how to choose a jack russel puppy

hamannbmw

I was quoted by a pet shop $1688. But this puppy got a very unique features, it has only one small - (yes, its very small) brown patch around one of its eye, but its local breed. Other JR puppies from the same shop is only selling $800.

My friend told me that jack russell must choose short leg, long leg not nice. Can puppies tell tall or short ?

Dog owners, please comments. Cos thinking of getting one for my daughter.

** I know its a long term commitment **

• Replies 58

JRT are super hyper active... I have seen short and tall JRT... The short one is nicer... lol.. I think the price varies on the pattern on the body... Nicer the pattern, higher the price... But I think $1000plus is kinda over for a JRT... Just take the one that is active and the eye is clear and bright... lol... HOpe it helps...

n u will have fur in ur fish tank, take note of that.

hi there hamannbmw,

i have a pure bred jack russell myself that was given to me by family friends who had a pair of australian imported jack russels, and i think anything more than $600 for a local bred jack russell puppy is too much (considering most of them are not purebred too) perhaps you could try looking through yahoo auctions or any other such local online auctions? as local breeders often offer their pups up for sale there at lower prices.

heres a link to an ad for some purebred jack russell puppies by a private owner for $680. http://www.sgadpost.com/sg/pets/2989/_jack...tion_singapore/

also, if i'm very much mistaken, the long legged ones are the better jack russells, in that they are more closely related to their purebred ancestors. the short legged ones have schnauzer or other terrier blood in them. this said however, i think that the short legged ones are alot less temperamental and less excitable, so thats an advantage to them. the purebred ones will require alot of attention, playing with, and walking, as theyre hunting dogs, and naturally very active and inquisitive.

i really like how jack russels have this intelligent look, but i have to admit that mine has really turned out to be more effort than my family anticipated so unless you really have lots of time for it, or am experienced with dogs, i'd really recommend other dog breeds as they can get temperamental when not exercised and played with often enough as for them, hyper active is the norm. but i love my jack russell, and if you do decide to get one, i'm sure youll love it too!

theres also a dog owners forum in sg: http://www.dogsforum.sg/forums/index.php?s=&act=idx

where there are dogs for adoption and sale so do check that out too ya.

its like our reefclub, so can get tips there too.

cheers,

ian

my opinion is,JRT is super hyper and barky.The price the peyshop quoted is way too expensive.usually a local breed is about $600,almost 3 times the price the petshop offered.

I personally dont think JRT suitable for a small kid and you have to check if your indo maid afraid of dog too.All dogs when they were teething,they will bite furniture but dogs with no proper training will keep biting even they overgrow that teething period,not just furniture but owners too.

Unless you and your family has special feelings for JRT,you may want to consider other more gentle breed for you daughter?If JRT is what you are looing for,perhaps you might want to spend more times to check out with other owners with JRT regarding about their experience with theirs.

I strongly agree with iantoh. The JR is a super energizer bunny- can your family keep up? I am not joking- you come home from a long day's work and your wife bugs you to take it out for a walk, it tears up your kids homework and shreds the papers, runs non stop round the house jumping on sofas knocking over vases, coz the family simply cant keep the little fella entertained enough. It is one hyper dog on steroids and caffeine overdose.

Get a nice little lap dog instead.

TY all for yr comments, seems like JRT is not a good suggestion since I do not have much time for the doggy. I need an active dog but not so as "hyper active". I dont like dogs that sits around and doesnt have much of its self character.

Maintaineance is also an issue here, trimming lar, regular excercise lar etc etc. I'm too busy with my work and also the "reef tank" :lol: so an easily maintained dog is more suitable for the family.

Any good recommendation from all the bros n sisters here. ;)

My Favourite, Boston Terrier! ;):D Check with Diabolus, he has one. ;)

low maintainance means lesser fur.The choices are limit.Only breeds like italian greyhound,chihuahua...how about the terrier group?Moderate grooming breeds such as West highland terrier is an alert little fellow.Active too but not as hyper as JRT.The maintainance is reasonable cos the fur is harsh wired so require lesser combing compare to breed like shitzu..maltese...shetland sheepdog is also not too bad,moderate active dog,moderate grooming too.

I keep a pair of taiwanese maltese,the grooming is killing me as require daily brushing to avoid tangle but these 2 fellows never can keep quiet.They 'mopped' the floor all the time :lol:

Why dont you show your family members the breed of dogs on internet,then shortlist a few and check out their temperament on the internet too?

Heard the BT are specially bred for apartment living in Boston thus named Boston Terriers and not becuase they were used for hunting previously.

hamanbmw,

you can try a shitzu. They are excellent lap dogs that dont need much exercise. 10min exercise and they peng san already. A bit more maintenance as you need to comb, but then you can crop fur short so not an issue.

