SRC Member nemokit Posted September 27, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 Hello Reefers, I would like to replace my current 3ft flo tube to a new lighting system for my new 4ft x 2ft x 2.5ft(tall) marine tank, corals + fishes. Budget is around $300 (Errr...is it kinda little?) I am thinking of MH Lights + some Blue Artic T5 light with timer control... Any advices like what brand and model, or maybe what kind of setup I should consider? Really appreciates... Thanks in advace. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tineng Posted September 27, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 errrr.its a bit too little......, this kind of buget not enough to get you enough lights from buying new, you might have to wait around Palsar malum for a deal to come along....ie, you can only based your choice on what availalbe in buy/sell... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted September 27, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 with this kind of budget maybe u can shop ard for a set of 4 T5s to start with lah...... u can probably get a new set for ard 350-400....... Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nemokit Posted September 27, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 I see.... roughly how much should I prepare for a mid range? Need to start saving again liao... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Kelmen Posted September 27, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 T5 should be good enough, you can buy 2nd hand ballast + reflector + casing\retrofit. Recommend you buy new bulbs. MH is no cheap, and getting cheap stuff may as well forget them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nemokit Posted September 27, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 Just got a reality smack today... the MH lightings are so expensive... I guess have to consider for an alternative... either T5 or LEDs... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted September 27, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 start off with t5s lah.... mh is best but then again more $$$ will be needed for chiller as well.... oso pl do not confuse t5 with led as i saw u said t5 or led... they r different... led cannot replace t5s Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member woonming Posted September 27, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 You could contact Bio Ocean Aquarix for their MACRO T5-HO units. If i am not wrong they have 2 tubes, 4 tubes, 6 tubes lighting desgin. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member riot Posted September 27, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 27, 2005 You are in luck. There is a 2X250W MH with 4 X PL MH set available from a reputable reefer. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...opic=39218&st=0 For $300, it is a steal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nemokit Posted September 28, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2005 Wah!! Will PM him now... Thanks bro! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member riot Posted September 28, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2005 No prob.You will be surprised by deals you can get from the club. I see HS skimmers for $300++, etc. Really can save money. But of course, use discretion with second hand items lah. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...