ambystoma82 Posted June 5, 2006 Share Posted June 5, 2006 any advice for sps tht is easy to keep ? cus my t5 too strong liaoz.. some area cant b LPS will kanna bleach by e strong lighting... wanted to put clams.. but clams bit off angle as i wan to put it sumwhere high... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
damienkee Posted June 5, 2006 Share Posted June 5, 2006 u can try on pavona! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ambystoma82 Posted June 12, 2006 Author Share Posted June 12, 2006 any pics ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dorado Posted June 12, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 12, 2006 You can try pocillopora, digitata and birdnest or even A.nana. But the easiest is the brown SPS, no matter how it will not die. If you want some, you can come to my place......... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamomatt Posted June 12, 2006 Share Posted June 12, 2006 Hijack: When does one know if one can introduce simple SPS? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted June 12, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 12, 2006 montipora cap quite easy in my opinion recognised by its plating nature jamomatt, i think your tank must be stable and mature lor...like more than 9mths old perhaps? most important is lightings, current flow and stable water parameters...fluctuating parameters can cause rtn or stn. if u wanna try can always kapo some frags from friends like the man i am still very grateful for giving me so much support in sps Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamomatt Posted June 12, 2006 Share Posted June 12, 2006 montipora cap quite easy in my opinionrecognised by its plating nature jamomatt, i think your tank must be stable and mature lor...like more than 9mths old perhaps? most important is lightings, current flow and stable water parameters...fluctuating parameters can cause rtn or stn. if u wanna try can always kapo some frags from friends like the man i am still very grateful for giving me so much support in sps Mine into 3rd month only la I have an area under my 150W Mh abt 1 feet down for SPS in the future, must control... must not buy yet... I still got long way man... the 'brownies' are only starting to clear up in my tank Guess just 'see no touch' for now and keep to LPS for the next few months... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member barnacle Posted June 12, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 12, 2006 if u wanna try can always kapo some frags from friends like the man i am still very grateful for giving me so much support in sps so thats how u got your frag...kapo from frens... Quote My Tank Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shoelevy Posted June 13, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 13, 2006 so thats how u got your frag...kapo from frens... eh no la! i got buy also lA! 1 of which still waiting to be fragged for u leh: the green slimer! when u free abang! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ike Posted June 13, 2006 Share Posted June 13, 2006 Hi bro, I have a couple of listed IMO hardly Acro., don't know exactly the name, but it pass a few flutuation phenomenon like ORP drop, high humic acid, inadequate CA, and sudden change in Ph, Sality and so on. (This count after acclimiation ofcause Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ike Posted June 13, 2006 Share Posted June 13, 2006 This A. Milipora is also the one quite easy. And as other reefers said, it's much better to try frags from friend where they already come from established tank w/o much transport problem like the wild collected. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lyz77 Posted June 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 19, 2006 I hv a 400W MH, will it be an overkill? Will SPS especially those that is near to the surface be able to take it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
damienkee Posted June 20, 2006 Share Posted June 20, 2006 I hv a 400W MH, will it be an overkill? Will SPS especially those that is near to the surface be able to take it? depends on type! IMO Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted June 23, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2006 is a monti is slightly bleach will it be able to recover??? Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member regal angel Posted June 23, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 23, 2006 what T5 so strong? isnt 24w is all 24w, 39w is all 39w? BLUR! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ike Posted June 26, 2006 Share Posted June 26, 2006 I hv a 400W MH, will it be an overkill? Will SPS especially those that is near to the surface be able to take it? Depend on acclaimation period, I used to try to bash the speciement which stay under 150W MH for 4-5 month with 400W. Bleaching in a WEEK! not hardly recommended! Lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lyz77 Posted June 26, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 26, 2006 Depend on acclaimation period, I used to try to bash the speciement which stay under 150W MH for 4-5 month with 400W. Bleaching in a WEEK! not hardly recommended! Lol Wht's the depth of your tank and how high u place your MH able the tank? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jervismun Posted June 27, 2006 Share Posted June 27, 2006 I hv a 400W MH, will it be an overkill? Will SPS especially those that is near to the surface be able to take it? So fast planning for SPS? Quote Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lyz77 Posted June 27, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted June 27, 2006 So fast planning for SPS? Juz wanna try on one 1st before going full swing with SPS! However, I consider myself still very inexperience and hope that bro & sis fr this forum can enlightened me with their precious experience! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Reefaholic Posted July 4, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 4, 2006 Montipora is quite difficult in my view. Certainly there is 1 or 2 species that are easy which you can commonly find them in LFS like those reddish brown type or greenish plates. You can find them even in Singapore water. Tonga and fiji are best to avoid and need good water parameters, strong lighting and dependable flow. However, millipora, pocci and digitata are easier IMO. At least they would not easily RTN but sometimes they lost thier colours too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member subxero Posted July 4, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 4, 2006 Juz wanna try on one 1st before going full swing with SPS! However, I consider myself still very inexperience and hope that bro & sis fr this forum can enlightened me with their precious experience! As bro Reefaholic mentioned orange monti plate is easier to start with. If you are interested, I can frag a piece for you to try Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lyz77 Posted July 4, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 4, 2006 As bro Reefaholic mentioned orange monti plate is easier to start with. If you are interested, I can frag a piece for you to try Thks a million! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lyz77 Posted July 4, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 4, 2006 Montipora is quite difficult in my view. Certainly there is 1 or 2 species that are easy which you can commonly find them in LFS like those reddish brown type or greenish plates. You can find them even in Singapore water. Tonga and fiji are best to avoid and need good water parameters, strong lighting and dependable flow. However, millipora, pocci and digitata are easier IMO. At least they would not easily RTN but sometimes they lost thier colours too. Thks for the info! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lyz77 Posted July 4, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 4, 2006 Btw, is there any recommended webpage with pics to show the names/ type of SPS? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member subxero Posted July 4, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted July 4, 2006 Btw, is there any recommended webpage with pics to show the names/ type of SPS? I'm not good at IDing too.. don't even know what are the names of some corals in my tank. These are some of the places where I take reference from.. http://www.orafarm.com/corals.html http://www.aquacon.com/sps.html http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/categ.cfm?pcatid=597 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...