possible for a clam

hammy

is it possible for mi to keep clam on that flat piece of rock . height is 1.5ft and i am using 2 x t5 HO. ( 2 x 24 )

daily dosing of kalk and DT.

post-53-1132047506.jpg

hmm its possible but make sure u get clams smaller then 3inches as at that size they rely more on feedings then light. squamosa, derasa and hippopus will do fine under your lightings but small specimens are hard to come by. the next best thing is a maxima. crocrea is a big nono.... after awhile they will brown out and mantles get thinner then die from my experience keeping then unde 4HO t5. if u wana keep croceas must bite the bullet n get mh an chiller :) HTH :peace:

thanks bubble_gum and veliferium for replying...

hmm... clam shipment always come crocreas, anyway i was thinking about max! hee hee...

hunting time . less than 3 inch is a challenge now . :thanks:

hmm its possible but make sure u get clams smaller then 3inches as at that size they rely more on feedings then light. squamosa, derasa and hippopus will do fine under your lightings but small specimens are hard to come by. the next best thing is a maxima. crocrea is a big nono.... after awhile they will brown out and mantles get thinner then die from my experience keeping then unde 4HO t5. if u wana keep croceas must bite the bullet n get mh an chiller :) HTH :peace:

haiz ... actually i gotton T5 because i dun want to have chiller . and the tank is in my room, it's like oven...

haiz , limitation in coral keeping ... anyway softies are quite nice too, cheaper and hardier. of course , LPS and SPS are heaven's gift. mi , only gifted in LPS and softies.

actually the real reason: no money hahaha...

aiyo, jack, when you are ready for sps, i can pass you some frag la... don't have waste $$ to buy them ;):P just between me and you hor :P

anywa, i am waiting for maxima too. anyway, small clam is not easy to keep :)

just between u and mi ?? :paiseh: haha...

thanks man , anyway if i happan to see maxima, i will inform u , do tell mi too, if u happan to spot one .

thanks

haiz ... actually i gotton T5 because i dun want to have chiller . and the tank is in my room, it's like oven...

haiz , limitation in coral keeping ... anyway softies are quite nice too, cheaper and hardier. of course , LPS and SPS are heaven's gift. mi , only gifted in LPS and softies.

T5 runs cooler then MH....but it doesn't mean you can get away without a chiller hor....

running an an fan to maintain the temp at 28 degree celcius .

maybe it's time to buy a chiller yeah !

thanks tineng!

bro money has always been an isuue for refers who are still studying :P trust me i noe cos i m one. i had almost the same set up as u. t5s w/o chiller n no sump too.

i kept 2 croceas and after 6months their colour started to fade and their tissue started to thin. maybe you could try n read at www.clamsdirect.com i fould out that sqamosas and derasas are best for anythng less than mh but the downsize is they get really big and suck ur kh like mad :lol::pinch: i learnt alot about clams from that website. gd info :)

bro money has always been an isuue for refers who are still studying :P trust me i noe cos i m one. i had almost the same set up as u. t5s w/o chiller n no sump too.

i kept 2 croceas and after 6months their colour started to fade and their tissue started to thin. maybe you could try n read at www.clamsdirect.com i fould out that sqamosas and derasas are best for anythng less than mh but the downsize is they get really big and suck ur kh like mad :lol::pinch: i learnt alot about clams from that website. gd info :)

haha... well ... and in it and i am stuck with reef . but guess what , i am happy. hee hee..

enjoy reefing . :peace:

PR got a few tiny ones.

Really tiny - bout 2-3'

Yap they've both Maximas and Crocea... px wise er to me its ok lar...

“Frogs have it easy, they can eat what bugs them”

"If you have no critics you'll likely have no success."

- Malcolm X

Glory Glory Man Utd!

DeZ aka Desmond