My first 4x2x2.5 marine tank

fishtalk1517

Must look out for this fella. Mine kena stuck on the seio wavemaker and luckily I found out before it turn to juice.

:thanks: Simon for the info. I have total 4 abalones happily munching away algaes. smallest of abt 2 inch and biggest is 3.5 inch :whistle

Some mushrooms to share :pinch:

post-4134-1219761634.jpg

post-4134-1219761642.jpg

post-4134-1219761657.jpg

post-4134-1219761670.jpg

• Replies 3k

Sori to hear abt ur sohal man....... -_-

Hi S.T, where have u guys been ? SRC without u and Bro Lum seems quieter lei. Hungry for more pics from both of u :eyebrow:

As for the sohal, thanks for the condolences. A pity tat he got to go ... :cry2: well, will try another one again if got opportunity :peace:

Bro sorry to hear to ur Sohal tendered his IC. Very stubborn feeder indeed. I have 1 in my tank currently for some 3 weeks already and still not feeding too. Its only occasionally pecking on the red bamboo but getting thinner as days goes by. If it continues think will up the lorry soon too.

Not sure if anyone has success with Sohal can share some pointers. :eyebrow::eyebrow:

Bro sorry to hear to ur Sohal tendered his IC. Very stubborn feeder indeed. I have 1 in my tank currently for some 3 weeks already and still not feeding too. Its only occasionally pecking on the red bamboo but getting thinner as days goes by. If it continues think will up the lorry soon too.

Not sure if anyone has success with Sohal can share some pointers. :eyebrow::eyebrow:

Thanks Bro for the condolences. My Sohal indeed got characters. die die dun wanna eat at all. Not even pecking at the rocks. Tried mysis, artic pods, cyclopeeze, pellets, algae bamboo and seaweed , all failed to tempt him to eat... alas, starved himself to eat....

Waat food have u tried to get him to feed ? I've got a buddy tat bought a PT and a sohal tang at one go and its the first 2 fish to be intro into his tank and starts feeding within a few days later. Guess, presence of other Tangs does effects his appetite too :eyeblur:

Thanks Bro for the condolences. My Sohal indeed got characters. die die dun wanna eat at all. Not even pecking at the rocks. Tried mysis, artic pods, cyclopeeze, pellets, algae bamboo and seaweed , all failed to tempt him to eat... alas, starved himself to eat....

Waat food have u tried to get him to feed ? I've got a buddy tat bought a PT and a sohal tang at one go and its the first 2 fish to be intro into his tank and starts feeding within a few days later. Guess, presence of other Tangs does effects his appetite too :eyeblur:

My last sohal also the same problem. Pecked on the bamboo dun eat other food. After 2-3 weeks up lorry. Current one with me for 4 weeks. Eats like a pig till today. I picked this fish when it first arrived. Immediately tried feeding(Common practice by most reefers). Then I introduced it in my tank with my Kole, Blue, Yellow and purple tang. Thank God all the fishes get along well. Only worry it my PBT, now in QT. not sure will be wrecked by the sohal if introduce to the tank. keeping my fingers cross.

At least ur S.Tang got pecks on the bamboo, unlike mine <_< Well, think it all depends on ur tank habitals, tank size and condition of the tank too. Hope ur Sohal Tang strats feeding on ur pellets etc. :rolleyes: As for ur PBT, its also another Fighter fish, lets hope they dun really entangle into fights with torn fins and injury

Here's a pic of the sunlight shrimp... quite shy and hardly seen :ph34r:

post-4134-1220532595.jpg

Mine surrendered its IC yesterday :cry2::cry2:

Tried all sorts of food too and even went on the extreme of feeding live mysis but to no avail. It was pecking occasionally on red bamboo but it wasnt sufficient to sustain its diet and went thinner and thinner. Alas its sad.

Mine surrendered its IC yesterday :cry2::cry2:

Tried all sorts of food too and even went on the extreme of feeding live mysis but to no avail. It was pecking occasionally on red bamboo but it wasnt sufficient to sustain its diet and went thinner and thinner. Alas its sad.

My condolences to U bro. Guess its not easy to keep Sohal afterall, even thou its known for being an aggressive tang :cry: Its really sad to see them starve to death. I tried to feed 3 times aday to try to get it to feed but still not successful

sad to hear all yr sohals reported to heaven. U all didnt test feed or they ate but after buying...refuse to eat.......

Not at LFS allow u to test feed the fishes. For me, I always go for the fat tummy and fearsome fellow when I go near the fish. If its fearless to my pop up urgly face in front of the tank, then I assume its alright to buy lor :unsure:

yaya....same here....so think it still depends on some luck.....my friend bought 2 and both feeding but still up the lorry.....dont be sad...just try and give more of your loving tender care. Yr sunlight shrimp still ard, that is good....mine when bought got bullied by other shrimps and whacked by my wrasses.....then gone......sighz....nice blue zoas....got frag...do remember to tell me....hehehe. How is your mushroom collection....

