4ft Tank

Hi All,

I am very new to marine tank setups.

I would like to change my fresh water setup to a marine setup.

How can I know if my tank is able to convert into a marine tank. Must I make modification to my tank?

My tank is a 4ft curve tank with 4 door cabinet. The glass is 12mm think. It is run in 2 overhead filters.

Running on a moderate budget, where and how can i start. I have also just started reading some of the sites recomended.

Thank you .

Bro the tank I guess is suitable for marine but ohf is not the way to go. Best if can put a sump below if not a cannister will do. In my own experience do a proper set up now to avoid regret's later.

Proper marine set up

1. Tank with ios to sump

2. Minimum 4xT5 HO lightings

3. Skimmer get the best that you can afford (very important)

4. Fluidised reactor

5. Good return pump 3000L/hr and above (very important)

6. wavemaker at least 2 units

You'll need more equipment when you go along

  Tanga said:
Bro the tank I guess is suitable for marine but ohf is not the way to go. Best if can put a sump below if not a cannister will do. In my own experience do a proper set up now to avoid regret's later.

Proper marine set up

1. Tank with ios to sump

2. Minimum 4xT5 HO lightings

3. Skimmer get the best that you can afford (very important)

4. Fluidised reactor

5. Good return pump 3000L/hr and above (very important)

6. wavemaker at least 2 units

You'll need more equipment when you go along

is 3000l/hr for return enough?

Yes bro you need to drill 2 hole 1" and 1/2" in your tank and make an ios to cover the 2 holes and the cabinet as well. Go read up some of the members tank thread then you'll get a better idea for your tank need.

  william said:
Hi All,

I am very new to marine tank setups.

I would like to change my fresh water setup to a marine setup.

How can I know if my tank is able to convert into a marine tank. Must I make modification to my tank?

My tank is a 4ft curve tank with 4 door cabinet. The glass is 12mm think. It is run in 2 overhead filters.

Running on a moderate budget, where and how can i start. I have also just started reading some of the sites recomended.

Thank you .

hi bro...4ft tank recommended to get a IOS done as ur filtration system....below are some equipments that are necessary to start off....

1)at least a 3ft sump tank that can be fitted into ur cabinet

2)at least a 6500l/h pump...that can be used for ur return,chiller and some other equipments

3)lyk wad bro tanga said..get the best skimmer u can afford..

4)if u wan to hav a reef tank..best to have a chiller..

5)lighting wise can use T5 HO or MH...(depending on the depth of ur tank)

with proper pipings done in ur main tank powered by a strong return pump...wave maker is unnecessary unless keeping sps IMO...the purpose of getting a strong pump is to link all equipments into one pump instead of a few pumps that will generate more heat and the elect bills will be high oso....y nt get one strong pump to do the job....scared of breakdown jus get one spare lors....

jus my opinion.. :D

hi bro...4ft tank recommended to get a IOS done as ur filtration system....below are some equipments that are necessary to start off....

1)at least a 3ft sump tank that can be fitted into ur cabinet

2)at least a 6500l/h pump...that can be used for ur return,chiller and some other equipments

3)lyk wad bro tanga said..get the best skimmer u can afford..

4)if u wan to hav a reef tank..best to have a chiller..

5)lighting wise can use T5 HO or MH...(depending on the depth of ur tank)

with proper pipings done in ur main tank powered by a strong return pump...wave maker is unnecessary unless keeping sps IMO...the purpose of getting a strong pump is to link all equipments into one pump instead of a few pumps that will generate more heat and the elect bills will be high oso....y nt get one strong pump to do the job....scared of breakdown jus get one spare lors....

jus my opinion..

That good pointers. I will also copy the idea to my next upgrade...or reno or major overhaul :peace:

  Tanga said:
Its enough to run the system but alot of reefer including me like a higher turn over rate (with my not so deep knowledge) it clean the water better.

Correct me if I'm expert pls advise :paiseh:

True.. I run a Rio 32hf for my 4x2x2. I once did some maintainence in my sump.. actually I moved my bio rings from one compartment to another. since mine are not in bags, I have to transfer by handfuls.. quite a lot. blurred out my whole tank when I realised it. ;) .. luckily it cleared up within 10mins.. I think its pretty quick.

  Alvin Tan said:

One pump for chiller and return? How? Chillers require smaller sized hose whereas return pipes are known to be 3/4 or 1".

Got pics to show how yours work?

Nevermind. Just realised you have nanos.. its easy to share your return with chiller with a small pump cos they usually use the same sized hose.

  william said:
Saw an article, http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=46755, from Jireh, where they can convert a normal tank to a marine tank.

Any comment on the system as recommended?

actually that should be almost the same theory as the i-box. It basically hangs on your tank so that water can overflow to your sump.. no need to drill holes.

no sure if anyone here uses this but there are few who use the i-box.. infact I though I saw someone selling some similar overflow box.

  arcanehacker said:

One pump for chiller and return? How? Chillers require smaller sized hose whereas return pipes are known to be 3/4 or 1".

Got pics to show how yours work?

u sure cannot share?.....4ft tank oso can share.....u dun believe come over to wakai...i let u hav a look.....if u sae tt only nanos can share....u are limited..

no offence..

  arcanehacker said:
Nevermind. Just realised you have nanos.. its easy to share your return with chiller with a small pump cos they usually use the same sized hose.

u tee of from the return.......later on use a reducer to reduce it to 13mm..lyk tis can go chiller liaoz..for the flow tink.....jus install a 13mm valve lars...

Yes I'm "limited" .. what ever that means. <_< .. I can never put myself as even good compared to all the "legends" around SRC :P .

Pics please..

IMHO why share pump if you want to have a chiller, it should bring down the heat from all the pump. Anyway if use individual pump only 1 equipment will stop the rest will still be working. If not using chiller then buy those reliable pump which release less heat.

  Tanga said:
IMHO why share pump if you want to have a chiller, it should bring down the heat from all the pump. Anyway if use individual pump only 1 equipment will stop the rest will still be working. If not using chiller then buy those reliable pump which release less heat.

sounds logical.. also pumps do not really take that much power. :rolleyes:

  Tanga said:

yes bro..i have consider tt point...but tink of it...wad happens when the return pump spoil?..all the equipments oso cannot use wad..

  arcanehacker said:
Yes I'm "limited" .. what ever that means.  <_< .. I can never put myself as even good compared to all the "legends" around SRC  :P .

Pics please..

here is the 1st pic.....return pump hailea 6550 doing both the return n the chiller..

btw..tis is a 4x2x21/2 tank

post-6-1145343521.jpg

chiller pipe....

post-6-1145343720.jpg

chiller inside the cabinet....flexible hose is fix to the 13mm pipe...n directly to the chiller...

post-6-1145343879.jpg