Golden Maroon Clown

I've got a 3-4" GMC which I have kept for about 4mths in my 4ft tank. I am thinking of getting another GMC as a mate. Do you think that's advisable? I know GMC are aggressive clowns, therefore I do not dare to purchase other species of clowns, fear of the 2 species fighting till death.

For those who think that purchasing another GMC is safe (i.e. my current GMC will not fight with the new GMC till death), then what are the procedures I should take when introducing the new GMC?

Should I buy a smaller GMC (i.e. smaller than 3-4")?

Thanks heaps! :)

Matchmaking for Maroon Clowns can be quite difficult.. Especially Golden Stripes.. That's one reason why a pair of GS Maroon can be sold at quite a nice price..

If you think the current one you have is a male, then buy a bigger maroon as its mate..

If you think the current one you have is a female, then buy a smaller one..

But then again, if you buy the clown and they fight, you'll be stuck with two GS maroons that are cannot be in the same tank..

What is the size of your GSMC??If it is about 2 inches and above than can say female alreadi!!So just get one that is about 1 inch and smaller!!it is not so difficult to pair them... when ou already have one female...Just take it nice and slow...

I don't agree with this..

Clowns are ?sexual.. dunno the word..

that means they change ###### to suit the other party.. I dun agree with the saying that it's definitely a female if 2 inch and above.. no offence here bro :peace:

I have a GM now abt 1.5inch. Once bought a 1inch and a 2.5inch on the same day and tried pairing them with my 1.5 one at a time. Both failed, the 1.5 attacked the 1.. and when i take out the 1 and put in 2.5, 2.5 bully 1.5..

In the end sold off both of them

IMO, if u really really want to pair.. can put in one abt slightly different in size.

Put into main tank but separated and observe whether there's much sign of aggressiveness..

But even then no guarantees ;)

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef

I used to have a pair of maroon clowns. I got a big one from a shop and another smaller one from another shop. Dropped the 2 into the same 2 feet tank, and they started to check each other out.

The seem to "talk", but after a while, it seems like the smaller one realized that the bigger one is the boss, and it is at its mercy. There never fought after that, just "talking" to each other. Sometimes they do peck on each others' cheek.

The bigger one is at least 1.5 cm longer than the smaller one, so I guess the smaller one realized that he is no match for her; the bigger one knows that he is no match for her as well, so no point fighting. The lived happily in the same anemone until today the big one died, due to some odd disease. :(

The small one is just fine now.

So, try to get different sized maroons. It really helps.

(~ cci[RR]us ~)
A pair of Nemos :: Deep Sand Bed
Solite 2x24W T5 :: Prizm Skimmer with Overflow attachment

get a realli small GMC... the great difference in size will the newcomer noe that ur existing one is the more dominant clown... in this way, they will change into thier perspective male/female sexes....

if u wanna be on the safe side, use a transparent container those kind with suckers to put the newcomer in it.... give them time to suit n get used to each other... when u find that the frequency of the bigger one chiongin towards the smaller one ceases, u may try releasin the newcomer into the main stream.... or u can consider using another container/ other structure whereby the openin is big enuff for the newcomer to swim in n hide but too small for the existin one to reach the newcomer... once their relationship stabilises, the newcomer will automatically abandon the hideout then....

it is not 100% but at least it pays to be more careful ;)

Wow, I even forget I started this thread! hehe

But I thank everyone for their contributions! :):peace:

PerculaClownfish: As stated in my very first post, my GMC is about 3-4".

andylee: I think the word you're looking for is "hermaphrodites", where it is the ability to change ######.

cci[RR]us: Wow! Did your GMC ever spawn?

Clownfish: Yeah, I think I'll stick on the safe side and segregate the new, smaller GMC in a Quarantine tank, allowing both GMC to acclimatize and get used to each other. The last thing I want is one GMC dying from the 'experiment'. :( But I am really intrigued with your 2nd idea, about having a container with an exit small enough for the smaller GMC to seek refuge if the need arises. :)

Mine didn't spawn because the bigger clown developed a some weird disease while I was busy with my exams, and when I noticed the problem, it was already too late. :( I should be getting him another mate this weekend. :)

(~ cci[RR]us ~)
A pair of Nemos :: Deep Sand Bed
Solite 2x24W T5 :: Prizm Skimmer with Overflow attachment

ozy: Thanks for the link! ;) I've read your pointers in that link, however, I already have an existing GMC in my tank. Is it safe to introduce another one? When I first bought my GMC, I did not think about pairing it. But after 3 months+, I thought it'd be nice if it had a mate. :)

cci[RR]us: I hope your existing GMC will get along with its new mate! :):peace:

Thinking of letting go mine. You wanna adopt :D Not too sure if its a GMC. You should have seen it at my place. She's with Yellow strip and was sharing the anemone with the smaller white strip maroon but White strip died liao. Not too sure what happen. :(

ozy: Thanks for the link! ;) I've read your pointers in that link, however, I already have an existing GMC in my tank. Is it safe to introduce another one? When I first bought my GMC, I did not think about pairing it. But after 3 months+, I thought it'd be nice if it had a mate. :)

cci[RR]us: I hope your existing GMC will get along with its new mate! :):peace:

You can try to get a smaller specimen, but you will get a better chance if it is from a new shipment.

Most LFS keeps Golden maroon separate. If you get a specimen that has been in the shop for a while, it may have sexually morphed to a female due to lack of dominant clowns around. If the specimen is new, chances are that it is still a drone and will accept the dominant female more readily. but of course, there are no guarantee.

Hope this helps.

I don't agree with this..

Clowns are ?sexual.. dunno the word..

that means they change ###### to suit the other party.. I dun agree with the saying that it's definitely a female if 2 inch and above.. no offence here bro :peace:

I have a GM now abt 1.5inch. Once bought a 1inch and a 2.5inch on the same day and tried pairing them with my 1.5 one at a time. Both failed, the 1.5 attacked the 1.. and when i take out the 1 and put in 2.5, 2.5 bully 1.5..

In the end sold off both of them

IMO, if u really really want to pair.. can put in one abt slightly different in size.

Put into main tank but separated and observe whether there's much sign of aggressiveness..

But even then no guarantees ;)

hey bro andy,

Your pair of GMC doing fine until yesterday i bought a big nemone for them tot they must be dum happy but in the end they started to fight against laaaaa. So in the end winner take all n the loser have to sleep on the edge lor.........sian leh :cry2:

Sorry angel for hijacting your thread............ :paiseh:

Or i can ofter to u to try to mate my ???? :angel:

size r 1 n 1.5in............. :thanks:

Clowns are able to change ONLY from juv.(no gender) to male/female, OR male to female.

Clownfishes CANNOT change from a dominant female to a male.

Is that true? I just watched a documentary on National Geographic a few days ago and it showed that if the dominant male or female in the community dies, one of the other clownfishes will morph and take over the dominant male or female role. :unsure:

What i understand is that when a dominant female dies, the dominant male will morph into female and continue the legacy

Project R.E.

Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping

Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments)

Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w

Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett

Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C)

Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr)

Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty)

Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller)

Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto

Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr

Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box

Previously:

Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef