RAV-65's Reef Haven...

RAV-65

• Replies 370

340W is for 60W. At 50Hz which is our frequency here the max power consumption if I remember correctly is 250W.

Those are at 0ft head. In real situation we run about 6-8ft head lost depending on the actual piping and that power consumption is much lower, remember roidan tong his MX100 driving his beckett and gets lower than 200W.

340W is for 60W. At 50Hz which is our frequency here the max power consumption if I remember correctly is 250W.

Those are at 0ft head. In real situation we run about 6-8ft head lost depending on the actual piping and that power consumption is much lower, remember roidan tong his MX100 driving his beckett and gets lower than 200W.

If less than 200W pretty okay... coz if I run 3xOR6500, already 300+W, so maybe might as well use 2xIwaki Mx-70?? Even 2xMX-100 also about 400W... :D

Use pressure rated pump for pressure rated requirement if your chiller will be far away or high up for example,if not just use non pressure rated pump.

My concern is head-loss leh... running one OR6500 in my 3 feet tank now, the head loss really :shock::shock:

Maybe the Sequence Dart also not bad, 100W max can drive about 7,000L at 1.5m headloss... :) use 3 only 300W...

Anyway, just in case anyone got the wrong idea from my earlier post about Sequence pumps.... coz I read the graph wrongly... :P

:o

Dont be surprise that your monthly bill is $500.00!!! And just for the tank alone!

:blink:

Dat's one of my main concerns now lor... which is why I'm seriously doing my sums... :( :(

Dunno to use 2xMX-70 or 2xMX-100 for better turnover or maybe 2xDarts... :( :( :(

Dun blame me... I'm still pretty indecisive... :(

The mx 70 consumes about the same amount of power compared with the mx 100.So mx-100 is a better choice.

The specs says.

At 0ft head both MX100 and MX70 consume same power.

At the same head (not 0ft), MX100 able to give more flow at higher power consumption compared to the MX70.

Sorry no baby bonus, lower consumption but higher flow in real life situation.

The specs says.

At 0ft head both MX100 and MX70 consume same power.

At the same head (not 0ft), MX100 able to give more flow at higher power consumption compared to the MX70.

Sorry no baby bonus, lower consumption but higher flow in real life situation.

Meaning the MX-100 still uses slightly more power... but the flow rate significantly higher...??

Hope I finally get it right.... :P

The thread by Roidan really scary... running a simple setup, 2xMx100 and 150W lights already $400+ electricity a month!!! :sick:

Tink I going broke liao...:(

But seems like 2xMX100 would be the best choice for me...

Tink I need Lightningstrike here now to help me calculate the power consumption and my potential electricity bill.... :(

List down all your equipments and I can calculate for you :P

Ryan must be very busy since he got married recently.

Heh heh... here goes :

3xIwaki MX-100 ( 2 return and 1 skimmer )

400W T5s for 12 hours

750W MH for 6 hours

Additional 500W MH for 3 Hours

Chiller dunno specs yet... P

The rest of the stuffs like Tunze blah blah blah dun include 1st, those are not that power hungry... :P

PS : Owe you how many prata liao ah? Very soon you growing FAT leh bro... :D

This time FOC for you. Getting too fat, later cannot pass IPPT lol.

Taking electrical cost as 18.26 cents/kwh

One month = 30 days

MH

power consumption 750watts

Daily running hrs 6hrs

Power consumption 4.5kwh

running cost/month $24.651

T5

power consumption 400watts

Daily running hrs 12 hrs

Power consumption 4.8kwh

running cost/month $26.2944

MX-100

power consumption 600watts

Daily running hrs 24hrs

Power consumption 14.4kwh

running cost/month $78.8832

additional 500W MH

power consumption 500watts

Daily running hrs 3hrs

Power consumption 1.5kwh

running cost/month $8.217

total = $138.0456

Chiller probably around $40 for your tank so around $200.

Wah!!! heng ah!!

Not as bad as I thought it would be... if not, it'll send me back to my drawing board again... :)

So maybe I'll run 3xMX-100 after all... 2 for return and 1 for skimmer, total 215 decibles based on the stats I see... :P

WL... wat's ur opinion?? good idea for the 3 Iwakis?? :)

Suggestion is to get the high flow version of the MX100 for return and pressure rated version for beckett.

Wah biangz... got difference one ah? u mean they are not all pressure rated?!?!

How to tell?? I have a MX-100, I also dunno wat specs izit... :(

Wah biangz... got difference one ah? u mean they are not all pressure rated?!?!

How to tell?? I have a MX-100, I also dunno wat specs izit... :(

When you buy that time you check the specs. I don't have the exact model off hand. When you look at the flow curve the one with highest head but lower max flow will be the pressure rated one.

Where do you intend to get the MX-100? Budget airline to HK and hand carry back?

Thought Vincent said he already has a unit? :lol:

When you buy that time you check the specs. I don't have the exact model off hand. When you look at the flow curve the one with highest head but lower max flow will be the pressure rated one.

Where do you intend to get the MX-100? Budget airline to HK and hand carry back?

Nope... but might have to do that soon! :)

Anyway, didn't really check the specs coz I'm not familiar with the pump... :(

Now I know! :evil::evil:

Hole getting bigger and bigger.... :P

Actually a single MD55 would be quite enough already unless you really have a piping design problem ;)

Vincent, wowww... very nice, I am following this thread with great interest! :yeah:

From the mock-up pic, it actually looks like you have a dedicated tank room! :) I know you said that it's not but have you considered using the room to house the tank and all your equipment? :P

Vincent, wowww... very nice, I am following this thread with great interest! :yeah:

From the mock-up pic, it actually looks like you have a dedicated tank room! :) I know you said that it's not but have you considered using the room to house the tank and all your equipment? :P

Thanxs bro... :P

Actually dun have a tank room, but will have the tank on a wood stand, den will build a facade around it... I'm trying to hide all the equipment away behing the facade...

I have a wall that is 11' in length, but the tank will be 5', so there will be about 3'x3' space on each side that I can play with... :)