Water change

hi reefer, may i ask hw often u guys change water n hw many percent 2 change? coz i hw nt change my water since i start my 4ft tank :eyebrow: 3mths liao :fear: and wat wil happn if i did nt change e water :thanks: lookin 4ward for expert point of view :thanks: one more qns :D wat is e best salt in e market?

It's about high time to do a water change.. For a 4ft tank, I usually buy 4 bags of water from the LFS, which is equivalent to 4 pails full of water. In the long time, if you delay water changes, nitrates will build up in your tank and results could be disastrous!

When I first started my 4footer, I delayed my water changes and in its 5mth, nitrates were like 80-100ppm! Don't let that happen to you.. :pinch:

i don't think there's such a thing as a BEST salt... but many reefers including myself have used coralife salt since the very start.. rather economical and dissolves quickly...

as for water changes, to be perfectly strict no u should not use tap water straight from the tap, but many of us still do...

How much water to change and how often depends on how effective your filtration system is and how heavy is your bio-load...

but bro R.O vry ex leh.... so which is beta? change water using tap water or continue dnt change water.... :unsure:

Bro, if find everything expensive, might as well sell off everything and quit this hobby rite?

Changing water is the most essential part of maintenance.

Either u buy water from LFs or use R.O

U want to use tapwater also can, convert to freshwater tank lor ;)

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

One of the good reccomended salt in the market would be topic marine pro. But it's on the pricey side. Salt should by right be mixed with Ro-Di water and not tap water as it also contains nitrate and silicate. If budget constraint then just areate your tap water overnight before mixing in the salt.

Another alternative is that u just go and buy NSW from lfs. One bag fron Iwarna in Pasir Ris costs only $1. If you have a jerry can they will top it up for $2.

I try to do at least a 10-20% water change weekly for my 2 ft nano and everything is doing fine.

Hope it helps :)

RO/DI might be pricey and it does flush out quite a lot of water

A good recommendation is to get a DI unit

I've been using DI water and you can see the difference

The TDS from tap water is around 55ppm and after going through DI, it is 0 ppm

One of the good reccomended salt in the market would be topic marine pro. But it's on the pricey side. Salt should by right be mixed with Ro-Di water and not tap water as it also contains nitrate and silicate. If budget constraint then just areate your tap water overnight before mixing in the salt.

Another alternative is that u just go and buy NSW from lfs. One bag fron Iwarna in Pasir Ris costs only $1. If you have a jerry can they will top it up for $2.

I try to do at least a 10-20% water change weekly for my 2 ft nano and everything is doing fine.

Hope it helps :)

Hi bro, may I know wats the purpose of aerating the water overnite?

Will it remove the nitrate or unwanted nutrients? Or is it more for removing the chloramine?

Hi bro, may I know wats the purpose of aerating the water overnite?

Will it remove the nitrate or unwanted nutrients? Or is it more for removing the chloramine?

If you are talking about newly mixed salt water then some people aerate it overnight to make sure all the salt gets dissolved.. if not it might burn your LS if you pour undissolved salt into the tank..

If you are talking about just tap water, aeration is only supposed to remove chlorine from the water... IMO no need...

but I use coralife salt which seems to dissolve just fine when I use a powerhead to "stir" the salt.. whole pail of saltwater dissolves in about 5mins...

I second on the periodic water change. But with fresh mix water and not from LFS coz we dont know what disease/parasite is in the LFS water. Normally will mix the salt with filtered water (not RO but through the home filter system, can drink directly) and left for overnight for one day or two to let the salt mix thoroughly in pill only change it.

When change, will sifon out the amount of water prepared then only pump back the new water. Everytime I change for 10 - 20% of water.

Like what other reefer says, water change is the basic yet essential for all marine tank or FW tank as well.