LION STING......

Hi, I will be rearranging my LR in my tank consists of Mantis n Lion...., cos the mantis had dug a big hole as its burrow..., I was afraid that i might get stung by the Lion.... The LFS Boss where i bought the Lion told me : AIYAH, THE STING WONT KILL LAH.. I KANNA STING MANY TIMES LIAO , ALSO NV SEE DOC... NO PROBLEM LAH... ONLY STONE FISH TAT IS DANGEROUS....., Can someone verify this statement :blink::blink:

why don't you just use a big net and transfer the fishes to a pail while you re-arrange your rock work? it will be much safer that way since you won't have to keep a look out for the fishes...

whether its deadly or not, I am sure the sting will be painful... be safe! ;)

Definitely not worth the risk ... better take the necessary precautions. Different toxins can B deadly 2 some individuals, it really depends. But who wants 2 take the risk ... of suffering, being in a coma, dying ...???

Dun get mad, heheh :lol:

Just to share some knowledge for stings from jellyfish (not lionfish)

A Remedy As Old As The Bedouin Tribes

Our bodies produce gobs of quaternary amines every day as breakdown products of protein, which are excreted in the urine. The bedouin nomads wandering in the Sahara desert are constantly burning themselves sitting around campfires. For centuries, they have been applying fresh urine to their burns for Instant Pain Relief. I can understand the mental barrier you would have to urinating on a burn, but fresh urine is sterile and loaded with pain-killing quaternary amines that also facilitate rapid wound healing. Lifeguards know that if you are stung by a jellyfish while swimming in the ocean, urine applied to the sting site will bring instant relief, again because of the quaternary amines in the urine. Quaternary amines stop pain by stabilizing the electrical charge of cellular membranes. Healthy tissues maintain an electrical balance with a positive charge outside of the cell and a net negative charge inside the cell. Any type of injury that disrupts the cellular membrane causes a breakdown of this healthy electrical balance, and may result in pain. Penetran, like many injectable medications used for pain relief, works by restoring the electrical balance in cell membranes.

Now WE know!!!!

This is the first aid for lionfish!!!

Lionfish: Can inject poison through its spines. This fish has vertical orange and white stripes. Its spines have a feathery coating. It tends to drift along the reef. If stung, possible effects are sharp burning pain, numbness, nausea, headaches. Immediately stick the affected area in the hottest bearable water and seek medical treatment.

If kanak stung, just take the slipper and slap your wound until ok. That's what my grandmother did to me when i step on a rusty nail when young. It works!

All the best. :heh:

YOU ARE DAMN LUCKY NOT TO GET TENTANUS AND LOCK JAW AS A RESULT!

and by the way, inflicting more damage by hitting doesn't help. in fact, it may worsen the thing as bloodflow to that point is increased due to the swelling. :P