anti-nitrate chemical

i had put a 1L Seachem Denitrate bottle of this into my 4foot tank for a week now. The NO3 is still at 100mg/l!!!

Anyone know what the sign that the fishes can not stand it any more?

Does anyone know petmat sell AZ NO3? Like to try it.

Bro, I come across someone in reefcentral suggest the De-nitrate to be use with very low-flow rate like 200~300l/hr..probably you can consider using a FBR to control the flow-rate. ;)

• Replies 50

I am currently using 2 anti-nitrate products. Seachem stability as Flame-Tail reccomended to me earlier, and also SeaChem De*Nitrate. De*Nitirate instructions state very clearly that you've got to reduce nitrate to below 20 through water changes before using. I did that and together with daily dosage of stability for the past week, nitrates have been kept under 20. I doubt it will ever reach zero.

If u see my tank on the tank page, I've also resorted to germinating mangrove seedlings to remove nitrates. My personal opinion, go natural. Don't get those chemicals. very damaging.

As for purigen and de*nitrate, active carbon and what not i believe they're still effective but after using so much to limited effect, It has caused me to think that maybe its to do with the design of the entire filtration system. The way water flows thru it whether its effective or not.

I think we shouldnt work towards reducing nitrates cos that doesnt solve anything, but rather we should work towards reducing and neturalising the rate of nitrate production. So like always ###### up the shit thats accumlated before they decompose i think will help.

Well at least it's kept to the minimum and that good..

keep it up :)

seem to have found one of the source of nitrate/ammonia/etc.. bad zoo..

for some reasons a bunch of zoo i bought started dying off and growing some white stuff.. today decided to clean in case its nudi attack.. dipped in fresh water for a while.. guess what.. the whole pod fell apart.. and it stinks to hi heaven..

the root was rotting and black..sigh.. thought i cud save some..but all black rot :(

:cry: gotta throw away the entire bunch .. :cry:

aquatronica7na.gif

seem to have found one of the source of nitrate/ammonia/etc.. bad zoo..

for some reasons a bunch of zoo i bought started dying off and growing some white stuff.. today decided to clean in case its nudi attack.. dipped in fresh water for a while.. guess what.. the whole pod fell apart.. and it stinks to hi heaven..

the root was rotting and black..sigh.. thought i cud save some..but all black rot :(

:cry: gotta throw away the entire bunch .. :cry:

Man sorry to hear that. But next time when you observe anything out of the ordinary..better get it out of your tank and into quarrantine fast.

Good luck. :peace:

ok.. update after 3 days (2 after removing the rotten zoo)

dose AZ 5ml(20gal tank) then pump air for 3-4hrs (in case of o2 starvation)

now no3 12 ppm liao!! :P

problem is I use tap water so think thats the lowest i can go <_<

additional thing that may have helped..

1. removed and changed all filter materials

2. added seachem de-nitrate

3. added seachem mixed (carbon,silicate,phos,nitrate filter)

aquatronica7na.gif

ok.. update after 3 days (2 after removing the rotten zoo)

dose AZ 5ml(20gal tank) then pump air for 3-4hrs (in case of o2 starvation)

now no3 12 ppm liao!! :P

problem is I use tap water so think thats the lowest i can go <_<

additional thing that may have helped..

1. removed and changed all filter materials

2. added seachem de-nitrate

3. added seachem mixed (carbon,silicate,phos,nitrate filter)

Anyone know where to get AZ NO3? How much it cost?

Like to try this my NO3 is reaching 100ppm!!!

thanks

my tank used to run at 50-100ppm of NO3. happen to take a week of medical leave due to chicken pox. took this opportunity to do water change every day, 1 big pail every day. at the end of the week, NO3 level dropped below 25ppm. after that, reduce feeding to the fishes slightly, and now able to maintain tank for a few months at 5-10ppm.

B)

Anyone know where to get AZ NO3? How much it cost?

Like to try this my NO3 is reaching 100ppm!!!

thanks

lot 35 pasir ris is where i got mine from..

heard clementi side oso haf..

aquatronica7na.gif

Just got my hand on AZ NO3.

The direction of dosage:

For each 50 to 60 gallons

- 2 drops on day 1

- 4 drops on day 2

- 8 drop on day 3....

- 64 drops (5.5ml) on day 6

Thereafter use 8ml daily.. till NO3 undetectable

gunzo,

from the previous msg, seen like you

"dose AZ 5ml(20gal tank) then pump air for 3-4hrs (in case of o2 starvation)" one short..

Has the instruction changed?

gunzo,

from the previous msg, seen like you

"dose AZ 5ml(20gal tank) then pump air for 3-4hrs (in case of o2 starvation)" one short..

