What does this Nudi eat?

Elune

Got this Nudibranch some days back, and also bought the sponge the shopkeeper recommends. But few days has passed and its hasn't even gone near the sponge.

Shopkeeper also suggests it eats Phytoplanton, so I bought a bottle too and has introduced some into the tank. The nudibranch is still alive today, but i just feel safer to see the nudi eats something, and that something disappears. Just like a sponge that looks like it has been eaten, rather than phytoplankton which i can't see.

Hypselodoris_apolegma.jpg

This breed is called Hypselodoris Apolegma. Any one keeping the same? and what does yours eat? can offer name and picture for easy identification of the sponge?

Where in Singapore sells it?

Help appreciated. thanks in advance.

dancing_girl2.gifSpirit.gif

Most likely sponges or other sessile inverts. Don't think anyone knows the exact species it feeds on. The rabbit a.k.a nudibranch feeds on blue sponge. Not sure for this species. Maybe try the pink sponge?

Anyone can advise me on "Angel Formula"? I read that it contains marine sponges and is able to anchor on the tank walls. I was thinking of trying this to feed my nudibranch.

Alternaltively, anyone got pictures of Breadcrumb sponges? or anywhere in S'pore sells this type of sponge?

I think my beloved H.Apolegma is quitely starving... :(

any info is much appreciated.

They have now survived for three months on a combination of Breadcrumb Sponges, Aiptasia anemones, and the occasional sponge that happens in on the liverock I purchase.

Extracted from sea slug forum.

Didn't know they eat anemones also.

Hm, maybe i get 1 or 2 tiny small banded

bead anemones from beach this wkend

& let U try. If it works, I also wan keep nudi. :P

Alternative is to buy all the diff types of

sponges available in the market & dump

into tank & let it choose loh.

anyone got pictures of Breadcrumb sponges

Do a google search for images.

Brownish sponges w/ pits.

Thanks Kev! I covered the sea slug forums too.

Hm, maybe i get 1 or 2 tiny small banded

bead anemones from beach this wkend

& let U try.

Wow, u are able to find banded bead anemones from combing the beach area? That's cool.

it works, I also wan keep nudi.

Erm, one warning before yoiu buy a nudi for your tank. Its a time-bomb.

If this beautiful thing is physically harmed, it releases certain toxin that is harmful to your tank inhabitants.

If disturbed by fishes, it release mild toxin. The fish is irritated and swims away. So since the exposure to the toxin is momentarily, it is not sufficient to kill the fish.

But Hondaker experienced the worse nightmare. I gave him the same breed of nudibranch as a birthday present ( I didn't read up much about nudibranch during that time :paiseh: ) . Did warn him about the toxidity a day later, and hondaker said " then i wun let it die". UNFORTUNATELY, the stupid nudi climbed too close to his pump suction inlet and got suck there. Died by the time hondaker found it. And during its extraction, disintegrated, got suck in by the pump, grinded through and came out in tiny pieces through the pump outlet.

The result? His entire tank fishes basically got wipe out. So paiseh.

(Hondaker: Dun worry Honda, next yr your birthday, I will buy you back another Nudibranch! Bigger one! So it wun get suck in by the pump! )

:lol: Ha ha ha.

:P Pai se Hondaker.

Cannot stop laughing.

Dame funny leh.

Remind me of the time my tank kana nitrate spike.

Lost $$$ man.... Almost everything up lorry & the

dead made my tank smell.

We try the anemones 1st.

See how it goes.

Will call U when i get them.

Will try this evening if i finish work early.

Reborn close every Tues.

Actually wanted to go look see. B)

PS (talk 2 ur nudi lah. tell him dun so fussy eater)

Eh Kev,

I dun think I wanna try Anemone yet. My tank is too small (so no space) + the water are not suitable for an anemone yet. So i guess you can skip this trip this evening. :)

More importantly, can advise me where to get Zoos?

And let me know if "Zoos" is the full name or just a jargon you guys use.

Wat is the proper name, and is it a coral or a sponge, or something else.?

I am super noob to reef forums, so i am confused by all these terms.

"Zoos" to my knowledge so far = Mandai Zoological Gardens where they keep animals for exhibits and charge tourist exorbitant entrance fees. :P:P:P

Thanks Kev! I covered the sea slug forums too.

Wow, u are able to find banded bead anemones from combing the beach area? That's cool.

Erm, one warning before yoiu buy a nudi for your tank. Its a time-bomb.

If this beautiful thing is physically harmed, it releases certain toxin that is harmful to your tank inhabitants.

If disturbed by fishes, it release mild toxin. The fish is irritated and swims away. So since the exposure to the toxin is momentarily, it is not sufficient to kill the fish.

