LFS, LFF & LFM

Melvyn Tan

I am of the opinion that the LFS, LFF and LFM ought to separate its listing for easy finding in the stock report.

The prices usually vary since they are suppose to be different with their quality, travel distance (convenience) which determines the cost of livestock (different rental cost also).

Local Fish Shop - usually more conveniently located, higher rental cost, supposedly better quality with their higher cost.

Local Fish Farm - usually cheaper (or should be since they are located in god known places and i always wonder why they are now similiarly priced as LFS - when they are cheaper years back),

lower rental cost, should have wider variety.

Local Fish Market - can be LFS or LFF since they dump prices, provide lesser treatment and quality seems to be of the lesser sort in terms of health and variety for the lifestocks. They are what i called Fish Market cause like the market i use to go, the lifestocks are supposed to be dead anyway...sheeesh !

I liken contributors to be true hobbyists in commenting and vested interest personnel to get lost, what do you guys think?

Personally from my opinion not all marine shop would like to list their price listing. Some of them look at the way you dress and look at your to face to see whether you are a genuine buyer.

Price definately will vary for each individual. Got one time I go with my girlfriend. We go in separately told her to look out for open brain and she was qouted a this certain amount and then come to my turn it was different.

When the shop owner saw us together he got a shock. But eventually I still buy because they are honest and tell me that they did not know that we are together and they hope that I understand their mode of business.

Not to make things difficult, 3 threads so people can zoom in readily mah ! You want to buy fish market variety then check out the LFM, you want to buy good stuffs but at lower cost (need to travel) check out the LFF, if you want convenience then check out the LFS, this is to ease newbies and also i find it not as convenient having to read through the entire thread...

Personally from my opinion not all marine shop would like to list their price listing. Some of them look at the way you dress and look at your to face to see whether you are a genuine buyer.

Price definately will vary for each individual. Got one time I go with my girlfriend. We go in separately told her to look out for open brain and she was qouted a this certain amount and then come to my turn it was different.

When the shop owner saw us together he got a shock. But eventually I still buy because they are honest and tell me that they did not know that we are together and they hope that I understand their mode of business.

Maybe your girlfriend is stunning - that they got stunned and so goes the pricing? :lol:

Not asking to list the pricing....

But to categorise the stock listing so that immediately people can zoom in to hunt for stocks...people like me so poor no car cannot go to LFF so sometimes pointless to go through the entire list - may be convenient to just go to LFS listing and straight away know where and what can be gotten...

Also, nobody would want to be listed in LFM, this will hopefully "upkeep" the standards whoever LFS/LFF that can be considered in that LFM category plus, newbie will know and not kenna con - good for the hobby.

I deem long term and sustainability as the way forward for both LFS/LFF and the Hobbyist...am i in the right direction?

You mean to say until now you realised i am talking about stock listing report? alamak sorry ah...my english isn't really that good and ask for your kind pardon.

Anyway 3 separate listing for a week, no big deal as the combined will be the same as one loooong listing...

Don't get me wrong, not offended in anyway although my statement seems pretty sacarstic - practising my english as i am attending english class to improve my english - english F9 lah

Lets not build our impression in haste on one another through our words in forum(s) - for i am one lovable person with no ill-intent.

Wah not many people comment...

actually hor... wat LFS LFF and LFM means huh??

still i dunno wats LFS, LFF and LFM....

• 3 months later...

Local Fish Shop = LFS

Local Fish Farm = LFF

Local Fish Market = LFM (can be LFS or LFF) but usually like our bro neokn say grouper S$2/kg soon heer S$0.50/kg

Local Fish Shop = LFS

Local Fish Farm = LFF

Local Fish Market = LFM (can be LFS or LFF) but usually like our bro neokn say grouper  S$2/kg soon heer S$0.50/kg

Not Local F-shop? (learn from you)

the intention here is good, however...

i was at reborn yesterday and today:

yesterday, new stock arrived

today, some dealers from KL buy many many LS,by 12pm it is like empty...

so the problem is: will it be fruitful to post the list?

how long can the list stay "updated"?

cheers cheers

子非鱼,焉知鱼之乐... (you are not the fish so you...)

Then: my 4FT low tech selling off tank... (2006)

Now: (2014)

@Sept 2014

IMHO, though the intention is good to begin with, listing of live stocks may be applicable to fishes but not so for corals. Hobbyist are still eager to see the colors of corals for themselves and believe me, they tend to list the updates after seeing the new stocks for themselves. So, does it matter if it is LFS/LFF or just plain fish market?

BTW, I know that Chinatown fish market offers the widest variety of fresh fishes for sale in the morning.