SRC Member vtec3100 Posted September 22, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 22, 2003 Hi, Just started with the cycling of my 3ft tank with LRs. I'm not sure whether should i fixed in the protein skimmer during cycling? Is ther any different between using n not using skimmer during cycling? Thank for the advise.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Kalib Posted September 22, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 22, 2003 You can fix in the protein skimmer during cycling but don't turn it on. Not advisable to skim during the cycling period, think the reason behind this is that it'll remove the waste that would fuel the cycling process. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member vtec3100 Posted September 29, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 29, 2003 I have waited for this forum to be up again for so many days....... looks like having some problem in the past few days.... Thanks for the advise. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted September 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 29, 2003 dun haf to on... thot i on the skimmer while i was cycling.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
silverfish Posted September 29, 2003 Share Posted September 29, 2003 I also turned it on during cycling.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted September 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 29, 2003 Me too. 2nd day its creating kopi-o liao. Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Hecter Posted September 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted September 29, 2003 i think not necessary leh... you suppose to use the waste products as source of ammonia, so that cycling process can be speed up... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...