But Hondaker experienced the worse nightmare. I gave him the same breed of nudibranch as a birthday present ( I didn't read up much about nudibranch during that time :paiseh: ) . Did warn him about the toxidity a day later, and hondaker said " then i wun let it die". UNFORTUNATELY, the stupid nudi climbed too close to his pump suction inlet and got suck there. Died by the time hondaker found it. And during its extraction, disintegrated, got suck in by the pump, grinded through and came out in tiny pieces through the pump outlet.

The result? His entire tank fishes basically got wipe out. So paiseh.

(Hondaker: Dun worry Honda, next yr your birthday, I will buy you back another Nudibranch! Bigger one! So it wun get suck in by the pump! )

reli beri farnie lehz... lolx... tio stuck into pump...

:upsidedown:

Elune

Relax bro,

I know ur tank is nano.

I will find anemones for

you the size of ikan bilis.

Max size 1cm ok !?

Its not those anemones

for nemo. Slightly diff.

My camel shrimps use to

eat them. If ur nudi dun eat

can take out. I throw back to

sea. No sweat.

(see U christmas bbq. talk more there :lol: )

Eh, dun stray off to sun corals leh. off topic leow.

I know ur tank is nano.

I will find anemones for

you the size of ikan bilis.

Max size 1cm ok !?

My tank is smaller .... it s Pico! :D:D:D

1cm is ok~ keke . steady man~ thanks in advance~

hey~ anyone familiar with the Dysidea species of sponge?

The sea slug forum on the H. Apolegma feature this picture with the Nudibranches appearing to be snacking on this type of sponges.

Anyone can provide more information on this type of Dysidea sponge?

Dysidea.jpg

Dear Alan,

Thanks for thinking of us. I checked it out and it seems to be a frozen food which I guess is ok for biting animals when it thaws, but the 'teeth' of slugs are not on jaws but on a tongue-like ribbon, so to feed they would need a solid block to scrape on. However I guess anything's worth a try

Best wishes

Bill Rudman

Rudman, W.B., 2004 (Mar 19). Comment on Concerning 'angelfood' by Alan Osborne. [Message in] Sea Slug Forum. Australian Museum, Sydney. Available from http://www.seaslugforum.net/find.cfm?id=12450

This is the reply for the angelfood U were asking.

Quote from sea slug forum.

Reborn does sell this in pellet or flake.

Not known to survive well in captivity, better leave them in the sea. If this can be easily kept successfully, you will see it in a lot of them in hobbyists tanks.

Unfortunately you already bought it before you realise it's potential danger to your tank's inhabitants. Keep a close eye on it, feeding zoos is not a long term solution. From my earlier research, it is not recommended for hobbyists to keep nudis, the more colourful it is the more potent it's toxicity. I have also visited many public aquariums overseas and I don't remember seeing any display tank with colourful nudis in it.

Thanks for your concern Marineman.

I do know of the difficulties in keeping nudibranches in captivity. and i am also concerned about the fact that LFS here sells them every now and then, and through talks with them shopkeepers, realised they dun know much about them and dun care anyways.

But I want to specifically focus on this species, the Hypselodoris Apolegma, which can be found in local waters of Malaysia and perhaps add more literature to its research. Hopefully I can contribute critical information to world. =)

I think should be nudi bah~ I only familiar with those with 2 antennas infront and 5 stalks behind type of nudi. heh heh. man~ u sure got lotsa hitchhikers; every one in a few days. interested.

Oh ya, about the Zoos you gave me last evening, my nudibranch not interested. (T__T) sad. so picky about food...

:nuke: Cannot spank, wait it release toxin... = Armageddon.

I read through the very scholarly journal u referred me thru the link ( *sweat*). :blink:

Nudi Food!

My simple conclusion is that the Hypselodoris range of nudibranches snack mainly on the Dysidea type of sponges.

Unfortunately, the literature is missing the Hypselodoris APOLEGMA record of nudibranch food. Perhaps no one has submitted an official study on this species yet. So no records. (Maybe I will, if I succeeded that is~ xD ) :peace:

So most probably I will be targeting in my focus on this particular type of sponges next. Oh ya, the Zoos u gave me, helps decorate my tank. Thanks! :lol:

*come on baby, eat something and I'll buy u a girl to keep you company through Xmas~!* :angel:

(just a FYI, nudibranches are Both-Sexes (dunno the term for twin-######), but they cannot reproduce themselves alone. So if we intend to cultivate these beautiful things and introduce them back to the sea, we just need a pair, no need to worry which is male or female. Hey, wondering if cross-breeding of different colors of nudibranches will result in MORE colors or new species? Then i can name the new species Hypselodoris Kew! Just a thought, just a thought..... )