250G 6x2.5x2.5ft Reef Project

acidjazz

u fully open the air valve?? Must balance the water/air ratio mah otherwise how to skim properly with so much air?

The Bubble Master air valve is not controllable... let's see how well it can skim with that much air :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

• Replies 1.2k

The Bubble Master air valve is not controllable... let's see how well it can skim with that much air :)

Thanks jervis. . i will post more pictures about the skimming soon. .

I'm trying to get hold of a Digital Air Flow Meter... on loan of course... will let you know if the owner is willing :)

Show the bubble/foam pushing up the neck please :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

I'm trying to get hold of a Digital Air Flow Meter... on loan of course... will let you know if the owner is willing :)

Show the bubble/foam pushing up the neck please :)

It will be good to find out what's the actual air intake of the Bubble Master. Btw the one at AM is running with wad pump?

Its already foaming. . and rising up the neck. . can see some skimmate.

Btw the one at AM is running with wad pump?

Let me check the next time I drop by... should be 1262 :)

Some pictures of the BM.

post-34-1156096593.jpg

post-34-1156096643.jpg

post-34-1156096699.jpg

Cotten Candy Foam.

post-34-1156096758.jpg

Lovely... now I can't wait for mine to fire-up :evil: But doubt my BM250 can achieve so much as I intend to stock lightly in fishes... getting ready for SPS.

The BM 250 is obviously oversized for both our tanks.

At least i knoe i dun have to change a skimmer even when i upgrade my tank to 10 footer.

Thanks for recommending the ATI BM.

The BM 250 is obviously oversized for both our tanks.

At least i knoe i dun have to change a skimmer even when i upgrade my tank to 10 footer.

Thanks for recommending the ATI BM.

Haha... bro don't thank me so early hor... you have not run it for a week yet... anymore GUNK to share with me? :sick::sick::sick:

I doubt the BM 250 can handle a 10 footer... you probably need a BK500 :lol:

The BM 250 will be a bit overkill for my humble little 4 footer... that's the plan actually :lol:

Haha... bro don't thank me so early hor... you have not run it for a week yet... anymore GUNK to share with me? :sick::sick::sick:

I doubt the BM 250 can handle a 10 footer... you probably need a BK500 :lol:

The BM 250 will be a bit overkill for my humble little 4 footer... that's the plan actually :lol:

A little update on my fishes:

Sohal Tang

Red Sea Salfin Tang

Purple Tang

Blue Tang x9

Yellow Tang x9

Black Line Trigger

Bi-colour Angel

Maroon Clown

Common Clown

Green Chromis x15

My water too clean leh. . lots of bubbles but not skimmate. Maybe the collection cup too huge, needs a long time to fill it up. :lol:

Nah your tank how to be "too clean" with so many fishies :lol::lol::lol: What do you feed your fishes btw? Time for some Henry's mix... the whole tub of it :yeah: How's the foam coming along? Does it look like this?

Credit: Pix taken from AquaMarin (4 days of running the Bubble Master)

post-34-1156167887.jpg

Nah your tank how to be "too clean" with so many fishies :lol::lol::lol: What do you feed your fishes btw? Time for some Henry's mix... the whole tub of it :yeah: How's the foam coming along? Does it look like this?

Credit: Pix taken from AquaMarin (4 days of running the Bubble Master)

It looks pretty similar.

i feed the fishes with new spectrum pellets, as well as 8 cubes of brine/mysis shrimps daily. Every two days will dose some cyclopreeze into the tank.

so far no complaints about the skimmer. However, if it does underperform or break down or what i will update u guys. :D

However, if it does underperform or break down or what i will update u guys. :D

Yeah you must let us all know... now where do we get service and spare parts?!? ;)

from AM? :P

I do hope so... but at this early stage... I doubt any LFS or distributor will start stocking spare parts... they have not even gotten the units out :lol::lol::lol:

The way i see it, spare parts are already readily available.

Assuming the skimmer's body is perfectly fine.

1) Eheim pump is readily available in the market.

2) The thread-wheel can be DIY if u have the material.

3) No special technology or hidden parts about this skimmer, which makes it easy to copy.

Thus no issues man. . anyway Eheim pumps are known to be reliable.

You guys will be the first to know if my ATI BM starts giving trouble.

So do take good care of the body... since they are not using thick plexiglass to start with... oh how silent is this skimmer actually... can describe using words? The Germans claimed

no sound at all" but I expect a bit of sound from the pump and the air intake (air flow meter chamber).

So do take good care of the body... since they are not using thick plexiglass to start with... oh how silent is this skimmer actually... can describe using words? The Germans claimed

no sound at all" but I expect a bit of sound from the pump and the air intake (air flow meter chamber).

Frankly, the fan in my cabinet is so loud tt it silence all other pumps. :lol:

i did off my fan n check the noise level la. . its fairly quiet. No sound coming from the air intake. As for the pump, since eheim doesnt vibrate tt much, sld be just as silent.

I shouldn't be asking you all these questions... damn I do have a unit... dry up there on a display shelf :( Come on... I can't wait no more :D

be more patient. . . that's the key for keeping sps in future. . . :lol:

Btw i am considering getting a mini blue-spotted ray for my tank (as small as possible) and some triggers.

Not gonna convert it into a fully predator tank, but a slight change.

i am getting bored of facing my tangs everyday. They can never feed enuff.

I'm not gonna tell u not to keep the ray....but please do sufficient research on them first before purchasing one....they're known to be difficult eaters...and require ample space on the sandbed so u might need to rework ur rockscape possibly.

But if u wanted to...ur tank should be sufficient to maintain a bamboo shark now (the one u got from lester previously)...again, with a lil bit of reworking the rockscape...and more reseach on it's actual upkeep. ;)

Tank 66"x27"x28" - Return Pump Red Dragon 12m3 - Skimmer Deltec AP701 - Chiller Starmex - Wavemakers Wavysea - Lighting DE 6 x T5-HO

southpaw23's reef

I'm not gonna tell u not to keep the ray....but please do sufficient research on them first before purchasing one....they're known to be difficult eaters...and require ample space on the sandbed so u might need to rework ur rockscape possibly.

But if u wanted to...ur tank should be sufficient to maintain a bamboo shark now (the one u got from lester previously)...again, with a lil bit of reworking the rockscape...and more reseach on it's actual upkeep. ;)

i kept blue-spotted stingray before. Maybe i was lucky the last time round, it wasnt a fussy eater.

i actually saw a fish called the Ray Shark according to the lfs. It looks more like a stingray actually, but damn expensive. . like 120sgd.