Fish from local waters

jacobus

i go net casting every once in a while ... usually... the fish is given to my GF's uncle who apparently is very "garang" ... has a certain amount of knowledge in keeping SW .. he has a 3ft deep tank... i told him the dangers of adding fish from the sea directly .. but he isnt daunted ... this time im going .. i have a little inclination to put anything interesting i get into my tank .. other than quarantining ... what else should i take note of ? i usaully acclimate my fish from the lfs by putting the bag into the water ... after a while .. den put in a betta box .. then put in ... can i do that with fish from our waters ? of must i quarantine and medicate?

Qxnviolet.... Thanks for the intro ah. :D

jacobus,

Hi. B4 U gonna put anything into your tank, i suggest

the following:

1) Read/ check what it is. U dun need a fish

eating fish in your tank do U !? I kana b4 liao....

2) Are U sure U want it in your tank !? U will have

prob taking it out later. Cause most of the stuff I

caught are brown, silver or near black. The only

colour was a blue hermit & a small green puffer.

I usually drip aclimatise my fish from LFS but for those from sea....

I just dump them in lah. They will be the last to die cuz all are

commandos. Look at the state of our water can tell lah hoh.

But.... just in case or if U are very loving to nature....

Do the normal routine as U would do for fish from LFS loh.

All the best & give me a black cap if U manage to net 1. :lol:

Check out page 1 & 2 of my main tank for more beach stuff.

ah ... den no need to be afraid of the fish introducing parasites and other stuff into the tank ? i dunno leh ... i once caught this brown mottled colour fish that looked like a scooter blenny ... resembled a little ... will quarantine first and post pics before i put in .. thats if my trip is sucessful la ... haha]