Computer System

Hon

I just bought a piece of MSI 875P Neo-FIS2R (Intel 875P) mainboard with some kingston ram, I think they are DDR PC3200 ones.

I been facing problem like computer after shut down or after hang, the reboot will not kick start my monitor. I have to press on and off many times before the computer will boot normally. Any idea where gone wrong?

And if I install the dunno what "core" software, after some usage of my computer, my screen will freeze and I need to reboot thru the reset switch, but the numerous on/off pressing of the button need to be apply before computer boot again. ;)

Anyone using this board? Can teach me some fancy stuff it can do? Dun understand what DOT and PAT ...etc etc... I am losing touch with hardware satuff liao.. :huh:

Thanks

The computer seem to be running fine now, but I still dun dare to touch the casing. Becoz whenever I move or knock onto it, the problem comes back.

My hand are clumsy, so I paid $10 for them to install all the stuff into the new casing for me...kee..kee..

next time dun use the reset button, press and hold the power button for ard 3sec... ur pc will shut down... then press the power button to turn on again....

wat kinda config u hav?

wat is ur OS?

wat do u mean by 'core' software?

u may wan to get updated MSI softwares n drivers from www.msi.com.tw

thats not the case all the time actually... depends on the switch.. some switches will restart the comp immediately when depressed.. no need to let it move halfway back... i tried that with my new comp thinking it would work but it didn't :( so now everytime my comp hangs, i restart! :lol:

I think its sort of stable liao. Maybe the problem lies in the Bios setting under frequency. There are options for Slow, Fast, Turbo and Ultra Turbo. I can only set Slow and Fast, other settings will hang, maybe due to lousy PC3200 ram, should have got kingston hyperX one... ;)

So far been burning in since tue morning, rebooted many times manually but never shut down. Correct step hor ???

Now having problem with my motorola SBG1000i wireless gateway configuration :angry: The damm WEP not working. Will continue to work on it tonight...

Hey, you know something. This MSI board got disco lights spinning and flashing on the motherboard, damm funny... :lol: No wonder the sales staff ask me wanna get transparent side cover for the casing.. :sick:

wat kinda config u hav?

wat is ur OS?

wat do u mean by 'core' software?

u may wan to get updated MSI softwares n drivers from www.msi.com.tw

My config beri the messy wan. You open the casing see liao will pengz.

OS is winxp pro.

The 'core' software is that dunno what 'core centre' software provided by MSI.

All it did is hang my system, already uninstall it liao.

Yap...update all to the latest driver liao. Nowadays beri kewl hor, can even flash bios online ...

SharkBait,

Using 2 stick of 512mb....That installer guy say must put in different slot, its that correct?? I mean slot 1 and 3 and cannot slot 1 and 2 ... Really confusing, last time must all put side by side, dunno why now must leave a gap .. ;)

Hi, IMHO sometimes CPU problem is only very minor but we think its major. Repair a few of my friends' MAJOR problem, always problem like card not connected properly, cable lose, wrong jumper, old drivers, etc... (if you are very good with CPU then yours is properly not the above mention problems.) I think you should try step by step, reinstall your video card, make sure card secure then reinstall driver.(make sure old driver uninstall, can use a recommended old driver from web. New doesn't means better) XP is famous for driver incompatibilty.(included hardware and software, especially you are running a "ORIGINAL COPIED" .. i mean copy!!!)

Also can check see if anyone with same problem from harewarezone forum!!! (harness the power of the mass, like in SRC)

Installing of drivers also got a proper sequence one!! Sometimes wrong steps means cracky CPU!

Hardware conflict also happen between some cards. Especially Video card with sound, modem, lan etc just to name a few!! Plug out all other cards then try, if problem solved then install all cards back one by one!

Hope this helps!? :lol: