SRC Member beaver Posted July 9, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 9, 2006 Halo, Does anyone has any success stories with Mandarin fish to share? I read that they usually starve to death in captivity and they only feed on copepods in the LRs. Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nakazoru Posted July 9, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 9, 2006 They are relatively difficult to keep. It is recommended for tank more than 1/2 yrs when pods are in abundance. Though there are pellets eating dragonet, but it really takes time and patients to train them on pellets. My main tank's pod are now much less after introduction of dragonet. But the sump is a breeding ground for pods. So its food supply is always there. Otherwise I never bother with this guy. Quote Equipment: 30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer Live Stock: Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2 Reef: 1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato RIPs (Since June 2005): 1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...) Old 30G Corner Tank. Restarted 30G Corner Tank. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted July 9, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 9, 2006 Showing my roving cowboy... Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted July 9, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 9, 2006 UNITED THEY STAND !!! Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Limpc Posted July 10, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2006 Had a lovely pair about 6 months ago, but the girlfriend passed away. The lonely male is now feeding on frozen brine shrimp and mysis shrimp. It's a lovely species to have in a reef tank but only if your tank is mature enough to sustain this creative thro' the period of not taking frozen food. It's gesture, movement and curiosity is fun to watch in the tank. I'm comtemplating to matchmake a partner for him but understand that if they are not fated, they will fight to the last breath. My 2 cents. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jervismun Posted July 10, 2006 Share Posted July 10, 2006 My Spotted Mandarin has been with me for more than 5 months now... belly portion looks filled (not sunken in)... I guess luck does play a part coz my tank was very new when I first introduced it... I still remember when I bought it from Irwana, I saw it feeding on frozen brine shrimp... that's the reason I net it out... or else wouldn't dare in the first place. Quote Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted July 10, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2006 Had a lovely pair about 6 months ago, but the girlfriend passed away. The lonely male is now feeding on frozen brine shrimp and mysis shrimp. It's a lovely species to have in a reef tank but only if your tank is mature enough to sustain this creative thro' the period of not taking frozen food. It's gesture, movement and curiosity is fun to watch in the tank. I'm comtemplating to matchmake a partner for him but understand that if they are not fated, they will fight to the last breath. My 2 cents. maybe can tobang ya Mandarin to pair up mine... Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Limpc Posted July 11, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 11, 2006 Hmmmm, sounds good. Let's arrange a blind date then .... does your Mandarin speaks mandarin ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted July 11, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 11, 2006 Hmmmm, sounds good. Let's arrange a blind date then .... does your Mandarin speaks mandarin ? Oops I think he's Khun Thai lah...hee hee Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted July 11, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 11, 2006 haha! U guys r funny. Do u think they will eat Artic-pods? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted July 11, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 11, 2006 Showing my roving cowboy... Kueytoc, how long is it in your tank? What do they eat? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Limpc Posted July 11, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 11, 2006 Oops I think he's Khun Thai lah...hee hee Mine is also a Khun ... GAY !!!! Damn Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted July 11, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 11, 2006 Kueytoc, how long is it in your tank? What do they eat? He has been roving in my reef community for more than 6 months liao...always see him chomping on LRs which is important in order to sustain his energy. Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jervismun Posted July 12, 2006 Share Posted July 12, 2006 Mine's a female... I hope she's not a LESBO Quote Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Limpc Posted July 12, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 12, 2006 Bro, Do you think a spotted mandarin and a green mandarin can go along ? Very tempted to intro a spotted one in my collection ... who knows may end up with spotted green offspring .... BTW, what's the coral about the your mandarin ? Chio leh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jervismun Posted July 12, 2006 Share Posted July 12, 2006 Bro, Do you think a spotted mandarin and a green mandarin can go along ? Very tempted to intro a spotted one in my collection ... who knows may end up with spotted green offspring .... BTW, what's the coral about the your mandarin ? Chio leh. The one on top is a Merulina, the one on the left is Green Star Polyps the one on the right is a hitchiker (not a clove, but dunno what) Quote Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted July 13, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 13, 2006 Generally, not advisable to put the pyschdelic and the spotted mandarins together. For fear of aggression. Mandarins are more suited for mature tanks. When I dismantle my setup due to a long trip, my Mandie couldn't last for more than 2 months in the new environment. One must be prepared not to have aggressive fish in the tank if they wan to keep mandarins. They will compete. And when you train mandarins to eat the commercial fishfood, aggressive fish will lead to competition for food and stress to the mandarin. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted July 16, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted July 16, 2006 Generally, not advisable to put the pyschdelic and the spotted mandarins together. For fear of aggression. Mandarins are more suited for mature tanks. When I dismantle my setup due to a long trip, my Mandie couldn't last for more than 2 months in the new environment. One must be prepared not to have aggressive fish in the tank if they wan to keep mandarins. They will compete. And when you train mandarins to eat the commercial fishfood, aggressive fish will lead to competition for food and stress to the mandarin. Hi sis, What did ur mandarin feed on? Thx Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bali Brain Posted July 17, 2006 Share Posted July 17, 2006 My take on this is that you can teach Mandarins to accept frozen bloodworms and brineshrimp. The only problem is that you may have to target feed since if there are other aggressive fishes around, because the food will be snatched away while the Mandarinfish is still deciding "should I or shouldn't I?" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nuj244 Posted July 24, 2006 Share Posted July 24, 2006 Is it safe to keep mandaring with blenny? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Limpc Posted July 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 25, 2006 I have a bi-color blenny, too. Well, they dun bother with each other. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...