• Replies 173

sigh..it is rather a depressing week...

my tank got infested with the stupid white itch..

and it is starting to multiply like no ones buisness...

My achilles and powder blue are its victim..

sigh..

now my powder brown is starting to look unhealthy

feel like giving up soon :(

bro,

take it easy...its part of the hobby. Take it as a challenge. Don't feel dishearted, morever now it's more challenging as you got to overcome 2 problems!

What you can do now, remove all the fishes from the main tank and isolate them in Q. tank. Start treating them with Hypo etc. Some reefers uses copper but im not sure hows that done. Maybe can seek advises from others.

If you cannot take it now, i cannot imagine next time when another problems comes again...will u be brave enuff to face it or run away...not only in reefing...but for your future!

hope these will helps!

Alamak, feel sorry for you. Just hang on in there and dont give up yah? =)

Well, ich maybe due to stress ich too. Go pay attention to your tangs see who kanna bullied often, most likely the kanna bullied most one is the evil bugger.

Well, it's jsut a suggestion. Hope it helps for you =)

If you QT your fishes properly and ensure no ich gets introduce into your tank via new fishes then even if the fishes how stressed also won't get ich.

Doesn't matter if the ich gets bully or not. The thing is that too many new reefers are lead to believe that when you buy the fish and you don't see white spots on the fish then it is ich free. They would feel safe to throw add the fish directly into the tank and later cause massive ich outbreak in the tank.

Bro dont worry.

I kanna the same thing too.

Heres wat i did.

Get a QT. Get all fishes out and into the QT. DOse medication in QT. Leave tank fishless.

COming to 2 mths liao... cannot TAHAN ANYMORE!!!! So these few weeks me have been upgrading my systems, corals and did bought new fishes but place them in QT too.

Hard lesson i've learnt. All fishes must be QT for min. 2-3 weeks no matter how healthy they look when u bought them... Be safe then sorry bro.

A tip for you:

Do not keep tangs in small QTs because they'll get even more stressed and like humans, lower immunity would cause the ich to worsen ;)

A tip for you:

Do not keep tangs in small QTs because they'll get even more stressed and like humans, lower immunity would cause the ich to worsen ;)

About 2ft is a nice size. ;)

I remember there was a reefer last time who got a 4 footer to quarantine tangs :lol:

yes..i did quarantine my fish...

all fish i quarantine for at least 2weeks with medication before placing them in the main tank...

the pioneer fishes are still looking great as normal..

except for my last fish...Powder Brown Tang..

guess its gonna go next...

sighs..

4 weeks is much better.

I prefer hypo. Copper might be too harsh on an Tang.

I do fresh water dip (~5-10 mins) before QT for 4 weeks and then fresh water dip again before introducing to display tank.

What is a fresh water dip? you mean that helps!? wah!

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

What is a fresh water dip? you mean that helps!? wah!

In my opinion, shouldnt do fresh water dip just before adding into the new tank.

The fish will be stress enough in a new environment. The fresh water dip will increase the stress. If there are any ich in the main tank, the fish will definitely get it with the double stress.

dunno...i had done FW dip before, and the results is fairly good...however, no point doing FW if you are going to put the fish straigh in to the main tank with iche.....the stress is going to kill it....

key thing for FW dip.....make sure the PH and temp is as close to its destination QT tank as possible....

one curious part on FW dip,

temp, we can control to be similar

pH??? isnt the QT almost the same as that of the main tank, which means the pH should be ard 8-8.3 which FW is ard 7?? how to make it as close?? do u mean to dip in "FW" which pH is ard 7.5?

bro, dun do anything foolish like giving upz!!

anyway, i know u wont do that! Take it easy...my advice to you...stock up really slow and easy...dun rush things...

hope these helps!

regs,

wil

all say the same thing..lol

stock up slowly..

well..it seems like i have stock up too fast..

but actually not..its just that i posted all once together so it seems like i just dumped in all...

i wont give up..

ill be back with another tank..

goin to kinda neglet this tank for awhile..till i get a new tank with internal overflow..the DIY overflow is pretty ineffecient..