SRC Member vidul Posted March 13, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted March 13, 2006 Hi all, I plan to keep a tang only tank with achilles and powder blue being the 2 main occupants. Need to know if a UV is an absolute must for those ???does it really help?? Thks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jem Posted March 14, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted March 14, 2006 hello UV does help a little by reducing parasites which would attack the fishes if stress.. its not an absolute must, but it does help to care for the fish a way or another Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
monster Posted May 11, 2006 Share Posted May 11, 2006 it helps. for me at least. I turn it on 24hrs. Less Algae and fish seems to enjoy my tank better. Try it. Please buy the highest possible u can afford. It will never go wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted May 11, 2006 Share Posted May 11, 2006 Hmm juz a pt to ponder.. if u on 24/7 and yr water is sooo clean, when u off it for 1 or 2 days, lets sae, bulb spolit.. can the fish tahan the slightly contaminated water? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Qxnviolet Posted May 11, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 11, 2006 Hrmz, thats a good point, like humans who have never been exposed to the harse enviroments....they'll be the first to perish if they were ever exposed. But i guess the time needed to change a bulb wouldn't do much harm. Come to think of it, maybe i should get a UV too. Quote My Newbie Tank Thread My Blog All pics taken with CanoN!~ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted May 12, 2006 Share Posted May 12, 2006 Hmm im kinda scared to on my UV 24/7... tat factor to ponder keeps "ling ling long long" in my little head.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Qxnviolet Posted May 12, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 12, 2006 Hrmz, why sacred? Any issues about the UV lamp raising your water temperature? Thats about the only thing im worried about. Quote My Newbie Tank Thread My Blog All pics taken with CanoN!~ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted May 12, 2006 Share Posted May 12, 2006 Hmm not sure leh.. i dun think so since i normally turn it on like max 7hrs a day Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
janazr Posted May 13, 2006 Share Posted May 13, 2006 It helps to control algae in my tank. My 9W UV runs it for 24hrs continuosly and fishes enjoys the environment with it. Since I used it, no disease encounter so far. Try it Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted May 14, 2006 Share Posted May 14, 2006 Haha thx for the advise bro, for the time being im only running it 7hrs a day Dun wanna have tooo clean environment for them!! Haha muz train them to be commandos! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rainbowdarter Posted May 14, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 14, 2006 Haha thx for the advise bro, for the time being im only running it 7hrs a day Dun wanna have tooo clean environment for them!! Haha muz train them to be commandos! UV light do prevent or rather eliminate parasites that harmful to the LS. Some parasites attack LS from the outside and you may see it but you should concern when it attack the internal organ of the LS. You should had one before the outbreak happened. Prevention is better than cure. Just my 2 cents, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vtec Posted May 18, 2006 Share Posted May 18, 2006 So what is the average price for a UV? Which brand/model is the most commonly used/recommended? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member marble Posted May 19, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted May 19, 2006 UV light do prevent or rather eliminate parasites that harmful to the LS. Some parasites attack LS from the outside and you may see it but you should concern when it attack the internal organ of the LS. You should had one before the outbreak happened. Prevention is better than cure. Just my 2 cents, yah man...I waited for e ich to breakout then go get one...IN e end,3 new tangs KO But surpising aft running e 18w coralife UV for 3days,e ich starter(BLUE TANG) actaully recover lah..E ICH infected his whole body until eyes oso become cloudy..Told my wife to prep for its funeral anytime soon but in e end IT recovers lah....Beside install of UV i oso feed them gralic soak mysis daily lor...AS for e rest of my 3 tang wic is not so badly infected w white spot also slowly recover lah...BEri amaze by Tis UV equipmt...Rite now i on it for 24hrs daily...Will reduce e running time to 12hrs aft a few more days to b kaisu abit..keke BUt on e other hand ,i was thinking mayb its bec of e daily feeding of garlic soak mysis n oso bec e 3 new tangs have ko liao so e other old occupant dun feel stress anymore so they recover by themselves...... hmmmmm still pondering on tis....Mayb got to get new tangs to try out again keke But on e other hand since i spend so much on a UV liao so i choose to believe tat it helps lor...keke..N u guys noe wat,i take e unit no go buy 4d n it came out tis wed n i gana $250 leh keke..so tis UV is actually free lah...kekeke Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ad_aware Posted May 19, 2006 Share Posted May 19, 2006 Haha.. i still maintain my no more than 21hrs a week routine Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...