SRC Member Flame-Tail Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 HI all, I recently acquired a blue-legged hermit crab and another red-legged one.. Heard they are a good cleanup crew. Just want to know if they are reefsafe. Please share your opinions. Now it's in a quarrantine box. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fishtalk1517 Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 Does hermit crab topples corals and rocks when they climbs around like turbo snails ? Quote A person, himself can be his own Lawyer, but he can never be his own Judge ........ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cityofangels Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 Hey Bro, this is a good link for identifying crabs & hermit crabs. You can check whether your crabs are reef-safe. Crabs & Hermit Crabs fishtalk1517: Got to make sure your corals & rocks are stacked properly. These guys are quite tiny, so toppling corals/rocks may be quite a feat for them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Flame-Tail Posted October 20, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 Hey Bro, this is a good link for identifying crabs & hermit crabs. You can check whether your crabs are reef-safe. Crabs & Hermit Crabs fishtalk1517: Got to make sure your corals & rocks are stacked properly. These guys are quite tiny, so toppling corals/rocks may be quite a feat for them. My crabby quite big. Anyway if topple .Give me a chance to spend time on my favourite pastime... RESCAPE Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member fishtalk1517 Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 My crabby quite big. Anyway if topple .Give me a chance to spend time on my favourite pastime... RESCAPE Then come scape my tank lah..... Quote A person, himself can be his own Lawyer, but he can never be his own Judge ........ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nakazoru Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 HI all, I recently acquired a blue-legged hermit crab and another red-legged one.. Heard they are a good cleanup crew. Just want to know if they are reefsafe. Please share your opinions. Now it's in a quarrantine box. Mine dun really cleanup anything. Dun clean algae either... He only kill my tube worm.... Quote Equipment: 30G Corner Tank with 10G Sump, 2 x 24W artinic T5, 1 x 24W 10K, 1x 24W 20K, 3" Grade 0 sand & Live rocks, Activated Carbon, Bio-home, 2 x Seio M620, Hailea 1/2HP Chiller, Redsea Pro Skimmer Live Stock: Turbo Snail x 1, Green Mandarin Dragonet X 2, Blue Tang X 2, True percular x 2, 1 x Algae Bleenie, Clarke clown x 2 Reef: 1 x 2" Blue maxima, Red/Brown/Purple Mushroom (Discosoma), Pink Ricordea yuma, A little colony Brown/Green common Zoanthus, Red/Pink/Green US Zoanthus, Eagle-eye Zoathus, 14 Branch Goniopora Pandoraensis, 1 Starburst Polyps, 3 + 2 Branch Frogspawn, 4 Blasto, palythoa, Cheato RIPs (Since June 2005): 1. Sabae clown (KO by Clarke clown) 2. 1 branch melted frogspawn 4 branch 3. Golden maxima (Ripe the base off rock by me) 4. Algae Bleenie x 2 (Starvation) 5. Blue Maxima x 1, 2 x Maxima, 1 x frogspawn, rics (Overtemp...) Old 30G Corner Tank. Restarted 30G Corner Tank. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member mUAr_cHEe Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 think it was discussed b4.... i think not reef safe.... Quote *translated from Hokkien* "If say no bang wall, this idiot will never ripen" - Mr Quah Siew Kow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cdckjn Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 In my opinion and my research, the blue-legged hermit crab is reef-safe, while the red-legged ones will tend to attacka nd eat up snails for their shell, sometimes for fun (just in case they need the shell). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member spaceman Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 not really useful blue hermit. my hermit ignore hair algae and eat coralline?!?!?!! anyway i perfer sally light foot crab! aggressive algae muncher! but short life span?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cityofangels Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 Mine dun really cleanup anything. Dun clean algae either... He only kill my tube worm.... You may have gotten a Common Hermit Crab, which is not reef-safe. They are known to eat tube-worms. For general comparison between the red species of hermit crabs, the red hermit crabs with hairy legs are not reef-safe, whereas the red ones with no hairy legs are generally reef-safe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
veliferium Posted October 20, 2005 Share Posted October 20, 2005 I wonder why an electric blue hermit is so expensive.... Anyone noes why?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ervine Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 anyway i perfer sally light foot crab! aggressive algae muncher! but short life span?? Huh my sally light foot is super shy.. in fact I don't even know if it is still around or not coz I hardly see it! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cityofangels Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 I wonder why an electric blue hermit is so expensive.... Anyone noes why?? Just for interest sake, how much is an electric blue hermit? I have never inquired about the price at a LFS. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Kelmen Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 it can be expensive if its source from like Carribean or far-faraway place. But electric blue-leg hermit also can be source from nearby water (Indo), should be normal pricing. chk the source. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
veliferium Posted October 20, 2005 Share Posted October 20, 2005 The uncle from rb quoted me 25 bucks for an electric blue-leg hermit Picture here Electric blue hermit Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kelstorm Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 For general comparison between the red species of hermit crabs, the red hermit crabs with hairy legs are not reef-safe, whereas the red ones with no hairy legs are generally reef-safe. i have hairy legs too.. so, i'm not reef-safe too?? Quote Let us work together to preserve the world for our children to inherit by being responsible to our surroundings. Take nothing but pictures, leave nothing but footprints, bubbles and memories. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted October 20, 2005 Share Posted October 20, 2005 The uncle from rb quoted me 25 bucks for an electric blue-leg hermit Picture here Electric blue hermit Are you sure it's the same one? Those were on sale earlier this year for only $6-$8. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cowbox Posted October 20, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2005 25 Bucks??!!! Think u've been scammed if u bought it. At PR its only sold for 4 hehe I have about 4 of this little fellows, and they are rather hard working too! My tank got no sight of hairy algae , however think they eat alot of coraline algae too, coz i dont have much Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cityofangels Posted October 21, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2005 i have hairy legs too.. so, i'm not reef-safe too?? hahahaha! In that case, then I think all guys are not reef-safe already! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
veliferium Posted October 21, 2005 Share Posted October 21, 2005 25 Bucks??!!!Think u've been scammed if u bought it. At PR its only sold for 4 hehe I have about 4 of this little fellows, and they are rather hard working too! My tank got no sight of hairy algae , however think they eat alot of coraline algae too, coz i dont have much No i didnt bought it.. Hmm PR has them...MAybe i shld go check it out... THks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Flame-Tail Posted October 21, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2005 Then come scape my tank lah..... Now who is the pirate... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Flame-Tail Posted October 21, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2005 The uncle from rb quoted me 25 bucks for an electric blue-leg hermit Picture here Electric blue hermit That description fits my crab..Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member May&Bruce Posted October 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2005 wow, ah beng at pasir ris sells me electric blues for only $5 each Quote Real reefs don't have glass bottoms....(...think about it) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Flame-Tail Posted October 25, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2005 wow, ah beng at pasir ris sells me electric blues for only $5 each That's cheap.Really are cute little buggers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Flame-Tail Posted October 25, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2005 hahahaha! In that case, then I think all guys are not reef-safe already! I've seen some guys without leg hair..So I guess they're safe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...