SRC Member prec Posted January 24, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 24, 2006 Just like to find out what are the chances of getting a non-reef safe FA.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dkk08 Posted January 24, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 24, 2006 hmmm I'm not sure but I sure dun mind if any of ya wanna give up ur flame Quote “Frogs have it easy, they can eat what bugs them” "If you have no critics you'll likely have no success." - Malcolm X Glory Glory Man Utd! DeZ aka Desmond Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted January 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2006 See heng suay one. Angels are always like this. I also know a few triggers, angels and butterflies that do nto touch corals. Will Wonders never cease? Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted January 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2006 Pass to me for training and I'll make sure they do touch any of your corals. Just kidding. Anyway, I'm not sure is it the way I select my flame angel or what but none of them touches my corals. I have 3 flame before now left 1. 1 die during a "OS crash" and 1 jump out of the tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Qxnviolet Posted January 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2006 Pass to me for training and I'll make sure they do touch any of your corals. Just kidding. Anyway, I'm not sure is it the way I select my flame angel or what but none of them touches my corals. I have 3 flame before now left 1. 1 die during a "OS crash" and 1 jump out of the tank. Hrmz, care to share your "secrets" on selecting a flame angel? Quote My Newbie Tank Thread My Blog All pics taken with CanoN!~ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted January 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2006 Hrmz, care to share your "secrets" on selecting a flame angel? Actually, It's quite simple. 1. Just keep a look out for angel fish with none "parrot" looking mouth. 2. Another point to note is that it's much simpler to start training them when they're young not to touch your corals. If you buy them at the size of 3" or so. Chances of them having the "taste" of the meaty corals in the wild is pretty high. Note: The applies to Centropyge aka dwarf/ Pygmy angel so far. Anyway, so far most of them that I select turns out to be none peckers. My personal sinful track record. Dwarf Agri angel Alive African Flameback angel Alive Brazilian Flameback angel KIA Hybrid Lemonpeel angel Sold Bad record on corals Lemonpeel angel OS crash Golden angel KIA Fisher angel KIA Potteri angel KIA Coral beauty OS crash Midnight KIA Flame angel Alive Large Blue lips angel KIA Koran angel (juv) KIA Asfur angel Alive Scribbled angel KIA & DOA Rock beauty KIA Cortez angel Selling Bad record on corals Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Qxnviolet Posted January 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2006 Actually, It's quite simple. 1. Just keep a look out for angel fish with none "parrot" looking mouth. 2. Another point to note is that it's much simpler to start training them when they're young not to touch your corals. If you buy them at the size of 3" or so. Chances of them having the "taste" of the meaty corals in the wild is pretty high. Note: The applies to Centropyge aka dwarf/ Pygmy angel so far. Anyway, so far most of them that I select turns out to be none peckers. My personal sinful track record. Dwarf Agri angel Alive African Flameback angel Alive Brazilian Flameback angel KIA Hybrid Lemonpeel angel Sold Bad record on corals Lemonpeel angel OS crash Golden angel KIA Fisher angel KIA Potteri angel KIA Coral beauty OS crash Midnight KIA Flame angel Alive Large Blue lips angel KIA Koran angel (juv) KIA Asfur angel Alive Scribbled angel KIA & DOA Rock beauty KIA Cortez angel Selling Bad record on corals Haha, ok...im always fasinated by the colours of a flame angel...wht would a good size be? Ard 1 1/2" ? 1 Quote My Newbie Tank Thread My Blog All pics taken with CanoN!~ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member neokn Posted January 25, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 25, 2006 Haha, ok...im always fasinated by the colours of a flame angel...wht would a good size be? Ard 1 1/2" ? 1.5" is a good size to start with but difficult to get nowsaday. Slightly under 2" is good too and easier to find. Size like 1.5" and fantastic colour could be found at LCK110 (depends on session) and CF (higher chance but they're more costly) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bambaba Posted February 2, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted February 2, 2006 Hi' My dream fish is Flame angel.So far still dreaming!!!!!!!!!!! Patienance will be reward when good speciman comes along. Bambaba Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dieran_green Posted February 2, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted February 2, 2006 You can also try ML. I got mine from there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member prec Posted February 2, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted February 2, 2006 wow looks like its ultimately still a 50/50 reefsafe fish Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted February 3, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted February 3, 2006 i have been wanting to keep a flame angel...but i scared i suay den go bite my coral den siao liaoz.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member colinsoon Posted February 4, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted February 4, 2006 bro, nevermind, if it bites your corals, i get it from you! haha.. i got nothing expensive in my tank... so can let it bite for all it cares... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hammy Posted February 4, 2006 Share Posted February 4, 2006 dun really know even it stay in my tank for some time .suka suka one fine day they might just feel like tasting coral Quote 2x1.5x1.5 tank Lighting: AI hydra 52HD Skimmer: Deltec SC 1455 Reactor: Minimax; rowaphos Skimz ; NP biopellets Wave Maker: MP 40 WQD Return pump: Eheim 1262 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 hp A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal, but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel -- Proverbs 12:10 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted March 15, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted March 15, 2006 As I have advise many reefers before, don't take a chance especially if you are already keeping many beautiful corals. Otherwise, not only your heart aches but $$$ also fly... Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thedidavid Posted January 30, 2008 Share Posted January 30, 2008 Here is my experince with FLame Angel on LPS, this fella never pecking on any of my coral on my old tank (the broken one) since he found lot's of algae to eat on the back glass and on the LR. When I put this fella back into my new tank which has no algae at all he starts pecking on my prata and othe meaty corals, I found he did this when he can't find algae or any kind of food that he can peack on it. To reduce this occcurance I bought New Life wafer that will disolve within 24 hours, I found it works this fella stop pecking my meaty corals and shift her interest to the wafer. Now the algae starts growing in my tank and seldom she her pecking on my corals again. Flame Angel is very adorable fish. Quote RED SEA MAX - BLACK, JBJ ARCTICA DBA-075, HYDOR PRIME 30, VORTECH MP10 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member iskay Posted March 3, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted March 3, 2009 My tank no algae except for Chaeto and Halimeda..... So cannot keep dwarf angels. Always like to have coral beauty and flame angel... :sigh: Quote "Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member onizukaa Posted May 8, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted May 8, 2009 It's a tie!!! Is your Flame Angel coral safe?? Yes [ 29 ] [50.00%] No [ 29 ] [50.00%] Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dnsfpl Posted July 1, 2009 Share Posted July 1, 2009 i think they prefer prata type coral Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member razornova Posted July 1, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 1, 2009 Are plate corals safe with dwarf angels? Thinking of adding a plate but I have a coral beauty. Seems like most dwarf angels only go for prata/brain corals? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hehe Posted August 20, 2009 Share Posted August 20, 2009 actually how much is it for a flame angel? have seen $35, $50, $60. and its abit sian to pay so much for such a beautiful fish to see my hengsuayness... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter Harlequinmania Posted October 27, 2009 SRC Supporter Share Posted October 27, 2009 Price for this beauty range from $35.00 ~ 55.00 depending on size and where it came from.. Quote 1000 Gallon Tank in the Hole http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/topic/120957-1000-gallon-3d-hole-in-the-wall/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nuj244 Posted February 22, 2010 Share Posted February 22, 2010 in your experience, what type of corals does the Flame want to pick on? Are mushrooms and buttons included? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted February 22, 2010 Senior Reefer Share Posted February 22, 2010 fleshy corals.... brain, prata, candycane, cynarina. softies pretty much leave alone 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tangfan Posted April 29, 2010 Share Posted April 29, 2010 no luck in keeping this fish with corals, always disturb & even feed on them Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...