Carpetting Sandbed with corals

beaver

Hi Reefers,

i would like to get some advice/feedback on the above. I will thinking of covering a section of the sandbed with encrusting soft corals like polpys, xenia, zoo etc. Will that pose any problems? I thought that it will look nice and natural for such aquascaping. Thanks! :)

Hi Reefers,

i would like to get some advice/feedback on the above. I will thinking of covering a section of the sandbed with encrusting soft corals like polpys, xenia, zoo etc. Will that pose any problems? I thought that it will look nice and natural for such aquascaping. Thanks! :)

its alrite..u can even place cyannaria and pratas on the sandbed.... :lol:

I mean totally covered...for a certain section. I am looking to more of polyps and xenia for a carpet effect. Shouldn't be a problem rite?

u mean u wan to use the sand n cover the corals?.. ;)

I think he meant to cover the sandbed with corals.

oh..in tis case there shldnt be a prob wif it..as long as the lightings is enough... :D ..

I think corals that actually carpet rocks will not do the same on sand.

I mean, you don't see zoos growing in a carpet over sand right?

Not unless you have sand that turned to rock due to coralline growth ;)

I think corals that actually carpet rocks will not do the same on sand.

I mean, you don't see zoos growing in a carpet over sand right?

Not unless you have sand that turned to rock due to coralline growth ;)

:unsure: .....huh?.....dun get wad u mean....

Oh I meant, because the idea is to have carpetting corals such as star polyps and zoos to cover the sandbed, somewhat like growing grass, I don't think it'll work.

From what I know, these corals require a solid surface to actually spread and grow their new tissue so as sand is constantly shifting, it'll be hard for them to actually get a good footing to start the spread.

Oh I meant, because the idea is to have carpetting corals such as star polyps and zoos to cover the sandbed, somewhat like growing grass, I don't think it'll work.

From what I know, these corals require a solid surface to actually spread and grow their new tissue so as sand is constantly shifting, it'll be hard for them to actually get a good footing to start the spread.

yea...got to agree on tt....star polyps are hard to propagate on the sandbed.....but its higly possible on glass surface.. :heh:

In that case, you gotta get quite a number of specimens to cover the sandbed :lol:

just another CRAZY CRAZY idea. Copy from the fresh water people. The way they grwo the water plants onto the wooden logs. They actually wrap a plastic netting onto the wood, then allow the plants to grow over the log. This way the plants will then have something "solid" to attach themselves.

Therefore in the same way. You can wrap a live rock with the netting. Then put it beside a rock with the zoos or star polyps. Then allow the star polyps to spread over. Then when that is successful, unwrap the netting and then place the netting upon the sand???? Can this work??? Give it a try and it it works you can name it after me. The "cdckjn" technique?? :D:D

Wow that's a nice idea!! :lol:

but you might want to know what sting and what doesn't. By carpeting, I guess you would want corals to be as close as possible. So must know what can be placed with what.

bro, i dont quite understand, if you put the netting below the sand for the starpoylp. when they grow wont they encrust to the netting? when you take it out, wont you be taking the netting out together? and what type of netting are you refering to? can share a picture or something? thanks.

Member of

n34281892381_7606.jpg

dun understand this at all.. if u wan corals like zoos, xenias etc to carpet the bottom, and when they do, wun they cover the sandbed? if that is the main idea, then remove the sand in the first place.. and propagate the corals lor... go for sandless and corals bottom instead..

Wow! Thanks for all the comments...I guez what I like is to get the lush look of a "carpetting" effect on soft corals like polpys and xenia to create a natural look. The main thing that I am worried about if whether by putting so many corals directly on the sandbed, will it create dead spots and fouling the sandbed, thus creating problems in the future...

Agree with bro kelstorm (what's your name ha? Suddenly forgot :paiseh: )

You'd be better off with a bare bottom if you are not using the sand for any specific purpose

Agree with bro kelstorm (what's your name ha? Suddenly forgot :paiseh: )

You'd be better off with a bare bottom if you are not using the sand for any specific purpose

I still like the look of a sandbed lah and I just wanna carpet just part of the area not totally... :rolleyes:

I think zoos are almost perfect for it

Just have a frag on a sizeable rock and you'll get what you want :lol: