Upgrading 4ft tank journey....

marble

It's good to see another big tank in the making... and you are very lucky ur wife shares the passion with you :)

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

• Replies 130

It's good to see another big tank in the making... and you are very lucky ur wife shares the passion with you :)

actually its her who wanted a marine tank in e 1st place so i setup lor....

in e end i suffer n she enj lor..... :D

another 2 worm came crawling out of e LR half way n i pull it out..

They reali cant tahan freshwater dip as it is alrdy dead when i pull them out...

Dun noe how many survive e 1hr freshwater dip??hope tat no one survive...

Wonder how big n long can tis guys grow???damn scary man... :sick: no wonder my cleaner fish keep on MIA n gana bitten when sleepin in e holes of e LR..... :(

post-34-1144742223.jpg

done...

N tis cost $150?????? :whistle

hmmmm......................... <_<

Hi Marble,

Sorri to bother you again... Where did you get all your pipings and couplings from? BTW how is the Ehiem 1262 doing? Is it powerful enough for your tank?

Thanks.

Hi Marble,

Sorri to bother you again... Where did you get all your pipings and couplings from? BTW how is the Ehiem 1262 doing? Is it powerful enough for your tank?

Thanks.

pm u e add liao...

one ehiem 1262 cfm not enough power...got to add one more or put in afew seio 820 or 1100 to create more current lor...

My plan is either to run a rio32hf pump tot my resun chiller as another ret + 1 seio 820 in e middle of e tank.

OR

jzt get 2* seio 820 to create more flow in e tank.....

Still thinking as got another 3wks more b4 e real fun n hard work will start again....keke :D

bro.. i soak for 1 hr plus? still not alot? haha.. like too much leh.

im not kidding lor... ;)

this 2nd bath of LR is fm my main tank...Former owner have it for 1yr liao n its with me for another 1.5yr....

I nvr do any freshwater dip when i bought it hm 1.5yrs ago as dun noe got tis type of worm..tat time still green bird...keke :D

Got saw some of them come out of e rocks b4 to feed on left over food or dead fishes..but nvr reali care abt it..tis time since start another new tank so was thinking dun wait liao must KILL them....

My 3ft tank now left with another abt 10kg of LR.Suspect one of e big LR oso got big fat worms..will surely soak them in freshwater oso b4 putting them into my new tank.... ;)

hey...

can't wait to see how it ges man!!! looking good....

nx time i'll try to do piping myself too... haha... thou mine a small tank la... haha

Its beri easy..jzt get a japan glue for e piping n oso a pvc pipe cutter think cost around $12(or else u got to saw like siao lor...) :lol:

pm u e add liao...

one ehiem 1262 cfm not enough power...got to add one more or put in afew seio 820 or 1100 to create more current lor...

My plan is either to run a rio32hf pump tot my resun chiller as another ret + 1 seio 820 in e middle of e tank.

OR

jzt get 2* seio 820 to create more flow in e tank.....

Still thinking as got another 3wks more b4 e real fun n hard work will start again....keke :D

Thanks bro for your pm and info. Great help!

Can I check is your tank drilled with bottom overflow hole or you diy your overflow pipes (coz can't see clearly in the photo)?

Thanks once again.

Can I check is your tank drilled with bottom overflow hole or you diy your overflow pipes (coz can't see clearly in the photo)?

Thanks once again.

my overflow is 0.5ft by e side of e tank so tat i can have e full 4ft space :D

post-34-1144909023.jpg

Thanks once again.

A close up of my overflow...there is 2 holes on e overflow box.I chose to use both as a dwflow to e sump.

My upflow pip is by e side.

I have a hood n wooden cover for e overflow oso.As still cycling n test n trial on equip n piping so havnt put them up yet or else got to remove n put bk again very troublesome.. :D

post-34-1144909307.jpg

very nice tank u have there....costed a bomb i guess.......

Henry Tan

Sembawang

3x1.5x1.5 2.5x1x1.5

LS

1xfire clown/ 1xyellow boxer

1xpercular/ 1xcoral beauty

1xboxer/ 2xfire shrimps

1xcoral beauty/ 2xfalse clowns

2xhawk fish/ 1xane crab

1xyellow tail damsel/ 2xcleaners

3xturbo snails

2xhermits

1xtomato clown

Set up.....

Sump - Done

DIY Cabinet - Done

DIY Overflow Pipe - Done

very nice tank u have there....costed a bomb i guess.......

tks..

its a 2nd hand 1 but still beri new as e seller have it for abt 3mths onli cos he might b leaving for spore for oversea training so no time for tis hobby anymore... :D

so its not tat xxxxxx lah..... :lol:

Like your overflow box design! Not 1 but 2!!! lol

Tank 60x40x40 Optiwhite Glass Tank Sump Elos 500 w/ Tunze Overflow Protein Skimmer Skimz Kone SK1 Return Pump Hydor Seltz L30 Wavemaker Hydor K1 Illumination 150W + 2 T5 Chiller Arctica 1/5hp w/ Aquabee 1000 Water Top-up Tunze Osmolator Dosing Pumps Grotech 3-Channels Calcium Reactor Deltec PF 501 Computer Aquatronica

Jzt did a water para ck:

SG:1022

temp:29.5

Redsea test kit

ph:8.2

nh4:0

no2:0

NO3:50ppm

I nvr add any mkt prawn to kick start my ann cycle...But think those mature LR tat r being soak in fresh water for 1hr created alot of die off tat helps me kick start e ann cycle..

Is my reasoning correct????

Pls advise???

Does it mean my cycling complete liao????(But still i will cycle for another 2wks more lah to b kaisu keke :D

salifert test kit

po:0.75(damn high as think bec i mix own salt water fm tap)

KH:9dkh

ALK:3.2meq/l

Surpise to c my kh n alk drop so much fm 5days ago

Results 5days ago

Sg:1.021

KH:12.2

ALk:4.34

Do LR consume KH n ALK oso???hmm????Will bing my kh n alk up again...

as expected po4 too high liao n jzt nice saw a lobang at sgreef so buy one 2ndhand resun 1000 with a small ehiem pump n some rowa left to run lor...hope it will help bring dw e po4..

HOw long can a rowa last??Former owner use it for 3mths liao..say still can tahan abt 2mths???Isit so???

e pump dun ned so powerful one rite???slow flow will do liao hor????

nvr use FR b4 pls advise :D

post-34-1145001624.jpg

As of yest,my water spec r:

PH:8.2

NH4:0

NO2:0

No3:2.5

KH:10.8

ALK:3.88

Cal:560(quite high but let e corals do e job of consuming it lah...)

Will post pic e my LS later...

Anyway some of my tangs r fighting with ich now....mayb too stress liao as i keep on distrubing them for e past few days(they were in my old 3ft tank then n everyday i remove LR here n there fm e 3ft......)