Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Share Posted January 7, 2006 Hi bros and sis, I dunno about you guys but I have recently just pick up a liking for Salmon Sashimi. Tired of waiting for them to be served, I decided to DIY. Herewith is a recipe courtesy of www.joelrestaurant.com: Serves 8 Salmon Sashimi with Koshi-Hikari Rice and Wasabi Sorbet: Break out all your best gadgets for this recipe - you'll need a stovetop smoker, a rice cooker, a professional culinary torch and an ice cream maker. Cured smoked salmon 3 lbs salmon filet 1 lbs course sea salt 3 oz sugar 2 oz dry coriander 1 oz white pepper 2 oz dried dill hickory chips stovetop smoker Mix all dry ingredients and spread 1/2 inch on sheet of plastic wrap. Lay fish in mixture, cover with remaining mixture and allow to cure in refrigerator for two hours. Prepare hickory smoke in stovetop smoker. Remove fish from mixture, brush fish clean. Remove smoker from heat and place fish inside. Let fish absorb cold smoke for 2 hours. Wrap fish in plastic and return and refrigerate. Tsar-cut Smoked Salmon from Petrossian Paris may be substituted. Rice pillow 1½ cups koshi-hikari rice 3¾ cups water 4 oz rice wine vinegar 1 oz mirin 1 oz saki 1 oz sugar pinch of salt rice cooker professional culinary torch 4" x 4" square mold (think big square cookie cutter) Add water and rice to rice cooker. Cook for 20 minutes. Rice should be sticky in consistency. Koshi-hikari is recognized as "the perfect sushi rice." In a small saucepan combine mirin and saki, bring to a rapid boil. Remove from heat pass lighted torch over mixture once to burn off alcohol. The mixture will catch fire and will burn for approximately 10 seconds. Add vinegar, sugar, salt and whisk. Mix one ounce of this dressing into rice. Cool rice to room temperature. Place ¾ cup of rice in mold on plate. Press down with spoon to make pillow. Remove mold. Sauce 2 cups water 1 oz bonito flakes ½ oz kombu 1½ qt white wine 1 tsp soy sauce 1 tsp sugar In a saucepan bring all ingredients to a rapid boil. Boil 1 minute, remove from heat, pour through mesh strainer immediately. Chill sauce. Wasabi sorbet 2 liter bottles of sparkling mineral water 3 oz white wine 3 oz glucose ½ tsp stabilizer 2 oz kombu 1 oz wasabi paste 2 tsp yuzu Japanese lime rind home ice cream maker Combine all ingredients bring to a rapid boil. Boil 2 minutes, remove from heat, pour through mesh strainer immediately. Put in ice cream maker, follow product instructions. Plating final dish Slice salmon into ¼ inch thick strips. Lay across rice pillows. Spoon chilled sauce over fish, garnish with scoop of sorbet. Enjoy! Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 Initially, I was unsure how to fillet Salmon, here's where I learn. http://www.northwestflyfisherman.com/salmon_fillet.htm Any bros or sis got any good recipe to share??? Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 Another recipe I found that I will try next week, courtesy of www.japaneseknife.com: SALMON SASHIMI CUCUMBER BOWLS 200g Block of sushi quality salmon Cucumber Wasabi Pickled ginger (sushi gari) Recommended knife: Ceramic 1594 1567-00 Artisan Gyuto Yanagiba 1514 Best Clad Cut thin slices of cucumber - about 1/8" or less in thickness and place in a bowl of cold water for about ½ an hour. The slices of cucumber will now have curled up on the edges creating little 'bowls'. Skin the fish or get you fishmonger to do it for you. Lay the block of fish with what would have been the skin side down. Cutting across the grain cut fine slices of the fish (~1/8") Spread a tiny dab of wasabi in each cucumber 'bowl', place a slice of salmon on it, place a small amount of sushi gari on top and serve. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 7, 2006 Share Posted January 7, 2006 Hmm...I prefer to have my salmon baked with cheese. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted January 7, 2006 Share Posted January 7, 2006 My dad presents his version which is the salmon pieces on top of a bowl full of crushed ice I find that rather nice as the slices are so cooling to eat!! Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted January 7, 2006 Share Posted January 7, 2006 remember to put "high class" dressing for the salmon else would be cheapo ones. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted January 7, 2006 Share Posted January 7, 2006 yummy.... Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gothia Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 are you guys planning to make sashimi or sushi? if its for sashimi.... i will go cold storage real early.. make sure the salmon is freshly cut.. then happily bring home, slice it, add some lemon .. then comes the jap soya sauce n wasabi.. yummy.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 are you guys planning to make sashimi or sushi? but if its for sashimi.... i will go cold storage real early.. make sure the salmon is freshly cut.. then happily bring home, slice it, add some lemon .. then comes the jap soya sauce n wasabi.. yummy.. Sushi are some that are afraid to taste the raw fish direct. For me, I prefer Sashimi - direct, no holds barred! Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gothia Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 how about this one?? this one is real good.. erh.. animal lover dun come after me ok.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah_d3x Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 hey!!! i wan some too!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 how about this one?? this one is real good.. erh.. animal lover dun come after me ok.. The dish tonight is Salmon not lobster leh?!?!?! Anyway, Sis got any Salmon recipe to share???? Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted January 7, 2006 Share Posted January 7, 2006 fresh catch and skin alive. Not those dead ones from supermarket Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 Hi WL, Yah loh dun quite like those in NTUC. Now trying to look for super fresh ones, source located by hard to get fish delivered to my door:D Here's another to tempt you further. P.S. Will jio you when dinner is serve. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gothia Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 WL,in singapore wat u expect??? of course its either ntuc or cold storage lor.. normally this type of premium thing, cold storage has got more variety mah... aiya.. sama sama lar gouldian.. sashima also mah.... i drifted too far.. hahaha..u lah! who ask u start this food thread.. haiz..makes me hungry... heng ! i just bought Bah Gua..heehee hmm..frankly speaking, i prefer raw salmon rather than cooked salmon..let me think of a good recipe before i post ..heehee Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gothia Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 Hi WL, Yah loh dun quite like those in NTUC. Now trying to look for super fresh ones, source located by hard to get fish delivered to my door:D Here's another to tempt you further. P.S. Will jio you when dinner is serve. again... sorry !! this pic makes me thinks of caviar ..wahahaha.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted January 7, 2006 Share Posted January 7, 2006 Gouldian, no no no, jio me when you going to skin the fish. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 again... sorry !! this pic makes me thinks of caviar ..wahahaha.... How about combining them together??!?!? Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gothia Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 Cool~~ i dun have any salmon recipe leh.. cos i prefer them raw... BBQ recipe can or not? i know how to make the BBQ bacon + asapragus ( sold at all Tori outlets ).. interested?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted January 7, 2006 Author Share Posted January 7, 2006 Gouldian, no no no, jio me when you going to skin the fish. Will do bro. Many bros also interested. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Marineman Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 hahahaha! you guys, don't rub it in la, why not try something else like toro or kobe beef? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gothia Posted January 7, 2006 SRC Member Share Posted January 7, 2006 hahahaha! you guys, don't rub it in la, why not try something else like toro or kobe beef? woah.. urs is lagi far... howabout topshell, abalone,BBQ garlic prawn, stingray, chilli crab.....bla bla bla Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...