HELP! ALGAE invasion

scs88

hi guys

i just came back from overseas

my tank was taken care of by my dad

when i came back i got a rude shock

all my tank walls are covered with green algae!

including the surfaCE of quite a lot of my rocks and tonga branches!!

v sad manz

i duno how to clear them up

as in i can clean the walls, but how am i going to clear the rocks of the algae

worse thing is my sun coral gana invaded by black green algae

i think doomed man

can anyone help me?

i dun haf FR.. is that the reason

any remedy?

if not i think my tank going to crash

however one ting is that all my corals inside the hammers, bubbles etc all flourishing, they are like 2 times the size b4 i left singapore

i on the MH lights 12 hrs per day

i no other lights

i got hammers bubbles

frog spawn

super sun and sun corals

how ah??

help!!

wa..too long of a photoperiod..you can cut down on the number of hrs you on your MH..can do a waterchange will help too..also try to get a FR with some phosphate removing media ;)

haha you tank reminds me of how mine looked like when i was awake for 2 weeks in NZ.

here' what i did

Run the tank with a FR, i didn't have anymore money for rowa so i used aqualite 1, it works just as well bringing PO4 down to 0.

then i went on to buy algae eating LS and 5 turbo snails for my 3ft tank.

i don't recommend buyin the LS tho cuz after all the algae's gone they're very hard to persuade to switch to frozen food or even seaweed.

just the turbo snails will do. but most impt, cut the algae's food source, run the FR.

ok

just wondering

i run the FR with rowaphos and activated carbon.

so how does the algae on the rocks get removed??

cos its quite a lot

sigh

one more thing

went to a LFS just now

the guy there recommended using DKH power or sth to regulate teh ph

he say this is the onli way to help remove the algae as the algae will die off

any ideaS??

Roughly how much is a FR with rowaphos

to speed matter up go grab a sea hare... very soon yr algae will be gone but like the bros said, still hv to cut down on photo period & do water chg to make sure it doesnt come bac

yes agree with bro cks... long spine urchins are oso super algae eaters but they tend to eat until the live rocks "botak"...

hi bros

tks to recommendation

juts got 2 sea hares from ah beng at 5 bucks each

and got a RM FR with activcated carbon and rawaphos from a fellow reefer

all up and running

the FR running from the chiller pump, no prob rite?

should i get the black spike urchins?

i haf got 3 turbo snails...

my fishes haf not been fed for 2 days

how ah ? can feed a bit?

hi bros

tks to recommendation

all up and running

how ah ? can feed a bit?

bro..there is no prob running the FR with the chiller pump..just make sure the flow is enough..you can feed your fishes btw ;)

hi bros

tks to recommendation

all up and running

how ah ? can feed a bit?

Hmm... it seem that i also share the same problem with u ;) ... i actully have two marine tank one is running with a skimmer the other one is not ... i been very busy for the pass one year dude to Ns ...i didnt change my tank's water for like 1/2 a year.. it seem ok with my first tank that has the skimmer running :P ..but the other one without a skimmer ..seem to be having alot of cyanobacteria ..i try to clean the cyno on the rock using a tooth brush brushing it away and did a 60% water change ... but within a week the cyno it seem to be growing back ... :(

Heard from henry that Sea hare will take cyanobacteria and they love it .. :lol: looking at some pic u post .. i did see some red algae in ur tank which i think it's cyanobacteria... just asking does the sea hare take in the cyno and algae more effective..or it very slow like e snails...compare it to a snail or urchin.. which is a better algae eater..?

frm personal experience - sea hare makan algae etc like nobody biz but then dont live as long asthe snails.. long spine sea urchin oso super eater n quite long live as well.. but my prob was tat they ate until all my rocksbotak so in end gv them away n stuff startingt o grow back on jy rocks

ok so i going to get some sea urchins tomolo

2 enuff?

the sea urchins can  makan the hairy algae on the rocks rite?

crucial

my nice rocks and tonga branches covered with hairy algae

damm sianz

How big is your tank?

For 3ft and below tank.. 1 urchin is enu.. infact after a while they will be lacking food and may start preying on ur prize macroalgae

maybe if u r really KS now.. get 2 urchins and give them away after u've won the algae war.

my tank 3 x 1.5 x 2.5

think i get 2 urchins la

can i just ask again if hte sea urchins will eat away the hairy dark green algae on the rocks??

sea hare is just for eating the algae on the walls??

Why dun u also try getting a small abalone? Henry of ML brings them in regularly.

I have one in my 4' tank and it does a good job, only coming out at nite to graze on the algae on the rocks as well as on the glass. I don't think they feed on cyano though.

my tank 3 x 1.5 x 2.5

think i get 2 urchins la

can i just ask again if hte sea urchins will eat away the hairy dark green algae on the rocks??

sea hare is just for eating the algae on the walls??

not too sure about seahare or abalon

have tried battling hairalgae successfully only with combo of trochus snails & urchin (Diadema sp)