Jzt did a water para ck:

SG:1022

temp:29.5

Redsea test kit

ph:8.2

nh4:0

no2:0

NO3:50ppm

I nvr add any mkt prawn to kick start my ann cycle...But think those 30kg of mature LR tat r being soak in fresh water for 1hr b4 putting into e tank created alot of die off tat helps me kick start e ann cycle..

Is my reasoning correct????

Pls advise???

Does it mean my cycling complete liao????(But still i will cycle for another 2wks more lah to b kaisu keke

It is best to cycle longer for the bacteria to colonise the LR and increase the population...

i oso tink so..gog to let e tank b empty for another 2wks....

jzt wondering e 50ppm no3 is cos by e die off fm e LR rite???Or else how to explain e 0 in nh4 n no2 but high no3 of 50ppm???

Ammonia breaks down into nitrite. Nitrite is then broken down into nitrate. You might want to consider doing water changes to bring nitrate levels down before stocking up.

Will b doin tat..

jzt wondering y nh4 r being break dw so fast since its jzt cycling stages onli...cant b e mature LR as they r being soak in freshwater for 1hr plus n all gd bat shld have die off by than...hmmmmmmmmmm..............

So do u think e ann cycle has been completed???

hmmmmmmmm............. <_<

Don't worry bro... I think your A N is over. Now focus on how to bring down the Nitrates. 50ppm is considered pretty high... and it's a sign that your Nitrifying Bacterias have not colonize the LR and filter media fully. In a healthy setup, the N.Bact should be able to break down the Nitrates... so eventually you will reach zero.

Some rely on external Denitrator (aka Nitratreductor) to allow more N.Bact growth. Adding N.Bact into the tank regularly is a good practice too... they come in tablet and liquid forms.

Water changes help too, but right now... just let your tank cycle for a bit longer before stocking. My new tank NO3 is around 15ppm and I am already panicking right now. I might get a Nitrareductor to help the situation.

There's another product called AZno3 that claims to eliminate NO3. Have not use it myself.

Hope this helps :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Don't worry bro... I think your A N is over. Now focus on how to bring down the Nitrates. 50ppm is considered pretty high... and it's a sign that your Nitrifying Bacterias have not colonize the LR and filter media fully. In a healthy setup, the N.Bact should be able to break down the Nitrates... so eventually you will reach zero.

Some rely on external Denitrator (aka Nitratreductor) to allow more N.Bact growth. Adding N.Bact into the tank regularly is a good practice too... they come in tablet and liquid forms.

Water changes help too, but right now... just let your tank cycle for a bit longer before stocking. My new tank NO3 is around 15ppm and I am already panicking right now. I might get a Nitrareductor to help the situation.

There's another product called AZno3 that claims to eliminate NO3. Have not use it myself.

Hope this helps :)

Hi bro... :D

tks for e advise..view ur tank thread b4..beri e dammn soild man...ALot of $$$$ burn too keke.....

Actually im not worrying abt no3......

im jzt worrying tat e tank havnt been cycle n there is not enough gd bat to break dw e nh4 n no2(tis 2 r more harmful to e LS then no3).... :D

My present 3 ft tank frankly speaking no3 shld b ard 100ppm i think(unless my test kit shown false result)No matter how i change half tank of water ,add sugar etc type of method to bring it dw,no3 will jzt shoot up aft awhile as i got 4 greedy tangs inside so poo poo n feeding is quite heavy....(Im using a 2ft beck.skimmer)...Aft awhile i give up n nvr ck e no3 anymore...jzt make sure do water change at least every 2wks(if free then once every wk of abt 10%)will do n all my LS n corals r happy...

I noe got reefer manage to keep no3 beri beri e low...but usually tat req alot of $$$$ spend on dammn gd equipmt i think...N it oso dun garantee results immed..got to wait for e stuff inside e equipmt to mature 1st oso....

No choice,i n my wife is a tang lover so beri hard to maintain no3 low as feding is quite heavy..... :lol:

bro,

save your money. No need to buy bacteria etc ......... or other expensive

equipment.

Just buy a big piece of those algae rocks .. eg red bamboo algae on a live rock

which contains lots of worms, bacteria, brittle star plus critters like pods

and place into your tank.

You should let the tank cycle (ie leave it alone without additional live stock)

for around 3 weeks. Or you can buy a single damsel fish or a clown fish and let it cycle the tank.

PLus you should run your skimmer and some lighting thru out the whole time.

In my 2 years of reefing, I have rescape my tank 5 major times or tramsfer tanks.

Tank crashing has never occurred.

In fact now that I have add in lots of red bamboo algae in my main tank, I have very little diatom growing plus the water is exceptional clear ...

YOu can see how it look like in my tank thread : all natural using refugium and lots of algae without expensIve equipment (except of a good skimmer, H&S)

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...ic=16812&st=195

My water quality is getting better and better .....