Has the instruction changed?

bro depending on the size of your tank follow the instructions..

i followed the ones posted by you but my tank is only 20gal.. so it was ok until day 6(5.5ml)..it exceeded the recommended dosage for 20gal at max level (4ml based on half of 50gal 8ml dosage)

watch the fish if you're afraid .. the moment they start gasping you kno you overdosed liao and start pumping air!!

problem if you're too eager overdose brings down the no3 v fast (note 1 week vs 30 days) but you run the risk of suffocating you LS..

1st time i see my mushrooms bloom :P

it'll work.. give it time!! and good luck

forgot 2 add..change water before you start dosage and also check for any possible sources of no3.. otherwise oso lppl

aquatronica7na.gif

try to dose a little below from the instruction of dosage. be patient with it. continue to do weekly water change. at the same time, try to look out for the source of N03 cause using AZ n03 is only for a short term solution. you got to find the root problem :)

age.png

try to dose a little below from the instruction of dosage. be patient with it. continue to do weekly water change. at the same time, try to look out for the source of N03 cause using AZ n03 is only for a short term solution. you got to find the root problem :)

:thanks::D:D

not an issue.. just don't overdose in hurry to bring down the levels and hunt for the source! ;)

aquatronica7na.gif

How do you all indentify the source of N03?

My filteration is as follow:

bioball(ISO, at the main tank)->skimmer->wool->bio ring->coral chip->return pump

the main tank have 30Kg of LR, 1 inch sand

the bioballs,bio ring,coral chip looks clean. wool i clean every 2 days. I put the bioballs as the first stage to reduce the waterfall sound, without it, the tank sound like natural waterfall in my living room!! can not sleep!!

bioball(ISO, at the main tank)->skimmer->wool->bio ring->coral chip->return pump

the bioballs,bio ring,coral chip looks clean. wool i clean every 2 days. I put the bioballs as the first stage to reduce the waterfall sound, without it, the tank sound like natural waterfall in my living room!! can not sleep!!

sorry can't help you here.. I actually test the water bit by bit.. find every possible source and do an elimination method.. understand that no2 and ammonia also messes up the readings for no3

aquatronica7na.gif

how long your system has been running? and how often you clean your all your biorings and coral chip?

age.png

till now should be 2month+

biorings still white not yellowish at all

coral chip bit of brown patch here and there

when doing water change, take the biorings and coral chip drip into old water a few times. Is that enough? no want to wash away all the BB right?

My tank is 4 X 2.5 X 2

feed 2 times a day with pellet, alternate day with frozen sprimp

using weipro 2013 with rio10HF (2700l/hr)

tetra No3 kit

think have completed cycle. (measured NO2 register <0.3mg/l, using tetra No2 kit)

for 1st month only have 3 fish,

Now 8 fishes, 7 of them only 1 to 2 inch, only one 3 inch butterfly.

After first month NO3 round 50mg/l, so change 20% water, NO3 remain at 50mg/l

After 1 1/2 month NO3 reach 50++mg/l, change 20% again still remain at 50++mg/l

Now reach 100mg/l

help.....

Though at high level, it's difficult to tell, but no need so accurate ones right? As long as it show less than 50 it's good enough right?

The reading i got is between 50 to 100mg/l, more on the 100mg/l side. So it's still bad right?

My tank is 4 X 2.5 X 2

tetra No3 kit

think have completed cycle. (measured NO2 register <0.3mg/l, using tetra No2 kit)

Now reach 100mg/l

help.....

Since you feed twice a day, have to make sure it is not too much each time. You might want to consider reducing your interval for water change. I feel that 4-6 weeks between water changes might be too long.

Waste no more time arguing what a good man should be, be one.

Marcus Aurelius

Yo peeps, update on my de-nitrating progress. this morning i measured NH3, NO2 undetectable, and NO3 at 10. Been using many many methods and products so I dont know which is the one responsible for it or maybe all

1. SeaChem Stability daily for the past week or so

2. SeaChem De*Nitrate

3. SeaChem PhosGuard

4. Chemipure 1 unit

5. about 20 stalks of mangrove seedlings that have just begun to sprout roots

I've not changed water for 2 weeks already, just been dosing Hydro Premium Biplex A & B daily and doing my water top up.

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

My tank is 4 X 2.5 X 2

tetra No3 kit

Now reach 100mg/l

help.....

reduce your feeding (make sure your fishes finish their food before you add further), increase your water change. may be 10% each week. you are using AZ N03 now? if so, let ur skimmer skim wet. clean your collect cup often. and test each week to see any improvement. keep all your bioballs and coral chips clean and maintian them well if you are using them.

age.png