SRC Member godzillaliu88 Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 if i have a 3 ft mixed reef tank. for lighting. which will be betta? 1) 2X 70W MH 2) 1X 150w MH Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fongster Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 mixed tank ? SPS also ? tank specs ? + depth and height Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member godzillaliu88 Posted May 25, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 hmm... bare bottom. 3 x 2 x 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fongster Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 still depends on the type of corals you want to keep, if only soft than 2x70 would offer more coverage, and should be sufficient If lps then 2x70 not powerful enof to penetrate right to the bottom, 1x150 just can make it but the sides of your tank will be dark bcos 1xmh can only cover about 2ft length If sps then no need to say, at least 1x150 or 2x250 your tank is rather deep 2ft so must factor this into consideration Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member w3ish3ng Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 bro, i guess you mean 2x150watts or 1x250 watts right? Quote Member of Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fongster Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 haha thanks bro for pointing this out ok sorry ah if sps then at least 2x250 or 3x150 dun think of 1xmh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fongster Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 haha wait i kena flame by the more experienced reefers about the 3x150 mh 2x150 also can for sps, but i mean for best effect so can have this config 10000k 20000k 10000k Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Elune Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 haha wait i kena flame by the more experienced reefers about the 3x150 mh 2x150 also can for sps, but i mean for best effect so can have this config 10000k 20000k 10000k (paiseh, I'm really off-topic here) ha ha, guess the tot of kena flamed by ppl here really puts ppl off posting... everyone's so cautious abt their words. I dun care, i post anything that comes off my mind, blunt and straightforward~ thanks for sharing fongster. man~ sps tank... the electricity bills' gonna kill... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member w3ish3ng Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 well, if its not pure sps tank, i believe that 1x 250 for 3x2x2 is enough. i got a monti that is growing at 6inches above sandbed and at the edge, i am only running a M ballast lumenarc 250watts. Quote Member of Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fongster Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 (paiseh, I'm really off-topic here) ha ha, guess the tot of kena flamed by ppl here really puts ppl off posting... everyone's so cautious abt their words. I dun care, i post anything that comes off my mind, blunt and straightforward~ thanks for sharing fongster. man~ sps tank... the electricity bills' gonna kill... confirm the electricity will be a killer !! bill will be so high you would think you were paying monthly installment to PUB anyway not only the lighting wattage consumption, imagine 1xmh already like having a hair dryer blowing at your water, think of 3xmh the chiller will have to work overtime so even worse, but well no one said that marine reefing is a cheap hobby must continue to pay installment to pub Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fongster Posted May 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 25, 2006 well, if its not pure sps tank, i believe that 1x 250 for 3x2x2 is enough. i got a monti that is growing at 6inches above sandbed and at the edge, i am only running a M ballast lumenarc 250watts. haha words of wisdom !! theory cannot beat practice in a situation like this any t5 to supplement ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member w3ish3ng Posted May 26, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 26, 2006 wisdom? nah, just some noob advice. i am vege bird(菜鸟) haha. well i got 2 20k 39watts t5. the heat is really very very hot, i wonder how people survive the heat with more then 1 mh. Quote Member of Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...