Feeding Blue Tang

Hrmz, some reefers caution against feeding their LS non marine food such as market vegetables. No idea what it would do to the tang in the long run but if its just a supplement to their normal food source, personally i don't see any harm in doing it. I supplement my tangs' diet with red bamboo algae..... :)

My Newbie Tank Thread

My Blog

All pics taken with CanoN!~

Alternatively can try nori or the dried seaweed from the supermarket (w/o the additive types of course)...

By the way Ang Mo eat curry like Indian everyday can cause stomache ache leh...sooner or later will have problems hehehehe

Feeding ur blue tang with plant-type based foods (seaweeds / formula 2) or bamboo ... is heard to reduce its agression.

the general rule is to make sure that ur blue tang (as well as all ur fishes) eat a variety of food. dun just feed them brine shrimp, get them mysis (well, its a little too big for ur little tang now rite?), seaweeds, bamboos, cyclopeeze. make sure they have a wide range of diet.

:lol: i read somewhere that market lettuce can be used to feed tangs. Boil some water in a pot, after boiling, turn off the heat, throw a few leaves in to the hot water and soak for 2-3 minutes (purpose is to soften NOT boil the leaves). then cool and then put into tank for feeding.

Should be fine. Supplement with other foods as well. :lol:

Hi bro,

Thanks for all the advise. Since now my nano are almost well stocked now, my forcus now is make sure stock are well taken care. Will change different type of food and supplement for the fishes. Getting mysis, abit of lettuce or spinach for my blue tang and see how it goes, may get seaweed later too.

Market vegetables tend to have insecticides unless you planted them yourself. Thats why they are not recommended. Marine pallets and flakes are nutritious but some newly add fishes might not consume. Try not to prevent left over food since they are so nutritious IMO.

try ocean nutrition seaweed. my angel and tang love it

i seconded that.

also, lettuce is a affordable alternative. Just wash clean clean, then dip boiling water.... (just the bro mentioned above), then feed. if u afraid got insecticide traces, then buy the more expensive one from an hydro-cultured veggie farm lor (or organic veggies). then again,veggies that can make their way into singapore usually safe enuf lah~ just wash them will do.

dancing_girl2.gifSpirit.gif

hard to get this baby to eat. Got it on Sat. I started feeding it on Monday with brimp shrimp, it manage to eat, but not that much. Last night, started to feed again with brimp shrimp, this time, it never eat. I got some lettuce, put it in hot water to soften it, put it in.. but wasn't attracted to the lettuce at all.

He look kind of restless, not too active, wondering what wrong with it.. Anybody can advise ?

its stress. U need to give it lotsa places to hide. BTs love to hide when shy. It will only come out to eat when no ones' watching. Try dimming the lights and watching from a distance of at least 2- 3 metres.

Btw, whenever I have LS not feeding, Cyclopeeze NEVER FAILS me.

dancing_girl2.gifSpirit.gif

Stress, that what i thought of. ... no doubt is a nano cube, it would have no problem hiding.. together with my dottyback and algae blenny, and i don't see these fishes as a treat to the BT as all... :blink:

don't really know what the cause... maybe sometimes i hope can talk to them clearly what they want .. hahahha :yeah:

don't think any aggressiveness btw the dottyback and the BT, at least i don't see the police catch thief situation. My BT just stay near to the top directly with my digi- thermometer.... don't know why.....

guess.. if the situation goes on, is not going to last long for my BT, unless .....something good happen. :(

• 3 months later...

I've had my blue tang for about 2-3 months, and it's about 2 inches long. It's now fat, and still very shy. likes to sleep horizontally inside a dead clam! all I see at night is a yellow tail sticking out of the clam that's stuck on the rock! Eats well. Eats frozen brine/mysis shrimp, frozen worms, brine shrimp flakes, sea veggies, vegetarian pellets, and the red bamboo. Different food on different days. The red bamboo's important because my blue, yellow (2 weeks in my tank), and powder blue tangs all nibble on the red bamboo throughout the day. I've tried blanched vegetables, but they didn't take to it. Be careful of the type of seawood that you feed, I tried it with some Japanese vegetable that I couldn't read the packaging, crashed the tank and killed all my fishes except for 1 maroon clown (my 1st marine fish that's still alive since late 2005). The red bamboo's sold by the rock, and each clump about $4-5. What I like is that it won't rot or go bad in your tank.