Chillers

dr evil

• Sponsor

Hi Guys,

im using a Teco RA680 for my 4ft tank and have this funny idea on how to save $$.....as not to get the chiller run all the time.... :D

Im currently running on 2 x 150watt MH.......

I have set my Teco to 26 deg and it will only run if it hits above 28deg (2deg differiential).

My Idea.......

To use a fan to maintain the tank temp not higher than 28 deg so the chiller will not activate (i have maintain it around 27.8 deg). As my MH is running for 6hrs a day, the chiller will be resting for the rest of the day (18hrs).

the temp will shoot above 28 deg only if the MH if on........ :) Thats where the chiller will be working.........other than that, it will not activate...

Guys, what do you think of this..........??? :idea:

but the water topoff is about 4.5l daily for me.

before the fans, much much less.

Hi Bum,

Can look at it from another angle.

You have the option of topping up 4.5l of kalk which will precipitate phosphate, keep PH high, and its one of the cheapest option of supplementing calcium and alk :yeah:

Its a plus isn't it ? :P

Hey hey- I am doing the same thing! Wife nearly killed me when she saw the bill. And on top of that, I have been grumbling at her for switching the air con on 24/7. Just to check with ya, Dr Evil & Bum- what fans you dudes using? The cheapo clip on fan I got at my local hardware store is not cutting it leh.

Will be topping water everyday like mad!!! :D

After using another local made chiller (not Reef Relief) for my 350litres tank, water topping is only 3-4litres a week. Chiller (1/2HP) cuts in every 5 hours when MH lights on, only run for 1 hour 10 minutes to chill from 27 to 24 degrees. I don't think this will consume a lot of power. The runnning ampere is only around 2-2.5A.

Will be topping water everyday like mad!!! :D

After using another local made chiller (not Reef Relief) for my 350litres tank, water topping is only 3-4litres a week. Chiller (1/2HP) cuts in every 5 hours when MH lights on, only run for 1 hour 10 minutes to chill from 27 to 24 degrees. I don't think this will consume a lot of power. The runnning ampere is only around 2-2.5A.

27 to 24 degrees??! :blink:

You keeping temperate species ah? :fear:

riot Posted on Sep 22 2003, 02:33 PM

Hey hey- I am doing the same thing! Wife nearly killed me when she saw the bill. And on top of that, I have been grumbling at her for switching the air con on 24/7.

me too!! me too!!

whole life complain hot and that the fish have air-con and she dun have. :lol:

i'm using the fan with the clip-on, dunno the brand.

looks like the normal fans that can buy from SLT

onghm, i dun think can drip kalk everyday right?

top off is almost 5l...

questuion: can i drip 5l if the kalk is very dilute?

i'm working in the correct dosage now :P

onghm, i dun think can drip kalk everyday right?

top off is almost 5l...

questuion: can i drip 5l if the kalk is very dilute?

i'm working in the correct dosage now :P

I think that depends on your tank calcium/alk intake.

If you need to dose 5l of kalk daily just to maintain your cal/alk at a desired value, i don't see any harm doing that everyday. Watch your ph though.

But if your 5l of kalk is more than your tank requirement , then that's a different story :P

Is that why you want to dilute it ?

Oops! very :off:

Sorry Dr evil :bow:

I think that depends on your tank calcium/alk intake.

If you need to dose 5l of kalk daily just to maintain your cal/alk at a desired value, i don't see any harm doing that everyday. Watch your ph though.

But if your 5l of kalk is more than your tank requirement , then that's a different story 

Is that why you want to dilute it ?

yup! :P

i agree..its more cheapskate than kiasu.

but since the lights already total more than 500W,

who can blame us?

actually hor, i thinking of turning fan on for 24/7 :rolleyes:

and getting another fan! :P

else hor...can become tang and eat grass liao :lol:

Have not actually got a chance to do a 100% upz

n down scrutinizing of a chiller.

Let me analysis n think of some feasible car air filter

cold airtake thingy. as long as the chiller is taking

in cold air, it will chill more efficiency. Something like

my car air filter.

Hmm, maybe in 1-2years time when I got a chiller then I update