Temperament is essential in choosing a dog. Also it takes a lot of commitment and dedicastion- there will be times the dog gets sick, knock over precious things, poo poo in the wrong place and smear the stuff all over, esp first year. Not easy hor.

hv u ever considered owning a westie? :eyebrow:

no matter which breed u eventually choose, juz make sure u treat it well. ;)

Hi Ryan,

Care to share your experiences with Westie? I find them nice too. ;)

Hi Ryan,

Care to share your experiences with Westie? I find them nice too. ;)

hi bro, i can go on hours after hours talking abt my little white furry son. ;) here's a short write-up on westies from AKC.

if u ask me, westie is a whole bundle of energy and fun all bundled into one. ;)

I used to have 2 pairs of westie in a decade.Still missed them alot.The temperament is wonderful,can be lapdog as well as an active fellow that goes along well with almost everything we do....oh boy,me too can go on and on about the white baddie...

There is one scene I will never forget.Right after bathing,he was white for just less than 2 mins and then he came back wagging his tail at you just cos he DUGGED your garden and now, he became brown! :lol:

Some westie is prone to skin problem so should take some times to select carefully

Please be warned that any dogs from the Terrier family will tend to be alittle on the yappy side. Being the alert dog, they will bark at any sound or noise in their surroundings (e.g. someone walking towards your main door or a car horn).

I have a 3y.o Australian Silky Terrier at home.

On the other hand, I guess people might say that they can train the dog during its puppy years not to bark so much. But it's like the Terrier trait in them.

My friend just adopted a Cairn Terrier mixed Westie. Even before he brought it home, I told him that it would a yappy dog and stubborn in nature. Unfortunately for him, my guesses were right. And unfortunately for the little dog, he's tied up in the garden. :( I hate to see this when it happens.

So please think thoroughly on the right breed of dog for you.

Factors you have to consider:

• Amount of time you're willing to spend a day/week/month
  • $$$
  • Long / short fur
  • Shed fur? (certain breeds don't shed as much fur)
  • Anybody in the family with sensitive skin? (certain breeds are 'hyposensitive', great companions for ppl with sensitivities. e.g. maltese)
  • Small / Medium / Big dog
  • Grooming needed daily?
  • Walks daily?
  • Hyper dog or lap dog
  • Watch dog (i.e. bark at intruders) or laid-back dog
  • Good with children?

I was quoted by a pet shop $1688. But this puppy got a very unique features, it has only one small - (yes, its very small) brown patch around one of its eye, but its local breed. Other JR puppies from the same shop is only selling $800.

My friend told me that jack russell must choose short leg, long leg not nice. Can puppies tell tall or short ?

Dog owners, please comments. Cos thinking of getting one for my daughter.

** I know its a long term commitment **

:lol: I used 2 keep a jack russel 12 yrs back, i bought it when he is a puppy, only $680.

Jack russel r very active,not advisable if u stay @ HDB. They runs a lot & likes children.

If u train him well, he can help u 2 take ur slippers & socks. But if u dun, haha u will find holes in ur socks.

My relative is helping me 2 keep this jack russel @ her SD. :blink:

hv u ever considered owning a westie?  :eyebrow:

no matter which breed u eventually choose, juz make sure u treat it well. ;)

My friend told me westie is good, but thinking of cleaning its mouth n a** 3 times daily inorder to keep its fur white is difficult for me. I cant find time to do the job, however maybe can train maid to do it :lol:

BTW, can u guys recommend dogs thats more tamed but active, most importantly easy to maintain. ;) must be cute n lovable by children.

Riot, my friends shitzu mouth n a** also brown fur liao leh.... so maintaining it is not easy.

CHris, thanks for yr suggestion.. I'll search the web later and see how it looks like ;)

Jas, so what breed r u keeping now ?

Jus. Er. Does all JRT bites on sofa and mess up the house even though they are trained ??

Factors you have to consider:
  • Amount of time you're willing to spend a day/week/month
  • $$$
  • Long / short fur
  • Shed fur? (certain breeds don't shed as much fur)
  • Anybody in the family with sensitive skin? (certain breeds are 'hyposensitive', great companions for ppl with sensitivities. e.g. maltese)
  • Small / Medium / Big dog
  • Grooming needed daily?
  • Walks daily?
  • Hyper dog or lap dog
  • Watch dog (i.e. bark at intruders) or laid-back dog
  • Good with children?

1. TIme : Maximum 1 hour a day

2. budget 1.5K

3. preferbly short (becos i heard long hair shed alot and lots of maintainance)

4. no sensitive family members at home

5. small dog (mini)

6. maybe 15 mins walk daily

7. active but tamed (not hyper active)

Also bro n sis here, please recommend my some pet shops with resonable price and variety. :thanks: