SRC Member akahoshi Posted September 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 23, 2005 Hi all, Is it true that AquaPharm's Pro Series Cure Ich is reef-safe and invertebrate-safe? Has anyone tried it before? This description has been copied and paste here from aquapharmlabs.com - Pro Series Cure Ich™ safe for corals and invertebrates is a scientifically formulated medication for the control of marine ich (white spot). It contains no copper and it is safe for corals, invertebrates and delicate fish and will not damage the biological filter. Cure Ich™ also eliminates the free swimming parasites that feed on the fish and end up leaving an open wound which eventually cause a bacterial infection. Symptoms may include any white spots, body fungus, visible sores or wounds, discoloration, fish rubbing against objects, loss of appetite and increased respiration. Cure Ich™ is also a treatment of Velvet, Coral fish disease (Oodinium), Slimy skin disease (Brooklynella), Fin and tail rot, Mouth fungus (Flexibacter Columnaris). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
t&t3ft Posted September 23, 2005 Share Posted September 23, 2005 probably the answer is to try it out . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted September 24, 2005 Share Posted September 24, 2005 When it says reef-safe means it doesn't work and reefers keep trying them and doesn't work at all. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36549 Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hammy Posted September 25, 2005 Share Posted September 25, 2005 personally after using it , i will not recommand either. quite fustrating sometimes . just to share my own experience. would say that it is reef safe as last time after dosing it , my corals are fine , but would say at the same time it is not that effective as it claimed too. Quote 2x1.5x1.5 tank Lighting: AI hydra 52HD Skimmer: Deltec SC 1455 Reactor: Minimax; rowaphos Skimz ; NP biopellets Wave Maker: MP 40 WQD Return pump: Eheim 1262 Chiller: Arctica 1/10 hp A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal, but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel -- Proverbs 12:10 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member shootsimon Posted September 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 25, 2005 Same here. Gave up using it. 2 bottles also not enough. Smaller tank maybe can. Hypo better but must monitor fish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Travy Posted September 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 25, 2005 Ermm... i'm using that product too. But medicate my fishes in a QT tank rather then in the main tank. Too big a risk to take. Anyway, i find it works in removing itch. by the 3days can see signs of recovery and after one week most of the signs are gone. Tested the QT with one frag of zoos and some crabs ive caught, they seemed fine to me. Take some time to work but i dont expect immediate or overnight results. It did what it said it will do. Reef safe or not... more robust lps like zoos and yumas are ok. Other lps and sps dunno. Quote My Tank Save A Horse, Ride A Cowboy Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jem Posted September 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 25, 2005 agree with travy.. it works for me.. after my tank of 8 surgeonfish caught whitespots.. i switch my medication to Aquapharm Cure Itch.. within days..all the itch were gone.. even the si bei jia lat Purple tang which caught it is now doing excellent in my tank and it even restored its purple royalty jus my experience Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bawater Posted September 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 26, 2005 Without medication, ich will be gone off the fish within 3-7 days anyway -just that its in the sand now!getting ready for the next cycle. You need to build up the immunity of the fish before the second wave comes. don't take my word for it - read about the life cycle. part 1 http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-08/sp/index.php part 2 http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2003-10/...ature/index.php you have 17 treatment options to choose from. In order to work, medications are not reef safe - or never take the chance if you keep a reef. Do it in a QT tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kotobuki Posted October 4, 2005 Share Posted October 4, 2005 Hahaha.... bro weileong hi-lited my thread. Well.... been there, done that. The medication can only be use as an enhancement. It is not totally useless but it cant totally eliminate ich too... after all practice QT is the best lah... if your main tank kanna liao den too bad. Leave it fishless for 2 months loh. Hypo treatment in QT is still the best way. If you guy wanna die die use the medication den support it with tank transfer technique. Switch QT every 3 days. My 2cents worth and my miserable effort down the drain Rgds Tak Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...