White Wine

Rocks

Hi

I am thinking of getting white wine for my yearly christmas gathering with friends. Not too sure which brand is good and whether they are expensive or not.

Anyone here has good experience with white wine can provide some recommendation please?

CHEERS!

Rocks

• Replies 62

Believe its not for serious drinking....

Any of the New World wines will be ok...try South African...between i will recommend Red Wine rather than white for the occassion, more choice of combi with foods.

German Riesling and Californian Chardonnay are my favourites.

Believe its not for serious drinking....

Any of the New World wines will be ok...try South African...between i will recommend Red Wine rather than white for the occassion, more choice of combi with foods.

Not for serious drinking but hoping to start with some mid-high quality white wine brand so that the good experience would encourage more casual drinking.. ;)

We are more to white meat than red as such I guess white wine is suitable ?

Red wine i have tried some how can't used to the taste.. :(

CHEERS!

Best whites IMO are the german whites. But hard to get in Singapore, try wine arcade at mackenzie road... they sometimes do bring in german whites like egon muller kabinett and dr buklin wolf.

post-54-1107833267.gif

"Ah, Blackadder. Started talking to yourself, I see."

"Yes...it's the only way I can be assured of intelligent conversation."

- Melchett and Edmund Blackadder

Best whites IMO are the german whites. But hard to get in Singapore, try wine arcade at mackenzie road... they sometimes do bring in german whites like egon muller kabinett and dr buklin wolf.

thank you. noted. maybe I should visit the wine arcade but a little concern walking in a wine arcade without any wine knowledge would make a fool out of myself when the staff start talking about wine stuff... :lol::lol:

The staff there is friendly, just ask for a recommendation based on what taste you like and of course budget...lol

Riesling is a grape variety in germany.... very rich and aromatic...best get 1996 riesling... that year's weather is great for the grapes.

As for cali wines.... err... no comments.... ick... lol

post-54-1107833267.gif

The staff there is friendly, just ask for a recommendation based on what taste you like and of course budget...lol

Riesling is a grape variety in germany.... very rich and aromatic...best get 1996 riesling... that year's weather is great for the grapes.

As for cali wines.... err... no comments.... ick... lol

thank you. noted.

Are the 2 expensive? I am quiet ignorance in wine, so mind telling me what make these 2 stand out from the rest you have tasted?

CHEERS!

The German tend to be more pricey as compared to the Californian.

Riesling is known to be Dry and Fruity while the Chardonnay are famous for Oaky and Flowery.

HTH ;)

Riesling can go well with most Asian food such as curry and roast duck while the Chardonnay goes better with Salmon.

Whatever it is, buy those that you like not what the Vine Card says. As taste are subjective.

HTH ;)

The German tend to be more pricey as compared to the Californian.

Riesling is known to be Dry and Fruity while the Chardonnay are famous for Oaky and Flowery.

HTH ;)

Hey Joseph, didn't know you like german whites as well.... got time go eat oysters at ban chuan park leh.... i bring my german white... that restaurant dont serve german white.... ;)

post-54-1107833267.gif

Hey Joseph, didn't know you like german whites as well.... got time go eat oysters at ban chuan park leh.... i bring my german white... that restaurant dont serve german white.... ;)

Yum yum bro!

Would loves to join you. ;)

Will try to bring my collection too. ;)

try some frm aus or nz lah... usually start cheaper n then u can work yr way up to the more expensive ones.... sauvignon blanc -cloudy bay ( abit pricey as famous) but can get some other labels within the same marlborough area... australian chardonnay oso gd .

Browse thru the 2 online wine shops frm aus for ref lah

http://www.auswine.com.au/

i've been importing frm them since around 1994. gd service with door to door delivery svc.

http://www.nicks.com.au/index.aspx?

one gd frd of mine buys frm them and no complaints as well after so many yrs

hope these help

try some frm aus or nz lah... usually start cheaper n then u can work yr way up to the more expensive ones.... sauvignon blanc -cloudy bay ( abit pricey as famous) but can get some other labels within the same marlborough area... australian chardonnay oso gd .

Browse thru the 2 online wine shops frm aus for ref lah

http://www.auswine.com.au/

i've been importing frm them since around 1994. gd service with door to door delivery svc.

http://www.nicks.com.au/index.aspx?

one gd frd of mine buys frm them and no complaints as well after so many yrs

hope these help

Sauvignon blanc from down-under is a good choice for people who just started to learn about wine. And its cheap and easily available. Good choice Dazza ;)

Try those from Napa Valley ... might change your opinion ;)

Went there during my last trip! Fantastic wines selections I must say.

But just that some seasoned wine drinkers prefers the traditional way of making wines rather than depending on modern technology. ;)

For me, I am open for it as long as it doesn't taste like vinegar. :lol:

German Riesling and Californian Chardonnay are my favourites.

I have to agree with Gouldian here. German Riesling is very refreshing and a little sweet.

From my experience, most ladies and light-hearted drinkers with enjoy this wine as its not too heavy on the taste.

Hugel Riesling is affordable at approx $35 plus.

Other than that, Asti and Late harvests are all sweeter white wines.

Asti Spumante! Italian's answers to the Champagne. Make sure to serve it will chocolates and strawberries. :yeah:

Cali reds are ok, but the whites is subjective according to each other's taste, it just taste 'soapy' to me. I'm more used to euro wines as it's one of the cheapest achohol around when I was UK.

As for the best kind of wine in the world.... I still prefer to get back to my roots

post-11-1131678599.jpg

post-54-1107833267.gif