Ok will bear u in mind for the blues, jus hoping they grow fast :upsidedown: I've got 2 sunlight shrimps. Think they still ard ba. And hope so tat they dun run into the predator "Mantis" which i still suspect ard in my tank :eyeblur:

Recently water seem to have some ironic imbalance, thus causing some mushies nad yumas to float away and some melted. :pirate: . Planning to do a major overhaul in oct. Gg to replace new sand bed and change some new live rocks and redo the scaping part. This is sure gonna be a major project. I wouldn't wanna go for the overhaul but the koran have leave me no choice. He's the main reasons for it

Oic. Think another gd reason is to track yr mantis shrimp. If you need help, do voice out but i think lots of bros will offer their help also. Hehe. Can have a gathering at yr place...hehehe. All the best. : )

:thanks::thanks: for the thoughts and gesture to help. I've done it solo before and will do it again solo.

Bro, my sohal has tendered his i/c and went up heaven liao :cry::cry2:

Bro, my condolences... :shock::cry:

l have tried sohal twice before. Both bought from Sealife. 1st piece when i saw it, i 'gan zeong' spider, bought without asking for feeding. As expected, refuse to eat and died after few days. Next pic i was mindful, esp tt sohal is not cheap. Uncle fed all the sohals and i picked one tt was most greedy tt ate all the pellets thrown in. After slow acclimatisation, added into my tank and it started eating within 1/2 hr. No other resident tangs dared to challenge him. With me for abt 6mths or so until i decomm and sold to a bro.

My personal take would be best to buy from LFS that test feed pellets for you to see until you are satisfied (it's more worth it to pay a little more for a pellet feeding and stable fish). Though it doesn't guarantee 100% that the fish will sure eat when introduced into a tank (due to many other factors such as tank water parameters, acclimatisation process, resident fish aggression etc), the chances of survival (saving $$ too) are definitely higher.

When i come across pellet feeding and fat sohal, will let you know (in case you still want to try one more time)...

Bro, my condolences... :shock::cry:

l have tried sohal twice before. Both bought from Sealife. 1st piece when i saw it, i 'gan zeong' spider, bought without asking for feeding. As expected, refuse to eat and died after few days. Next pic i was mindful, esp tt sohal is not cheap. Uncle fed all the sohals and i picked one tt was most greedy tt ate all the pellets thrown in. After slow acclimatisation, added into my tank and it started eating within 1/2 hr. No other resident tangs dared to challenge him. With me for abt 6mths or so until i decomm and sold to a bro.

My personal take would be best to buy from LFS that test feed pellets for you to see until you are satisfied (it's more worth it to pay a little more for a pellet feeding and stable fish). Though it doesn't guarantee 100% that the fish will sure eat when introduced into a tank (due to many other factors such as tank water parameters, acclimatisation process, resident fish aggression etc), the chances of survival (saving $$ too) are definitely higher.

When i come across pellet feeding and fat sohal, will let you know (in case you still want to try one more time)...

Bro, quite agreed with ur statement abt getting a "feeding fish" for a better chance of survival in our tank. So wat are u into now ? fowler? care to show ur tank pics here ? :rolleyes:

Recently water seem to have some ironic imbalance, thus causing some mushies nad yumas to float away and some melted. :pirate: . Planning to do a major overhaul in oct. Gg to replace new sand bed and change some new live rocks and redo the scaping part. This is sure gonna be a major project. I wouldn't wanna go for the overhaul but the koran have leave me no choice. He's the main reasons for it

Bro, quite agreed with ur statement abt getting a "feeding fish" for a better chance of survival in our tank. So wat are u into now ? fowler? care to show ur tank pics here ? :rolleyes:

Secret mission...heehee...no lah, just gotten a 2nd hand 3.5ft tank and now in the process of cycling (even though i thrown in aragonite live sand/substrate that they claimed can add fish instantly). Not taking chances...better to let it cycle for a while. And yes, sohal will be in my list but prob limit to 1-2 tangs only due to my small tank. Going fowlr first then see how. Using Want to minimise electrical consumption - so low lighting with fan, and no chiller.

Could it be low pH? i had that prob before and after buffering, then the yumas got stablised.

Overhaul? Be careful not to disturb yr sandbed too suddenly hor --> nitrate spike and lost of nitrifying bacterias. l read somewhere that siphoning of sandbed part by part could be one option and Henry added some comments too. Can't find that thread.

For the koran, can try to trap it mah...

My Ph is at 8.4. For the overhaul, i planned to discard the old sand and replaced with new sand. Think when matured ard 2 yrs and above tends to have some problems here and there. so decided to overhaul the tank :rolleyes: Thanks for the reminder in regards for the nitrate spikes. Plan to get NSW for the tank too.

As for the Koran. aka " plate killer " will be selling off once its apprehend :eyeblur: