SRC Member ervine Posted November 1, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted November 1, 2005 Hi guys, Thinking of getting a new phone and a PDA to get my life more organised and was thinking of the O2 XDA II mini.. but not sure if it's worth it.. Or should I stick to my current phone and get a PDA instead? Thinking of pocketPC coz got handwriting recognition (hate Palm's graphitte)... any recommendations? Thanks in advance.. Erv. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted November 1, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted November 1, 2005 if u SMS often, it's not a SMS friendly phone. other than that i find it ok. sold off mine and bought a N70 instead Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted November 1, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 1, 2005 yeah kind hard to press the keypad right? Or rather there is no keypad therefore hard? How abt the O2 xda phone instead? Or that's too un-pda already? Coz i need the calendar stuff for the PDA more than I need a new phone... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member rickster88888 Posted November 1, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted November 1, 2005 Bro you can find a lot of info at www.ppcsg.com Generally the review for the mini is quite good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted November 1, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted November 1, 2005 big kahuna did post a review once in kopitiam when it first launched..... maybe u can do a search on it.... Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kaykay Posted November 2, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted November 2, 2005 Currently using the O2 Xphone... Have to warn you that it thinks more like a PC than a phone. Meaning that navigation on the phone is really like navigating in a PC. The usual user-friendliness you'd find in a Nokia / Sony Ericsson will not be found in this supossedly "smart" phone. But I love the look of the phone.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member wil_lee76 Posted November 2, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted November 2, 2005 personally im using the xdaIIs. Personal comments: Can retrieve emails anywhere. Can surf SRC anytime outside. Can play MP3 music Can play movies All in one lah! I dun like it..... too big for a phone. Cannot put in the pocket. Must put in bag O2 mini...well...too girlish for me! And compared to the processor speed...xdaIIs still the fastest and the most important, the value is still there compared to XDAmini..why the price drop so much ever since it launched? Compared to XDA II series? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted November 2, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 2, 2005 personally im using the xdaIIs.Personal comments: Can retrieve emails anywhere. Can surf SRC anytime outside. Can play MP3 music Can play movies All in one lah! I dun like it..... too big for a phone. Cannot put in the pocket. Must put in bag O2 mini...well...too girlish for me! And compared to the processor speed...xdaIIs still the fastest and the most important, the value is still there compared to XDAmini..why the price drop so much ever since it launched? Compared to XDA II series? yeah but pricing beyond reach also... hahaa.. and the size... omg... the size... I played with a 02mini today.. not too bad I must say, i thought it would be worse.. and I really love the handwriting recognition, it beats palm's grapitte hands down!! How abt pocketPCs? I considering just like getting a pocketPC instead and use both seperately... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted November 2, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 2, 2005 Ooo.. i just had a look at the reviews for the acer N50.. looks cool... and affordable too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Rocky99 Posted November 2, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted November 2, 2005 wait for xda atom... better screen, fm radio, wifi, etc etc. http://www.ppcsg.com/index.php?showtopic=59657 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted November 2, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 2, 2005 wait for xda atom... better screen, fm radio, wifi, etc etc. http://www.ppcsg.com/index.php?showtopic=59657 yeah but also more ex... shucks I think i just going to settle for a normal PDA... got quite a few people tell me not to mix the 2.. i.e. phone + pda Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted November 3, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted November 3, 2005 OK I decided to get the AC ER n50 In the end because I heard several bad things about PDA phones. In fact I am using it to post this reply!! Thanks for the linK to the PDA forum managed to get an excellent deal for my PDA there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...