Cleaner shrimp

marble

Hi bro n sis....

Can anyone explain to me y???

Long long bef in abt 2mths ago put one CS in my stdyby tank..Aft one mth,put another smaller CS in...They then live happily everaft without fighting...

Last wk,found tat e bigger CS is preg as i can c green color eggs on its undside.So i was thinking,wow im so lucky to b able to pair up a CS n tis bigger cs is a female n e smaller one is a male.

But yest,I was shock to find tat e smaller CS seems to b preg oso...I can c it carrying some white color stuff on its underside....

Can anyone explain to me y???R they both preg b4 i bought them home??Or is e male helping e female to carry e "extra" eggs???Or r they "Gays"??kekkeeke

hmmmmmm <_<

According to my some "hearing", cleaner shrimps can be kind of "unisex". Mean it dont need opposite ###### to reproduce.

There's a scientific term for this stuff, dunno what.

So, you can't really say your CS gonna be mama, a papa CS also can pregnant.

So, forget about ###### in CS, probably no such thing.

According to my some "hearing", cleaner shrimps can be kind of "unisex". Mean it dont need opposite ###### to reproduce.

oic...so they can jzt get preg anytime they wan than???kekeke...

Mayb e small CS get preg tog jzt to accompany her..kekekeke

tks for e info....

I have kept 2 cleaner shrimps for almost 3 months liao, but never once have either of them gotten pregnant... :unsure:

So i guess there might be something more to it... maybe they do have different sexes after all..

Funny thing is my main tank got 4 CS for more then half ayr liao all not preg...

Onli tis 2 CS in my stdby tank r preg...They r in there for e most 2mths onli leh...

hmm..mayb they need a peaceful environment to get preg cos for e pass 1mth no fishes under QT.Think bec of tat they r free to find time to "......" n get preg..kekke

The scientific term is Protandric Simultaneous Hermaphroditism (PSH). It's common to all Lysmata species but rare in other shrimps. This means that the shrimp is born as a male and upon reaching maturity, functions both as a male and a female. However they cannot self fertilize. Thus any 2 individuals can pair up and mate.

Cleaner shrimp are relatively to raise in the beginning on Artemia. It's only during later stages that you get problems such as alternative diets and keeping dead food items suspended.