Hailea Chillers

ZeRoC00l

Anyone using the above chiller? ;)

Recently got 1, the small one for my 2.5 feet tank w/ DIY overflow and slump.. Dun seem to be powerful enough....

Only manage a 27 degrees for most of the day till abt 4pm, then reach 28 degrees.. [Ops... I'm running a MH and a 18W actinic ]

It's on almost the WHOLE day and nite!!! :(

Can someone recommend a more powerful yet not too $$$ one?

Thank you

hi

btw which model you using ....

i just got the 880 model for my 3x 2 x2 tank ... a bit ks .... but it`s working fine ..... lighting includes 150w mh and 2 x 40 w actnic .... 1 ehiem 1060 pump and 2 other pump in the sump and a circulating pump in the tank ....

temp set at 26 .... needs about 5-7 mins to cool the water to 26C ... takes about an hour for the temp to rise to 27.2 with all the lights on ... and it repeats itself .... btw , the temp cutoff is set at 1 C only ... anyone knows how to set it to 2 C???

nothing on the manual for that ....

I got the smallest model. [on the website]

Made a silly mistake. thought tt my 2.5 feet tank is small do dun need a big one. :(

Creetin: The small one is $480

big on $680

Teco $1K +

Eido small $800+

big $1K++

Electric bill calculating at $0.1601/kwh

It's definate BETTER to ge t a bigger sized one. B)

more cost effective in the long run

hi Zerocool, thanks for your info! hmmm sounds like teco and eido are expensive hor? :o

but u sure about the elect bill? that sounds cheaper than i tot! :rolleyes: (tempted liao)

but the mthly elect bill corresponds to the water volume of the tank right? ie. if bigger tank = more water volume = more expensive...

:blink: eh, just an afterthought: why put chiller in FW? u could probably do better wif both chillers on the SW! :lol::lol::lol:

Get Paid To Read Emails. Free To Join Now!

http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=okdk11

hi Zerocool, thanks for your info! hmmm sounds like teco and eido are expensive hor?  :o

but u sure about the elect bill? that sounds cheaper than i tot!  :rolleyes: (tempted liao)

but the mthly elect bill corresponds to the water volume of the tank right? ie. if bigger tank = more water volume = more expensive...

:blink: eh, just an afterthought: why put chiller in FW? u could probably do better wif both chillers on the SW!  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:

Actually, Eido / Teco are the more commonly priced chillers

Hailea is the weird one.

The electric bill is based on the bill my father gets, maybe cheaper for HDB

Electric bill depends on how long the chiller runs

eg

600W chiller

run 2hr a day [on off on off] assuming the maximum total time

assume a mth 30days

cost per kwh = $0.1601 [my last bill]

Cost = 0.6 * 2 * 30 * 0.1601 ~ $5.76

**[maybe someone can give a more accurate chiller running time]

while

150W chiller

run 20hr a day [my tank currently]

assume a mth 30days

cost per kwh = $0.1601 [my last bill]

Cost = 0.15 * 20 * 30 * 0.1601 ~ $14.40

Chiller for FW cos w/o chiller my tank will be 31degrees! My plants will all die.

Click here:

Planted tank

Ic... the 600w is bigger one right? sounds kinda ex to me to run...based on that, a 20 hour run would cost $57 per mth!

btw wheres that hailea website? issit a taiwan brand?

How about going into Malaysia to get the chiller? cheaper or not? :lol:

With a 600W chiller very UNLIKELY to run 20hr... unless you going for 23degrees and lower.... <_<

I just give a rough gauge

I'm not sure what's the bigger sized one, but the small one is only 150W.... way too small for my 2.5 feet tank with 2 feet slump and 6" DSB