SRC Member zephyros Posted December 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted December 23, 2005 Hi, Just like to share some observation. I'm using HnS skimmer, and does not re-direct waste to another collection cup. I observed that if the skimmate collected is X in 2 days, it will not become 2X in 4days. That is to say, the perfomance of the skimmer is not proportional to the time it runs. Howerver, using the above eg, if I clear the cup on the 2nd day, I am still able to get X skimmate in day 4. Hence, I think it is important to find the day that u shld clean/clear the cup to optimise the performance of ur skimmer. I've spoken to several fellow HnS users and we find that clearing the cup every 2-3 days had the best effect for HnS skimmer. Not sure abt other brand of skimmer. Maybe fellow reefers would like to share. This is not a thread of which skimmer is better than which skimmer ok so pls keep to the topic cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted December 23, 2005 Share Posted December 23, 2005 The neck would get dirty after few days and skimming efficiency will be affected. If you tune the skimmate slightly more wet that will help to prevent this problem. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zephyros Posted December 23, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 23, 2005 yup, HnS cup is part of the neck. hence, had to clean both at the same time Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted December 23, 2005 Share Posted December 23, 2005 I also facing the same problem but mine only happens after 4-5days as I tune my skimmer to skim more wet. Not going for mud type of skimmate but just dark brown tea only. Maybe in-future when I got the money, I get a bigger deltec skimmer with the self-cleaning head so the maintenance interval can be extended to 2weeks or longer. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zephyros Posted December 23, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 23, 2005 self cleaning head??? den when "self cleaning" where did all the waste go to .. interesting feature ... must go readup more Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
VILLAIN Posted January 2, 2006 Share Posted January 2, 2006 Sorry guys, can I ask a suaku question pls? I got myself a H&S but haven't set up yet and didn't really give it a thought until I came across this thread.... When cleaning the cup do we have to off the power? I think should be yes right? If not maybe will overflow? My concern is if turning it on & off every 2 days dunno will shorten the pump life or not. Thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zephyros Posted January 9, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 9, 2006 external or internal? for me, i close the g-clamp so no air goes in and thus the water lvl drop to below the neck, den remove cup. hence dun need to off power Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 10, 2006 Share Posted January 10, 2006 Omg..I'm the only diligent one who cleans the cup everyday. Maybe I got an addiction towards skimmate. If I clean daily....I get X amount of skimmate to clear daily. If I clean every 2 days, I get less than 2X amount of skimmate to clear. That's why I clean daily. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zephyros Posted January 11, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2006 wow ... bros ur skimmer wat huh? after cleaning, it takes abt 2 days for my skimmer to get the dark copi mud/water again leh ... so i dun find the need to clean everyday. oso, notice that after cleaning, the foam do not reach the top of the cup immediately, it takes abt 1 hr for it to "re-kick" in again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted January 11, 2006 Share Posted January 11, 2006 Mine after cleaning works already. Within minutes you see the foam rising to the top again. Mine's a weipro 2012. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zephyros Posted January 11, 2006 Author SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2006 steady actually use to clean alternate days ... but abit lazy that's y change to 2 times a week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ah-lim Posted January 28, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted January 28, 2008 Me every 2 days. I placed a tooth brush beside the skimmer, every time juz take the brush, 1 round ard the cup can liao... 1 min job, including rinsing the brush. I find that it improve the performance. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member newmarine Posted January 29, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted January 29, 2008 am using a aquamedic shorty, clean only once a month.. looking at the thread and how often u guys clean it make me paiseh.. Bro Ah-Lim, you only use the brush to clean the neck of the cup? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member raymus Posted August 8, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted August 8, 2008 once a week for me. using tooth brush and warm water Quote ---2Ft Cube by MarineLife---2008-2009 http://w w w.absolutereef . com/forums/index.php?showtopic=12369 Skimmer: Deltec APF600 feeder by Eheim 1250 Lighting: Solite 150MH 14k Supplement: Giesemann T5 Razor, Actinic Plus ~22k Top-up: Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155 Return: Eheim 1260 Reactor: Skimz FR Rowaphos --------------------------------------------------------- ---1.5Ft Cube by Iwarna---2010- ??? http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?/topic/95312-nano-15-cube/ Tank: 1.5Ft Cube,Sump with Chengai Wood Cabinate skimmer: Reef Oct Nw110 Return: Eheim 1250 Chiller: Hailea HC150A with feeder Eheim Compact 1000 Reactor: Phosphan with Rowaphos Lighting: MaxSpec G2 110w,DELighting T5 ATI*2,Giesemann T5 Razor ATI*2 WaveMaker: MP10 VorTech Top Up : ATO with Tank -------------------------Your Advice is my Success Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tunicate Posted August 9, 2008 SRC Member Share Posted August 9, 2008 I use a milk bottle brush on my Weipro collection cup. (. . . and no, there're no babies in my family who's sharing this brush ) I will trim the bristle down a little so that it fits the neck just nicely for that weekly task. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...