Mini Ocean World

little bull

• Replies 836

<_< Hm.. Can the leopard wrase do the job? Six line... body purple with green lining and green tail one huh???

Btw, got bad experience with FWD, I dip the zoa into DI, then next day mealted away :cry::cry: Maybe my way of doing t is wrong. Care to shre your method here?

Hi sis, how long u did the FWD? What I did was 5 mins. Maybe u can also add a few drops of iodine.

Yup, that's how the six line wrasse looks like. For leopard wrasse, never heard of it doing anything to the damn nudis :angry: All the best for u busting the nudis ;)

ALARM!! ALARM!!!

Suspect nudi attached my zoa.  :( The yellow zoa from Iwarna damn jia lat, a layer of mushy mushy things on top of the colony, dun noe got to throw away or not. Already brush away and put under medium wave, to be observed few more days, if thing get worst, will throw away the whole colony.

My small colony eagle eye oso close for a week lio...  :cry:  :cry:

Anyone got the same experience?

Hi Little Bull, shine a small torchlight at the zoas after the light is off, lets say after 2 hours or so. The nudis will start their feasting on the zoas when the lights are off :( When spotted the nudis, take out the effected zoas to do fresh water dip for abt 2-3 mins. Thereafter, u might wanna rinse the whole rock under running water :pinch: If all the zoas are placed side by side one another, I would recommend that u do fresh water dip for the colonies. :ph34r: After dip, some colonies might take longer period to open up, partially due to stress too :) Hope this little info helps to save ur zoas. I'm a zoa lover too :peace:

And yes, its a frustrating job to do but to save the zoas, no choice. I did this way too anyway

can try dip and shake, but not too hard, be careful of shaking out those polyps not attached to rocks yet.

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

little bull your tank looks really impressive and i'd never imagine stocking up so much in that little space, but i must say your tank rocks!

hey any tips on how to stack the rocks up high? I'm starting up my tank pretty soon.

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

sorry, pressed the wrong key :P ...this is result from lack of quality sleeping time :P:P

0100 hrs- get a bowl of FW, get the hammer and a skrew driver

0110 hrs- get the eagle eye colony out (abt 100 polyps)

0115 hrs- start fragging so to separate those not infected one.

0125 hrs- re-locate those healthy frags back to tank (more than 5 frags..hahahaha)

0135 hrs- Hm.... dip the remaining into the FW :fear::fear::fear:

... ... ... ... . . . . . . ...... .... .... ..... .... ... .. ... .... .... ...... .... ... ... .... .........

0138 hrs- Okie, three mins gone... put back into the tank. Hope they are fine.

0230 hrs- ZZZzzzzzzzzzzz

Will get home after 8pm. Update you all the result again lar.. still stuck at HTA:peace:

P/s: Take how long for those FWD zoa to open up again huh> :sick:

Boy that was really effort put in in the wheel hours to do the FWD. And even proper diary of the events....LOL :P

From experience, some zoas in a few hours, some a day later, while some takes a few days :rolleyes: Jus have patience na give the fellows some time to recover from the stress and tremour that they have went thru B) Pics of the updates :bow:

Some take weeks to recover.

I have one got affected.

Do a FWD for 10 minute and shake clockwise and anti clockwise and up and down.

After that put back to main tank.

Took about 1 month then open up

So have patience

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Hey...

Thats sounds bad....

Nudis takes after the zoos color it feeds on. Easier to spot them when all polyps are closed.

If the yellow zoos fungus problem worsen...dun hesitate to slice off the whole affected portion....the healthy polyps will propogate to cover the botak area... :peace::idea:

0115 hrs- start fragging so to separate those not infected one.

0125 hrs- re-locate those healthy frags back to tank (more than 5 frags..hahahaha)

0135 hrs- Hm.... dip the remaining into the FW :fear::fear::fear:

... ... ... ... . . . . . . ...... .... .... ..... .... ... .. ... .... .... ...... .... ... ... .... .........

0138 hrs- Okie, three mins gone... put back into the tank. Hope they are fine.

0230 hrs- ZZZzzzzzzzzzzz

i will dip the whole colony rather than frag and put those opening 1s back... coz there might be eggs on those so called healthy 1s... ;)

one more thing to note. I found out that besides dipping in F.W and shaking and running them under tap waer, I also shines a white LED light at the zoas when I soak it in the water. With the white LED light, u will be surprised to see clearly where the nudis are hiding. :evil: Even all the vigorous shake and dip and shake :cry: Take a tweezer and clip the nudis out. U might try using light to help locate nudis better B)

And fret not. The zoas will open again... give it some time :rolleyes:

Hey...

Thats sounds bad....

Nudis takes after the zoos color it feeds on. Easier to spot them when all polyps are closed.

If the yellow zoos fungus problem worsen...dun hesitate to slice off the whole affected portion....the healthy polyps will propogate to cover the botak area... :peace::idea:

I throw away the colony yesterday. Couldn't make it, the whole frag turn into brown colour. :cry:

i will dip the whole colony rather than frag and put those opening 1s back... coz there might be eggs on those so called healthy 1s... ;)

In fact, I can not confirm izzit the nudi or other factor yet. So, wanna to reduce the risk of loosing the whole colony. Thus, Fragging is another option. :rolleyes:

I cannot find any nudi till today ler after used light, used FW,... Next, will adjust the wave direction to give more flow for it.

one more thing to note. I found out that besides dipping in F.W and shaking and running them under tap waer, I also shines a white LED light at the zoas when I soak it in the water. With the white LED light, u will be surprised to see clearly where the nudis are hiding. :evil: Even all the vigorous shake and dip and shake :cry: Take a tweezer and clip the nudis out. U might try using light to help locate nudis better B)

You huh, important info come so late :eyeblur::eyeblur: It i too late now to flash the torch light / LED light as I want to freeze all the movement for all zoas at this moment. Crisis situation, Alert! Alert! :evil::evil::evil::evil:

Something new.

New time must try

Regards

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

hey how do you stack your rocks up so nicely and stably ah? its like a wall rising from the bottom to the top, no slope or anything. very nice!

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

You huh, important info come so late :eyeblur::eyeblur: It i too late now to flash the torch light / LED light as I want to freeze all the movement for all zoas at this moment. Crisis situation, Alert! Alert! :evil::evil::evil::evil:

:paiseh::cry: paiseh.... jus did not occur to my mind as i only thought of using FWD. But i still do my normal night rounds with my white LED light. Once spotted nudis, will apprehend them and none will be spared or be allowed to escape :fear::P

hi Fishtalk,

I found a clip on LED by Energizer from DIY shop, quite cool ;) Are we using the same model?

Nope, I got mine from $2 shop :P Anyway, so long its a LED white light should do the job. Remember when u dip the zoa in the water, shine ur white light at the colony. U'll be surprise to see those nudis :shock: