How often U clear the skimmer collection cup?

zephyros

How often U clear the skimmer collection cup?  

158 members have voted

1. 1. How often U clear the skimmer collection cup?

• Everyday
    • Every 2 days
    • Twice a week
    • Once a week
    • Once every 2 weeks
    • Direct to another collection cup, so dun need to clear main cup

Just like to share some observation.

I'm using HnS skimmer, and does not re-direct waste to another

collection cup.

I observed that if the skimmate collected is X in 2 days, it will

not become 2X in 4days. That is to say, the perfomance of the skimmer is

not proportional to the time it runs.

Howerver, using the above eg, if I clear the cup on the 2nd day, I am still

able to get X skimmate in day 4.

Hence, I think it is important to find the day that u shld clean/clear the cup

to optimise the performance of ur skimmer.

I've spoken to several fellow HnS users and we find that clearing the cup

every 2-3 days had the best effect for HnS skimmer.

Not sure abt other brand of skimmer. Maybe fellow reefers would like to share.

This is not a thread of which skimmer is better than which skimmer ok :evil:

so pls keep to the topic :P

I also facing the same problem but mine only happens after 4-5days as I tune my skimmer to skim more wet. Not going for mud type of skimmate but just dark brown tea only.

Maybe in-future when I got the money, I get a bigger deltec skimmer with the self-cleaning head so the maintenance interval can be extended to 2weeks or longer.

Sorry guys, can I ask a suaku question pls? I got myself a H&S but haven't set up yet and didn't really give it a thought until I came across this thread....

When cleaning the cup do we have to off the power? I think should be yes right? If not maybe will overflow? My concern is if turning it on & off every 2 days dunno will shorten the pump life or not. Thanks.

Omg..I'm the only diligent one who cleans the cup everyday. Maybe I got an addiction towards skimmate. If I clean daily....I get X amount of skimmate to clear daily. If I clean every 2 days, I get less than 2X amount of skimmate to clear. That's why I clean daily. ;)

wow ... bros ur skimmer wat huh?

after cleaning, it takes abt 2 days for my skimmer to get the dark

copi mud/water again leh ... so i dun find the need to clean everyday.

oso, notice that after cleaning, the foam do not reach the top of the cup

immediately, it takes abt 1 hr for it to "re-kick" in again.

• 2 years later...
  • 6 months later...

once a week for me. using tooth brush and warm water :)

---2Ft Cube by MarineLife---2008-2009

http://w w w.absolutereef . com/forums/index.php?showtopic=12369

Skimmer: Deltec APF600 feeder by Eheim 1250

Lighting: Solite 150MH 14k

Supplement: Giesemann T5 Razor, Actinic Plus ~22k

Top-up: Tunze Osmolator Universal 3155

Return: Eheim 1260

Reactor: Skimz FR Rowaphos

---------------------------------------------------------

---1.5Ft Cube by Iwarna---2010- ???

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?/topic/95312-nano-15-cube/

Tank: 1.5Ft Cube,Sump with Chengai Wood Cabinate

skimmer: Reef Oct Nw110

Return: Eheim 1250

Chiller: Hailea HC150A with feeder Eheim Compact 1000

Reactor: Phosphan with Rowaphos

Lighting: MaxSpec G2 110w,DELighting T5 ATI*2,Giesemann T5 Razor ATI*2

WaveMaker: MP10 VorTech

Top Up : ATO with Tank

-------------------------Your Advice is my Success

I use a milk bottle brush on my Weipro collection cup. (. . . and no, there're no babies in my family who's sharing this brush :sick: )

I will trim the bristle down a little so that it fits the neck just nicely for that weekly task.