M&M's Tank

Altantis

It's just a filter wool right? If yes, then just treat it as a sponge lah... I think they r just overpromising with the mentioning of it being a Ammonia and Nitrate Removal Media.

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

• Replies 1.4k

den considering that they sell with the same amount of profits, if the nice packaging costs more, doesnt it mean its using less money to produce the sponge, which means...........

Hehe... don't be like that lah... but being a packaging design specialist... I must say there's some truth in ur conspiracy theory :D

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

hahaa i am a lil critical today hor... no la... cos i believe that sponges should change very few days, so i been buying quite a bit of sponges, and i found that the more nicely packed ones usually not so effective...

So bro... any improvements on the 9005? Already day 5 ;)

I appreciate DESIGN ma...Anyway, any BEST sponge since I need to stock up :)

Errrr the 9005 - should we consider day 1 as I set wrongly :evil:

Anyone can any bros help me on my Salifert test-kit?

For Nitrate - Nitrogen (NO3), do we just read of the result comparing the colour chart or there is still calculation involve... <_<

I appreciate DESIGN ma...Anyway, any BEST sponge since I need to stock up :)

Errrr the 9005 - should we consider day 1 as I set wrongly :evil:

Anyone can any bros help me on my Salifert test-kit?

For Nitrate - Nitrogen (NO3), do we just read of the result comparing the colour chart or there is still calculation involve... <_<

I'm using Salifert NO3 also... just read colour from the top of the cup (not from the side). No calculations involved.

Actually I talking about another Test-Kit. Must be Dreaming Already :snore::lol::lol::lol:

But the Salifert No3 instruction (Nitrate Profi-Test) indicated that is the medium range reading (from top is <10mg/l); then we can us the low range procedure to increase accuracy (which is reading from the side).

Then the reading from the side need to amplified by approximate 10 fold.

E.g My readings today from top is <5mg/l, thus I read from side is 2.

So it mean that the more accurate reading is 0.2mg/l

:eyeblur: Blur Blur already.

The most blur one is my Tropic Marin NH3/NH4 Testkit.

Anyone using? Result straight from colour chart or to refer to the chart to get the reading on the total Ammonia concentration (NH3) :eyeblur::eyeblur::eyeblur:

A bit concern on my KH thus did a full water parameter test :pinch:

**Short-Hand Legend**:

1. RS - Red Sea Mini-Lab Test Kits

2. TM - Tropic Marin

3. SAL – Salifert

CURRENT Water Parameters on 27Apr06 from 9.30-11pm

(using different brand of Test Kits) :

Temperate : <27.7 (using battery opt. meter)

SG : 1.025 (Refractometer)

PH : 8.2 (RS)

Alk(KH) : 5 dkh ( TM)

NH3/NH4 : <0.009 (TM - Result of TM colour chart is 0.1mg/l, then compare the total Ammonia concentration (NH3) from web)

NO2 : Undetectable (SAL)

NO3 : 0.25 (SAL) :eyebrow: drop from 1

P04 : < 0.25

Calcium : 630? ( TM – Using standard resolution method cannot get result. Result using low resolution) :(:erm::eyeblur::eyeblur::eyeblur:

Oh dear... u are in a very dangerous level... something like what I experienced a week ago but urs more severe.

Firstly, the Calcium is way too high! Mine >500 (due to overdosing of Calcium Hydroxide) and already affecting my KH like crazy. At one point, my KH was at a worrying state of 7.5! So if your's is at 5... then something drastic must be done to rectify the problem.

Are you dosing calcium?

Oh dear... u are in a very dangerous level... something like what I experienced a week ago but urs more severe.

Firstly, the Calcium is way too high! Mine >500 (due to overdosing of Calcium Hydroxide) and already affecting my KH like crazy. At one point, my KH was at a worrying state of 7.5! So if your's is at 5... then something drastic must be done to rectify the problem.

Are you dosing calcium?

:erm: I dose some... but that my Once Weekly Standard AquaPharm Pro Series Additives Package (start only 2 week).

The package includes Calcium :cry: (2.5 cupful cos the bottle indicate "To mantain proper level: Add 1 cupful (6ml) per 25 gals (95 L) twice a week)...

It said that each cupful will onlt add 3ppm of calcium to 25 gals (95 L) of water???

Basiclly I dose these few additives (AquaPharm Pro Series):

1. Calcium

2. Strontium

3. Iodide

4. Magbesium

5. Appetite Stimulant

6. Reef System Formula A (All-in-One)

Em... if ur calcium already so high, stop dosing. Maintain calcium at 400 will do coz u not started stocking corals yet. If ur calcium high for a period of time, ur sand bed will hardens (calcify)... ur clams will get trapped down there (haha a bit drama lah)

Regarding the rest... I am dosing Kent Marine series actually. Still trying to look for a better product range as these are essentials and very hard to test/measure. So even now, I just dose blindly (things like Iodine, Strontium, etc.). And be careful of those Formula... if overlap then it will either cause algae bloom (over nutrient) and/or waste of money.

Ok, think either I MUST stock up coral :eyebrow: or not need to dose for 1 month :P

Ok, here the long waited 9005 result:

1. Picture taken on 25 Apr - Blue Screw Tighten too tight

post-34-1146153358.jpg

Wah can see the black black thing "kena" suck up already!!! Well done... the 9005 will take another 2 to 3 days before it settles down... so meanwhile, you may find ur skimmate a bit wet... that's normal at this running-in phase.

Bro, So I will remain the same amount of air intake or adjust lower...

I also took picture of right chamber top view, FR within chamber. Flow T-off from main flow to tank pump by SICCE Extr.

post-34-1146157442.jpg

:erm: I dose some... but that my Once Weekly Standard AquaPharm Pro Series Additives Package (start only 2 week).

The package includes Calcium :cry: (2.5 cupful cos the bottle indicate "To mantain proper level: Add 1 cupful (6ml) per 25 gals (95 L) twice a week)...

It said that each cupful will onlt add 3ppm of calcium to 25 gals (95 L) of water???

Erm, you really dose 1 cupful? Erm, better be sure whether the instructions says cupful or capful. Makes a big difference!~ Anyway, just for safety, for any new additives, you might just want to dose abit under the recommanded dosage, maybe 1/2 as a start, measure you parameters and slowly increase to the recommanded dosage. :)

My Newbie Tank Thread

My Blog

All pics taken with CanoN!~