Upgrading 4ft tank journey....

marble

Aft abt 1.5yrs of 3ft tank...

ME n my wife feel tat enough is enough liao..She find tat its too small to huse more fishes n i find tat its too small to get more corals...

So we agree to upgrade to a 4by2by2.5ft tall tank...kekeke :D

Best thing is tat she agree to share some of e costs too....kekeke :yeah:

Again like last time,70% of my things r 2nd hand fm sg reef....

Below is e old thread for my 3by1.5by2ft progress...

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=41343

Using tis tank as a divider bet my din area n walk ways in my living rm..In all got 3 views...

Tank n equip spec:

4(L)by2(W)by2.5(H)ft with an attach 0.5ft side overflow with 2 holes drill for 2* durso pipe.

Cabinet is 4.5ft(w) n ht is 3.5ft tall so as to b able to huse tall equipmt inside.

sump tank is 32inc(L) by 1.5ft(W) by 16inc(ht)with 3 compartment

60kg of grade1 sand to create a 3inc sand bed

LR ard 60kg of cure LR.Abt 40kg is fm my main tank.

Ehiem 1262 fm sump to tank.

Atman 2*150w with 4*24w pl with individual timer

Chiller resun CL650 with rio32hf as pump (reuse fm 3ft tank)Plan is to make it as another outflow to e main tank direct.

RM 2ft tall beck.skimmer with ehiem1260 as pump (reuse fm 3ft tank)

1*Seio m820

Started e set on 8th april 2006 :rolleyes:

• Replies 130

Added in water,60kg of sand n 3 n a half pack of coral life salt to get a sg of 1.020...

n aft water clears,throw in 20kg of LR to cycle...another 40kg still in my main tank,will do it pharse by pharse as my main tank still got my LS in it....

intend to cycle for 3wks to 1mth

post-34-1144639590.jpg

another view fm dinning area :lol:

nvr do any rock scape as still got 40kg of LR fm main tank havnt transfer in....

its another backbreaking time liao...tis time even worse as e cabinet is 3.5ft tank n e tank is 2.5ft tall...got to use a ladder n bend all e way dw to reach e bottom of e tank....sigh.... :(

now using a pl lgt onli as dun wan to waste bills on my mh lgt for nothing...keke

post-34-1144639801.jpg

For cycle n cultivate of bat,im using 1kg of red biohmme.

Will be transfering another 1kg of grey biohmme over fm my 3ft tank aft all LS is tranfer over...

using CYCLE lotion fm nutrafin to help in e cycle progress...

nvr add in any mkt prawn to speed up e cycle progress...

my last 3ft setup oso nvr add in mkt prawn to cycle tank......

post-34-1144640457.jpg

Aft abt 1.5yrs of 3ft tank...

ME n my wife feel tat enough is enough liao..She find tat its too small to huse more fishes n i find tat its too small to get more corals...

So we agree to upgrade to a 4by2by2.5ft tall tank...kekeke :D

Best thing is tat she agree to share some of e costs too....kekeke :yeah:

Again like last time,70% of my things r 2nd hand fm sg reef....

Below is e old thread for my 3by1.5by2ft progress...

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=41343

Using tis tank as a divider bet my din area n walk ways in my living rm..In all got 3 views...

Tank n equip spec:

4(L)by2(W)by2.5(H)ft with an attach 0.5ft side overflow with 2 holes drill for 2* durso pipe.

Cabinet is 4.5ft(w) n ht is 3.5ft tall so as to b able to huse tall equipmt inside.

sump tank is 32inc(L) by 1.5ft(W) by 16inc(ht)with 3 compartment

60kg of grade1 sand to create a 3inc sand bed

LR ard 60kg of cure LR.Abt 40kg is fm my main tank.

Ehiem 1262 fm sump to tank.

Atman 2*150w with 4*24w pl with individual timer

Chiller resun CL650 with rio32hf as pump (reuse fm 3ft tank)Plan is to make it as another outflow to e main tank direct.

RM 2ft tall beck.skimmer with ehiem1260 as pump (reuse fm 3ft tank)

1*Seio m820

Started e set on 8th april 2006 :rolleyes:

Hi Marble,

Can PM me how much is the tank+sump+cabinet ? and who is the maker?

Thanks !!

Anyone can advise me wat to shift over 1st??

Fishes or corals???Or all tog???

Current LS in my 3ft tank:

Fishes

2*true percula

2*purple fire fish

4*tangs

1*benny

4*prawns

Corals

4* bubbles

4*cyna

2*prata

1* frogspawn

1*leather

2 rocks of yuma

2* ric

6 small rocks of blasto

1*plate

2*brians

Thinking of shifting corals 1st follow by fishes.....

wat do u guys think???

anyone got tis experence b4 n can advise??tks :thanks:

Diy my own piping as shops askin for $150.....

own diy n getting excess pipin cost onli abt $18 max... :D

blah.. $150!!.. do own piping so cheap.. I even think the process is fun and self-satisfying when everything works and doesn't leak.. :P

yah man.....

got a sense of acheivemt..Most impt is u noe wat u wan n where to find all e parts...once u got all parts n equipmt,eveyting will b easy....

Think move ur existing LR and corals 1st. I always move corals then fishes when rescaping. Difficult to catch fishes with the corals still inside.

u got a pt too.... :D

will take note of all tis n consider 3wks later..... <_<