Since June 2005): 1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...) Old 30G Corner Tank. Restarted 30G Corner Tank. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jervismun Posted July 27, 2006 Share Posted July 27, 2006 Agree with bro Nakazoru... clean it up a bit... so it's somewhat a sign of bad placement... mine also the same... in the same position for months, then decide to close up (or partial close up)... then moved to a high flow area and been happily ever since Quote Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted July 27, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 for me mine also not opening..change from MH to t5...... Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Sotong Posted July 27, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 Hi Agreed too to the need of directing the "blower" at them once in a while to "clean" them. I've notice that never never drop them or allow other hard object to drop on them... the GSP will not open... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted July 27, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 Hi Agreed too to the need of directing the "blower" at them once in a while to "clean" them. I've notice that never never drop them or allow other hard object to drop on them... the GSP will not open... okie, I already moved it to another position, will try to blast it with my seio later, what's this about dropping a hard object onto it, you mean even after you remove the hard object it still won't open? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member remus Posted July 27, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 i think he mean that a rock or object drop onto it may cause it to stress or injured it.i think most coral wahen a hard oject drop onto it will case damage to it one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jervismun Posted July 27, 2006 Share Posted July 27, 2006 i think he mean that a rock or object drop onto it may cause it to stress or injured it.i think most coral wahen a hard oject drop onto it will case damage to it one. Haha... try dropping a piece of LR on Prata... Quote Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Sotong Posted July 27, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 i think he mean that a rock or object drop onto it may cause it to stress or injured it.i think most coral wahen a hard oject drop onto it will case damage to it one. Yeap.. thatz what I meant. Other Corals might recover after that but, personal experience, GSP almost never.... Nonetheless GSP = Beautiful.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted July 27, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 Yeap.. thatz what I meant. Other Corals might recover after that but, personal experience, GSP almost never.... Nonetheless GSP = Beautiful.... shouldn't be leh they were right at the top... u guys think maybe a crab or what is bothering it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted July 27, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 Mine GSP is always opened very lushly but 2 days ago also notice that part of it are retracted I suspected that happened after i re-directed the flow away from it. Time for relocation Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted July 27, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 YAY they starting to open up... still 80% closed but better than nothing!.. I moved it to a new location, blasted it with the seio for a while to wash off whatever might have been covering it... couple of hours later it started to open up... yay!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member remus Posted July 27, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 27, 2006 Good for u mi sian liao mum started to relocated it AGAIN.say the spot not nice.got to reloctae it again.Sian.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted July 30, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 30, 2006 great news... GSPs back to full bloom again... *sigh of relief* Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Sotong Posted August 1, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted August 1, 2006 ***Applause *** Congratulations!!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...