Definations

mUAr_cHEe

Like to clarify with the general public. What is the exact defination of "Pico" and "Nano"?

With reference to this.

In all my years of reefing, anything smaller than 2 feet is called a Nano. Even for a half-footer, 6 inch cube. I had one. I always referred to it as my "nano".

Its only quite recently in RC, the term "Pico" was used. I assume it is called "pico" because the brand of the tank is called "Pico". That was my assumption. One kind soul then linked us to that particular thread, and then alot of reefers suddenly started a "Pico" tank.

And it seems to me recently, this term is being rather misused.

Let me look at the dictionary. Little Oxford, Printed in 1996. HOLY GUAKER MOLEY! 10 years already. I am really getting old. Maybe thats why I can't accept changes. Its the right of every old folk. Just like for every vacation, by the dad code, every dad is entitled to one horredous and distasteful shirt.

My dictionery is kind of crap.

Nano is defined as a prefix only. one thousand millionth.

There is no "pico" in my tank, but i assume that it might be derived from "piccolo" which is a small flute.

Let me check Wikipedia.

Cool. Wikipedia got defination of Nano reef.

Defination of Nano Reef by Wikipedia

There is no real defination of Pico tank or reef in Wikipedia.

But the defination of Pico is again a prefix. Pico is 10 to the power of negative 12, whereas Nano is 10 to the power of negative 9.

I do not really have time now to check RC to clarify the exact defination of the term, "Pico", since that is where all the Picoing started. But when I do, I will update this thread.

This thread is again not for the purpose of slamming, flaming and bitch-slapping. I just want to educate and correct a misconception before we look like bloody fools to other people.

So that means "pico" is actually smaller than "nano"? :lol:

Do keep us updated bro!!! :D

Personally I thought that anyting less than 2ft is a nano - while anything less than 1ft is a pico. Thus many of the fellow reefers uses the specially made tank where the size is 9.4"x6.1"x7.55" -

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php? showtopic=43254&st=0&#entry508075

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=43588

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=42890

- these are what I think is good examples of what a pico tank is like. They are actually very small and have no sump connected to them.

I am think of something as small as that - but with a sump - to increase the water volume and so less maintenance required.

Thus I am still researching and considering. My 2-cents worth. :D

i always had the idea that nano would be like 1ft - 2ft and pico would be less than 1ft in size. that would be the main display tank size.

yea..i share the same sentiments too.. :P

Information extracted from dictionary.com

pico-

pref.

1.One-trillionth (10-12): picosecond.

2.Very small: picornavirus.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

nano-

pref.

1.often nanno- Extremely small: nannoplankton.

2.One-billionth (10-9): nanosecond

I think they both have the same meaning in reefing which is referring to small tanks ;)

To me, as an engineering student, nano and pico, the difference is just the sheer size. Like what muar chee has mentioned, pico is 10^-12 while nano is 10^-9.

So if we just compare the amount of volume that the tank possessed, i would roughly gauge anything less than 10 gallons to be pico, anything less than 20 gallons to be nano

If this is the case, i would imagine 30 gallon to be micro, 40 gallon to be milli and so on.

Too much maths liao.

To me its nano = small tank 4 big kids, pico = tiny table top type.

3ft & above are for big boys.... :P

haha... same same .

pico == very small tank

nano==small tank

then pple will ask how small is considered small .

to me , it doesnt matter .

Crap! I am wrong.

Pico is any tank below 2.5 Gallons. That is 9.463 liters.

Most Simple defination of Nano and Pico that I can find.

There are many many other references. But I am too demoralised and cannot be bothered to post, since I know I am wrong. :angry:

RC has been using the term "pico" since 2002 also. So I am again wrong that the term "pico" came up in RC recently only.

ARGH!!!!! I hate to prove myself wrong!!! *bangs head on wall repeatly*

:blink::blink:

You started this thread becuz of my pico tank??

Elune's 1st Pico Tank

With what Hondaker said in regards, although I'm not an engineering student, but I have heard of micro-chips technology many many years ago, until a couple of years back where "Nano-chip" technology is in... just haven't heard of pico-chips...

anyways, my tank is a roughly 1.9 Gallons... i feel paiseh to even classify mine under as a nano :paiseh: , thats why I termed it Pico-Tank under Hondaker's advise... lol...

its like I am driving a 1000cc Toyota Starlet and I am classified under the 1600cc category. so paiseh~ :paiseh: i feel LTA should come out with a 3rd category of cars called"below 1000cc". Think Daihatsu Copen: only 659cc ... :paiseh:

Anyways, I just feel that this Pico Trend is slowly picking up. Cheers~ :lol:

dancing_girl2.gifSpirit.gif

:blink::blink:

You started this thread becuz of my pico tank??

No, I did not start this thread because of you. No need to be so ego. Think the whole world rotate around you. :P kidding. :lol: Hope you can take joke.

Its not you in particular that spurred me to start this thread. But just in general. If you guys noticed by now, SRC is all about being a trend starter.

First BK skimmers, then Gress Gobies, then shark, then frogfish, then beckett, now pico, what's next? Clown breeding. Thank God that not so easy to start... <_<

oh? I didn't know SRC is all about being a trend starter... i joined becuz i need guidance from the lau-jiaos around here. :P

ah dun worry, I can take jokes. I'm a very chin-chai person. :peace:

hmmm, maybe I should resurrect the Jellyfish-tank trend from around 6 years ago... the other day saw Ah-Beng's place got 3 tank-fuls of Jelly Fish... so cute. Under proper lighting even nice... kekeke so tempted if not for a different system requirement. :lol:

dancing_girl2.gifSpirit.gif