blueheaven Posted October 24, 2005 Share Posted October 24, 2005 Somehoe these sort of thing will get into your tank There's no escaping especially when you have a refugium where they can bloom Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 24, 2005 Author Share Posted October 24, 2005 Somehoe these sort of thing will get into your tankThere's no escaping especially when you have a refugium where they can bloom Just wanna keep it simple ... so maybe wun be keeping so many organisms in my sump... intending for brittle stars and sand dollars niah... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted October 24, 2005 Share Posted October 24, 2005 In that case, watch out for signs of too big an anaerobic region If next time you want to remove, it'll be a problem then Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daimy068 Posted October 24, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2005 Anybody used Sequence?! Maybe a good pump... Hi RAV65. The 2 Sequence DARTs I'm using are relatively quiet compared to the single md55 I'm using to drive my beckett. You're welcome to drop by to have a look for yourself if you'd like. Just give me a buzz during the weekend. Cheers! Quote 48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dsam Posted October 24, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2005 Hi Bro, Just received my Sequence Dart today. Sorry, cannot comment anything yet. Let you know in a months' time. Cheers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 24, 2005 Author Share Posted October 24, 2005 Daimy068 & dsam.... would indeed be grateful if the two of u can give sone feedback... hopefully they are quiet pumps... but still very concerned about headloss... Are the pumps hot?? Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daimy068 Posted October 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2005 Hi RAV65. With regards to the headloss, do take note that the DART is not pressure rated. Headloss will depend on the length of piping run (taking into consideration vertical climb as well as horizontal run), number of elbows, ball valves, etc. The pump has cooling fins which dissipate heat from the pump. I have added cooling fans on the bridge which is situated above the pumps for my FR. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...ic=35528&st=165 Hope the info helps. Cheers! Quote 48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 25, 2005 Author Share Posted October 25, 2005 Hi RAV65. With regards to the headloss, do take note that the DART is not pressure rated. Headloss will depend on the length of piping run (taking into consideration vertical climb as well as horizontal run), number of elbows, ball valves, etc. The pump has cooling fins which dissipate heat from the pump. I have added cooling fans on the bridge which is situated above the pumps for my FR. http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...ic=35528&st=165 Hope the info helps. Cheers! Thanxs bro!! Your tank really complicated siah... see liao also blur... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted October 25, 2005 Share Posted October 25, 2005 Thanxs bro!! Your tank really complicated siah... see liao also blur... u wldn't wanna see weisoon's setup then. Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 25, 2005 Author Share Posted October 25, 2005 u wldn't wanna see weisoon's setup then. No wonder!!!!! Weisoon got a hand in Daimy068's setup!! Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted October 25, 2005 Share Posted October 25, 2005 pls confirm that the DART has no cooling fan. If there's no cooling fan then I guess the noise level should be much lower. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daimy068 Posted October 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2005 Yes Weileong. You've got a point there...DART has no cooling fan...only cooling fins. Well thought of. Quote 48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daimy068 Posted October 25, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 25, 2005 Thanxs bro!! Your tank really complicated siah... see liao also blur... Not much space with the huge beckett right in front. Good thing my 9yrs in the RSAF prepared me for working in confined spaces...this is just like working on a helicopter. Quote 48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 25, 2005 Author Share Posted October 25, 2005 Not much space with the huge beckett right in front. Good thing my 9yrs in the RSAF prepared me for working in confined spaces...this is just like working on a helicopter. And another 12 years in gymnastics and yoga right?? Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daimy068 Posted October 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 26, 2005 And another 12 years in gymnastics and yoga right?? Quote 48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted October 26, 2005 Share Posted October 26, 2005 seems like DART another choice for consideration. How abt the noise level and heat? Can use your hands to feel? One slight problem is the intake which is 2", need to use giant bulkhead Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 26, 2005 Author Share Posted October 26, 2005 seems like DART another choice for consideration.How abt the noise level and heat? Can use your hands to feel? One slight problem is the intake which is 2", need to use giant bulkhead Huh? Didn't know the bulkhead 2".... lucky u mentioned.... Damn... still cant decide on wat pump to use... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted October 26, 2005 Share Posted October 26, 2005 2" bulkhead still quite okie provided you plan properly. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daimy068 Posted October 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 26, 2005 Cannot feel heat coz got a fan blowing directly onto the pump but have to say that the cooling fins do a good job in dissipating the heat even without the fan. Vibration-wise, mounted the pump onto a wooden board and layered with vibration absorbing rubber mat. Also have flexible hose section at the intake portion so as to prevent any vibrations from getting into contact with the sump manifold which might cause that area to crack. The DART comes with a 2"-1.5" reducer. However, take note that this is the max allowable reduction so as not to induce stress on the pump. Also, the threads on the reducer are for American Schedule standards so the Japanese JIS standard thread on your male adaptor (if you're using JIS standard) might not mate perfectly. This was the reason for the leak when I initially connected the pipings. What I did was apply silicon sealant (not too much though) onto the threads itself and now, no leak. Hope the info helps. Quote 48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hamannbmw Posted October 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 26, 2005 vincent, saw u ordered 400W instead of 250's , change of plan huh ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 26, 2005 Author Share Posted October 26, 2005 Cannot feel heat coz got a fan blowing directly onto the pump but have to say that the cooling fins do a good job in dissipating the heat even without the fan. Vibration-wise, mounted the pump onto a wooden board and layered with vibration absorbing rubber mat. Also have flexible hose section at the intake portion so as to prevent any vibrations from getting into contact with the sump manifold which might cause that area to crack. The DART comes with a 2"-1.5" reducer. However, take note that this is the max allowable reduction so as not to induce stress on the pump. Also, the threads on the reducer are for American Schedule standards so the Japanese JIS standard thread on your male adaptor (if you're using JIS standard) might not mate perfectly. This was the reason for the leak when I initially connected the pipings. What I did was apply silicon sealant (not too much though) onto the threads itself and now, no leak. Hope the info helps. Good writeup bro... now, the big question : Anything bad about the pump?? Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 26, 2005 Author Share Posted October 26, 2005 vincent, saw u ordered 400W instead of 250's , change of plan huh ? No lah bro.... ordered wrongly... amended liao... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member daimy068 Posted October 26, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted October 26, 2005 Good writeup bro... now, the big question : Anything bad about the pump?? So far, none leh. Have to say I'm very satisfied with the pumps up til now. Quote 48x30x27' Tank. Beckett Skimmer. Deltec PF600s. RM FR Pro. DE 250Wx2. DE T5 39Wx4. Tunze 7095+6000x2. Sequence DART pumps x2 (1 return+1chiller) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 26, 2005 Author Share Posted October 26, 2005 So far, none leh. Have to say I'm very satisfied with the pumps up til now. Good good... so my researh continues... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted October 31, 2005 Author Share Posted October 31, 2005 Tank Update: after 24 pages of informative and constructive discussions... the tank is finally being built... hopefully it'll look good! Will posts some pics as soon as I have any! Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...