SRC Member beaver Posted July 16, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 Hi Reefers, i would like to get some advice/feedback on the above. I will thinking of covering a section of the sandbed with encrusting soft corals like polpys, xenia, zoo etc. Will that pose any problems? I thought that it will look nice and natural for such aquascaping. Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted July 16, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 Hi Reefers, i would like to get some advice/feedback on the above. I will thinking of covering a section of the sandbed with encrusting soft corals like polpys, xenia, zoo etc. Will that pose any problems? I thought that it will look nice and natural for such aquascaping. Thanks! its alrite..u can even place cyannaria and pratas on the sandbed.... Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted July 16, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 its alrite..u can even place cyannaria and pratas on the sandbed.... I mean totally covered...for a certain section. I am looking to more of polyps and xenia for a carpet effect. Shouldn't be a problem rite? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted July 16, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 I mean totally covered...for a certain section. I am looking to more of polyps and xenia for a carpet effect. Shouldn't be a problem rite? u mean u wan to use the sand n cover the corals?.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member BFG Posted July 16, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 I think he meant to cover the sandbed with corals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted July 16, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 I think he meant to cover the sandbed with corals. oh..in tis case there shldnt be a prob wif it..as long as the lightings is enough... .. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted July 16, 2006 Share Posted July 16, 2006 I think corals that actually carpet rocks will not do the same on sand. I mean, you don't see zoos growing in a carpet over sand right? Not unless you have sand that turned to rock due to coralline growth Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted July 16, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 I think corals that actually carpet rocks will not do the same on sand.I mean, you don't see zoos growing in a carpet over sand right? Not unless you have sand that turned to rock due to coralline growth .....huh?.....dun get wad u mean.... Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted July 16, 2006 Share Posted July 16, 2006 Oh I meant, because the idea is to have carpetting corals such as star polyps and zoos to cover the sandbed, somewhat like growing grass, I don't think it'll work. From what I know, these corals require a solid surface to actually spread and grow their new tissue so as sand is constantly shifting, it'll be hard for them to actually get a good footing to start the spread. Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted July 16, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 Oh I meant, because the idea is to have carpetting corals such as star polyps and zoos to cover the sandbed, somewhat like growing grass, I don't think it'll work.From what I know, these corals require a solid surface to actually spread and grow their new tissue so as sand is constantly shifting, it'll be hard for them to actually get a good footing to start the spread. yea...got to agree on tt....star polyps are hard to propagate on the sandbed.....but its higly possible on glass surface.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hammerhd Posted July 16, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 I think he means buying the corals and put them all on the seabed thus having a carpet effect Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member BFG Posted July 17, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 17, 2006 I agree to what Hammerhd wrote. Beaver might not intend to put the coral directly on the sand but to put the corals together with the rock that it came with on the sandbed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted July 17, 2006 Share Posted July 17, 2006 In that case, you gotta get quite a number of specimens to cover the sandbed Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hammerhd Posted July 18, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 18, 2006 as long as the light are strong enough and the regular dosing of additives it can be done. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cdckjn Posted July 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 19, 2006 just another CRAZY CRAZY idea. Copy from the fresh water people. The way they grwo the water plants onto the wooden logs. They actually wrap a plastic netting onto the wood, then allow the plants to grow over the log. This way the plants will then have something "solid" to attach themselves. Therefore in the same way. You can wrap a live rock with the netting. Then put it beside a rock with the zoos or star polyps. Then allow the star polyps to spread over. Then when that is successful, unwrap the netting and then place the netting upon the sand???? Can this work??? Give it a try and it it works you can name it after me. The "cdckjn" technique?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted July 19, 2006 Share Posted July 19, 2006 Wow that's a nice idea!! Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member arcanehacker Posted July 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 19, 2006 but you might want to know what sting and what doesn't. By carpeting, I guess you would want corals to be as close as possible. So must know what can be placed with what. Quote Why do we use "My 2 cents worth" when 1 cents are not legal tender in Singapore anymore? Shouldn't it be 5 cents worth? "Its easier to blame the 'mantis' or crabs in the tank for missing & dead livestocks.." http://arcanehacker.blogspot.com/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member w3ish3ng Posted July 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 19, 2006 bro, i dont quite understand, if you put the netting below the sand for the starpoylp. when they grow wont they encrust to the netting? when you take it out, wont you be taking the netting out together? and what type of netting are you refering to? can share a picture or something? thanks. Quote Member of Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kelstorm Posted July 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 19, 2006 dun understand this at all.. if u wan corals like zoos, xenias etc to carpet the bottom, and when they do, wun they cover the sandbed? if that is the main idea, then remove the sand in the first place.. and propagate the corals lor... go for sandless and corals bottom instead.. Quote Let us work together to preserve the world for our children to inherit by being responsible to our surroundings. Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, bubbles and memories. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted July 19, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 19, 2006 Wow! Thanks for all the comments...I guez what I like is to get the lush look of a "carpetting" effect on soft corals like polpys and xenia to create a natural look. The main thing that I am worried about if whether by putting so many corals directly on the sandbed, will it create dead spots and fouling the sandbed, thus creating problems in the future... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kelstorm Posted July 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 19, 2006 *double post.. deleted* Quote Let us work together to preserve the world for our children to inherit by being responsible to our surroundings. Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, bubbles and memories. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted July 19, 2006 Share Posted July 19, 2006 Wow! Thanks for all the comments...I guez what I like is to get the lush look of a "carpetting" effect on soft corals like polpys and xenia to create a natural look. The main thing that I am worried about if whether by putting so many corals directly on the sandbed, will it create dead spots and fouling the sandbed, thus creating problems in the future... Agree with bro kelstorm (what's your name ha? Suddenly forgot ) You'd be better off with a bare bottom if you are not using the sand for any specific purpose Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted July 19, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 19, 2006 Agree with bro kelstorm (what's your name ha? Suddenly forgot ) You'd be better off with a bare bottom if you are not using the sand for any specific purpose I still like the look of a sandbed lah and I just wanna carpet just part of the area not totally... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted July 19, 2006 Share Posted July 19, 2006 I think zoos are almost perfect for it Just have a frag on a sizeable rock and you'll get what you want Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...