SRC Member beaver Posted September 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 Hi Reefers, I am really at my wits end. I am unable to keep an corals at all. Inititally, I though it was my high nitrate problem (as discussed in my previous thread) However, it is now be solved. It is now around 3-4ppm. I can't even keep hardy mushroom corals! They literally melt overnight! I am not joking. Last Sun I introduced a xenia colony and today they shrunk into a miserable lump (I know they are probably dying as there is a stench ) 1. Salinity is 1.024 2. Ammonia and Nitrite are zero & Phosphate is almost negligble ( I am using RowaPhos). 3. Temp is kept constant at 26-27c with chiller. 4. Corals are acclimitise over 2 hrs period via drip method. Sigh...I am pulling my hair out. I wanted to throw in the towel. But I would love to have a coral garden. Could i have introduced something toxic into my water which I can't detect? Other than breaking down the whole tank and rebuild, what are my alternatives? Please help! I don't even mind paying if someone could help to build a coral garden. Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted September 6, 2005 Share Posted September 6, 2005 Bro, something is very wrong with your water.... if every coral dies overnight in your tank there must be something very wrong... coz even if your conditions are bad, they might not die immediately, usually happening over a few days... Next, wat brand of testkits are you using, you sure your nitrates are low ( 3-4ppm )?? Did you ever introduce copper into your main tank? Wat's your kH and pH? Wat's your calcium level? wat are the livestocks you have in your tank? Pls try to answer all these questions as well as you can and I see if I can help you out... PS: Can pay me!!! :D Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member barnacle Posted September 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 i agree with RAV 65 something wrong with your water. wat water u used?? NSW or direct tap water?? wats your filteration system??? Quote My Tank Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RAV-65 Posted September 6, 2005 Share Posted September 6, 2005 I seriously suspect it's copper, even if you use tapwater, the corals wun die so easily... coz like he say, nitrate low and got chiller, if no chiller maybe lah... Otherwise, maybe he have some non-reefsafe livestocks... Quote People do not plan to fail; Often they just fail to plan... Wat I do to prevent myself from tearing my hair out... My stress remedy... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted September 6, 2005 Share Posted September 6, 2005 Might be poor salinity acclimatization or there's something wrong with your hydrometer. Most oftenly we overlook the most basic parameter. If your mushrooms shrink they are losing water to the outside medium. Once upon a time I had a hydrometer. It showed 1.023. Whatever corals, crustaceans, or inverts I add they would die within hours. Fish don't have problems. I bought a new hydrometer. It showed 1.030. Bring a sample of your water to an established LFS and ask them to check your salinity for you..preferably with a refractometer. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AquaRa Posted September 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 i agree...maybe you've placed the mushrooms directly under your 400watt MH Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member loster Posted September 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 coral and fish can still survive with 1.030 cos when i used my hydrometer, it shown 1.026. but when i used my refractometer, it shown 1.030 however, i slowing bought it down to 1.025 with refractometer reading. the hydrometer read 1.021. anyway, i agree that the water must be the problem Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted September 7, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 Hi All, Nope, i've never introduced any copper into my tank b4. Nitrate is measured with RedSea testkit. Filtration system is internal overflow. Tank size is 3 x 2 x 2. The MH is a good 15inch above water level, so that couldn't be the problem. What I am worried about is that I may have unknowingly added something toxic into the water. Do you think that there's any LFS that provide water testing service for the whole range of paramenters? Thanks a lot! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Rocks Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 Hi All, Nope, i've never introduced any copper into my tank b4. Nitrate is measured with RedSea testkit. Filtration system is internal overflow. Tank size is 3 x 2 x 2. The MH is a good 15inch above water level, so that couldn't be the problem. What I am worried about is that I may have unknowingly added something toxic into the water. Do you think that there's any LFS that provide water testing service for the whole range of paramenters? Thanks a lot! Hi.. Since you do not have much (or any) corals in your current tank and you suspect that you may have unknowingly added something toxic into the water. Can i suggest something that i would do if i am in your situation... change 50%, 70% or more (if not 100%) of the tank's water... since all your usual water parameters are fine and your equipment are working good than what you can't measure in the water might be killing your corals... change the water to be safe... at least you eliminate this water problem possiblilty... why bother water testing services for the whole range of paramenters? hey ... you have a proper working skimmer hor ?? ... CHEERS! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member csloo Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 change ur water will help(50%). after change it, cycle it for 2 weeks. Then change ur water again (30%). Add KH and Iodine inside. After that, u can puchase some hardy coral inside. Remember, if you put ur fish inside ur tank first bout 2 weeks, and then put in the coral, ur coral hard to be alive in ur tank. Put Coral first B4 you put ur Fish inside......If you want a Reef Complete Tank.... correct me if i 'm wrong..... P/S: As i know, some reefers put their fish first b4 coral, the coral still can survive and can have a nice complete tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member framerunner Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 What skimmer are you using? What is the brand of salt you are using or you use NSW? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dleecool Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 Hi, where's ur place? maybe some reefers who stay near u house can go and help, if u r in the west side, I can bring my salifert test kits and my refrectometer to u and let u test ur water parameter. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 btw how long has the tank been operational? i presume its not a new tank rite Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zephyros Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 again ... dilution is the best solution to pollution. change water ... change water ... suggest dun put in LS as "live" test to see "if can survive" anot before put anymore LS, ensure the very basic water parameters are met ... ie pH, KH, salinity, and of course ANN (Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate) other than the above, as bro RAV-65 mentioned, copper leakage etc? temp ... are u using the chiller temp as THE temp? wat is the temp in ur tank??? cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Kelmen Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 Well, since there's not much solid clues, may as well tackle at your tank water. Run carbon (heavy) and WC 1st, then maybe 1 or 2 weeks later try again. Do you guys think could it be coral-killer in the tank? maybe you can setup a kind of proctective shell over the coral see how, using a simple mineral water bottle and a little DIY can do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member minsmarine Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 1st I don't know - how old is your tank. - what is your configuration. - what r the other chemical running. - what r the LS keeping. so very difficult to answer your question. If someone can answer your question stright, than the person become a PhD in reefing. And I don't know how much/ u r running rowa. Is that 1L all in FR or throw in all to the sump. Mushroom need so called Dirty Water. No mushroom survise in my tank ( give a way to other and become 10x bigger ). So u need to feed more info to give you some advise. There are so many parameter and different tank has their own unique signature, so hope you won't give up Quote Life is like a peice of Uncured Live Rock [ from LFS ], you never know what you gonna get......... Ocean Gump Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member beaver Posted September 7, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 hi guys, Thank you so much for all the avaluable advice..honestly i feel so fustrated that I thought of converting it to a FOWLR tank...but i will hang in there. In fact, I've been changing water for weeks! There was once I even changed 50% of the water (due to nitrate problem). I dun have a CR, so the Rowaphos is in my sump. I think its abt 0.50L in volume. I also use GAC, changed every 2 weeks. The corals literally melted overnight, so it must be something very toxic in the water...but what? BTW, should I lower down my salinity? Sigh..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bali Brain Posted September 7, 2005 Share Posted September 7, 2005 This may be a bit far fetched, but it's a possibility. Have you tested the water with a test ....pen??? A few days ago, my mushrooms, red and blue, shrivelled although they had been doing very well earlier. I had also felt a tingly sensation when I touched the water. I placed the tip of a test pen in the water, and amazingly, the pen lighted up. I then began the process of testing every single external electrical item for any leaks, and wiping the tank edges dry, thinking that these could be the possible sources. Finally, I found the culprit - one of the submerged power heads. I had that changed, and although the mushrooms have yet to recover, I am hoping, given time..... Funny thing though, the fishes didn't seem to be affected. Anyway, that's my experience. Don't know if it's relevant. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member akahoshi Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 Good point there bro bali brain. Although the full circuit is only the surface part of the water and not in the water, But there is a possiblity of a different suitation here. It's still a good idea to check your power leakage and electrical circuit running by your fish tank. I dunno why no one said this yet but, Have you tested your PH?? Won't be surprised if it's like 7.0... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member patrick123 Posted September 7, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 7, 2005 Did you mention how you get the salt water? Is it through salt mix (what brand) or seawater? How do you measure your salinity? You need to share more info about your setup and age of tank so that people can help you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted September 8, 2005 Share Posted September 8, 2005 coral and fish can still survive with 1.030 cos when i used my hydrometer, it shown 1.026. but when i used my refractometer, it shown 1.030 however, i slowing bought it down to 1.025 with refractometer reading. the hydrometer read 1.021. anyway, i agree that the water must be the problem Hmm..agree with you on that point. Cause my salinity was 1.030 and all livestock in the tank were doing ok..they probably adapted to that high salinity over time. It's a different story when you introduce new stock as they are not given such time (a few hrs might not even be sufficient for some inverts) to get used to a probably misread salinity level. Hmm..anyway..like most have suggested a massive water change would seem like a wise thing to do. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...