Digital Cameras

andylee

Anyone can recommend a good camera, brand and model?

Budget around SGD500

At least 5mpx, not overly complicated but able to fulfil the needs for a semi-pro.

Better still if have option to have underwater accessory.

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

Define your definition 'semi-pro'...

With a budget of S$500, you have to look at those point-and-shoot cameras. I tend to prefer digital cameras from Canon. I have an Ixus 500, which I bought 2 years ago and still in tip-top condition, with no repairs needed.. :)

Forget about Sony digital cameras (pic quality isn't fantastic and cameras/accessories don't last that long). :P

canon supporter here.......

yeah, define yur semi-pro

u wan manual functions is it?

2 Feet Tank: (Decom Feb 2015)
-Lightings : Pharos LED light 90W with wireless controller
-Chiller : Arctica 1/10HP with H2Ocean Flow Pump 2000

-Wavemaker : Vortech MP10ES
-Skimmer : Bubble Magus NAC 3.5

-Return Pump : Eheim Compact 3000
-Reactor – TLF150 (Mod) with NP Biopellet
-Reactor – TLF150 with Rowaphos

yeah Canon all the way haha!

my whole system is Canon

Go for Powershot A700. Did extensive research on Digicam for my own purchase. You may want to consider the following guidelines for your decision.

1) ISO rating of at least 800

reason: this will allow you to take clear nice photos without need for flash light.

1600 is the best. So far , for the budget and compact cam, only fujifilm F10 has that feature. Fantastic night shots without flash.

2) good optical zoom. Do not be confused with digital zoom.

reason: digital zoom is usually unusable.

3) good macro zoom. A700 can manage close up of 1cm. Most cameras can only manage 5cm close up shots.

4) battery should be AA. This will be a convenient power source should you bring the camera for trips.

5) Memory card should be SD as it is cheap and very commonly used.

6) good camera stabalising mechanism

Try reading up at the this site:

Canon A700 at CNET ASIA

I decided on A700 cos it is very user friendly. It is very affordable and is probably the best packaged camera in its class. Bought at Sim Lim . Price $520 with full kit and charger. Making my decision for camera was easy. The challenge is getting reasonable service from the 'Bengs' in SimLim. Their service sucks big time.

Wah lau eh.. must so rigid until $20 also cannot stretch meh? :D Moreover he said 'around' and not 'under' $500. Don't so fast jump the gun lah. ;)

I type so much to explain my recommendation..that at least can justify the extra cost right?

In case you miss out on my post, i bought the camera at $520. Web site recommended retail price is not valid.

Thanks everyone for the suggestions :thanks:

Not saying i'm a semi-pro, but definitely would want to go further when i get the hang of photography, so might as well get one which can serve the basic needs as well as more complicated ones when the need arises.

Preference:

Image stabiliser is a must.

Wide focal length range

Wide range for lens aperture.

Wide range for shutter speed.

Manual functions for the above, as wouldn't want to keep snapping in auto mode.

Able to attach zoom lens and external flash if possible.

Would prefer Li-Ion battery as it shld be more economical in long-run.

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

Wah lau eh.. must so rigid until $20 also cannot stretch meh? :D Moreover he said 'around' and not 'under' $500. Don't so fast jump the gun lah. ;)

I type so much to explain my recommendation..that at least can justify the extra cost right?

In case you miss out on my post, i bought the camera at $520. Web site recommended retail price is not valid.

Oops my bad. Paiseh ah.

Not saying i'm a semi-pro, but definitely would want to go further when i get the hang of photography, so might as well get one which can serve the basic needs as well as more complicated ones when the need arises.

Preference:

Wide focal length range

All this for S$500/- ah.

Dunno have a not. I also

out of the camera bussiness

liao or can check for you.

Cos I use to work as sales

assistant for digital camera

shop.

Hm, image stablizers. (OIS)

Is good stuff ! Cos nowadays

I always use sports mode to

shoot. I cannot keep still leh

when taking photos. Usually

80% blur unless I use my

sports mode. :evil: (at least

still can get marksman in NS

so not too bad lah)

Preference:

Wide focal length range

wah bro u cant get all these features with only $500

maybe u try the prosumer range bah

Flying Carpet,

No sweat bro. Cheers! :lol:

Andylee,

I was also working on a budget of about $500. I went through much reading and comparison on dpreview.com and cnetasia.com before i was convinced that i would not get all the best features in one single compact camera. Every brand has its strong/unique feature. It would be very expensive to buy a 'everything best' feature packed compact camera. This, however, would be easier solved if you are purchasing a SLR and budget is stretched.

I think you can do 'side by side' product comparison on either of the websites provided.

Happy hunting. :) Hope you can read up more and share with us your research too.