SRC Member akahoshi Posted September 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 Hi all, Which PBT is the hardest to keep? Powder Blue? Powder Black? Powder Brown? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gerald8 Posted September 6, 2005 Share Posted September 6, 2005 Hardly see any Powder Black. Anyone knows ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tineng Posted September 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 powder black is not as hard as it seems......you just need to do proper QT and have enough algae to feed them till fat fat...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member iori_del Posted September 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 none. if u have the tank space and good water, nothing is hard to keep. just try not to put them in a 2 ft tank Quote GIve up liao!!!!!!!!!!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member akahoshi Posted September 6, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 Actually most marine fishes are easy to keep if they are eating like pig. However I vote Powder Brown to be the hardest because it seems to be timid and shy, always hiding.. As for the Powder Blue, seems to be the more aggressive of the three and boldest too.. Therefore, slightly easier to feed.. Powder Black.. Haven't tried yet.. Wanna try!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member yus75 Posted September 16, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 16, 2005 tis my 2nd try of pbt(the 1 at avatar lor)....took the courage to try again after 2yrs...... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Travy Posted September 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 23, 2005 Have a Powder blue in my QT. Now into the 3 week. No itch yet, *cross my fingers and toes. Treating it with medication as a preventive measure. Able to get it to feed on formula2 pellets. Last time one powder black. Beatiful and eating very well but die of itch.. heart ache... Quote My Tank Save A Horse, Ride A Cowboy Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member valerossi Posted December 2, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted December 2, 2005 Powder Blue keep dieing in my tank 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member gunzo Posted December 4, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2005 my powder brown died within 4 days with no signs of itch.. the blue is alive kicking feeding (x fingers) 4 2 weeks now.. skitch spots on the fins but i'm dousing medicine daily. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member PerculaClownfish Posted December 23, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted December 23, 2005 PBlueT get ich really easy..Like a snapping your fingers!!But plus point is its aggressive nature which helps it alot as it would be left behind if you got a big tank! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member cityofangels Posted December 28, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted December 28, 2005 I've never tried Powder Brown and Powder Black. However, Powder Blues don't seem to do too well in my tank. My 1st one died when I went overseas. My 2nd one just died on Christmas eve. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member wil_lee76 Posted December 28, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted December 28, 2005 imo, i have tried (1) powder blue - fail (died of ich) (2) Blue tang - fail (disappear) (3) yellow tang - fail (eating well...but one day, kanna suck by my pump) now, QT...brown tang. See whether can work.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted April 5, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted April 5, 2007 powder blue..(keep for a very long time till i change my tank and it died during the process) powder brown..keep for more than 4 months... powder black...dosent seem to eat n starve to death.. Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wpcheng Posted April 7, 2007 Share Posted April 7, 2007 Alvin I noticed u keep Clown tang and Clown Tang needs very clean water. My clown Tang died after about 3 weeks. Is the water quality more stringent for Clown Tang as compared to Powder Blue Tang? Currently, I am using Rowaphos to keep PO4 to 0 and AZNO3 to keep NO3 to 5 ppm. I am not using any carbon. Do I need to use carbon to remove other chemicals in the water ? What brand of carbon do u use and do u use it continuously or remove it after 2 or 3 days ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted April 7, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted April 7, 2007 Alvin I noticed u keep Clown tang and Clown Tang needs very clean water. My clown Tang died after about 3 weeks. Is the water quality more stringent for Clown Tang as compared to Powder Blue Tang? Currently, I am using Rowaphos to keep PO4 to 0 and AZNO3 to keep NO3 to 5 ppm. I am not using any carbon. Do I need to use carbon to remove other chemicals in the water ? What brand of carbon do u use and do u use it continuously or remove it after 2 or 3 days ? hi bro, nope..i dun run any carbon for my tank....as i got it when it was feeding with pellets already....so far gt no prob...initially in my old tank, there was some ich problem but it went fine after i gave it formula 2... Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wpcheng Posted April 8, 2007 Share Posted April 8, 2007 OK. Thanks for replying . Is there anything for water quality that I need to take care other than the PO4 and NO3 ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted April 8, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted April 8, 2007 OK. Thanks for replying . Is there anything for water quality that I need to take care other than the PO4 and NO3 ? hi bro...i have seen PBTs surviving for a long time on a po4 3mg tank.... so i guess u have to worried on the nitrate more than the po4...of cos, it will be gd to keep ur water quality in the most optimum condition wherever you can... for fishes, look out for ammonia, nitrite..this two are the killing factor..it shld be kept at less den 0.05mg at all times... Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Alvin Tan Posted April 8, 2007 SRC Member Share Posted April 8, 2007 jus to add to the above post, it is best to quarantine the fish before you intro into ur main tank....observe at least 2wks before you intro it into ur main tank...also, try ur best to train the fish to eat garlic pellets at that period of time...it will help alot in the immune system of the fish so that it will not get ich all the time.. hth Quote view my 2ft tank thread update here!! http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=36399 Tank Dimension: 24'x15'x19' with black silicon. All round 8mm. Equipments: Return Pump : Hailea HX6540 Skimmer/Chiller : Sicce 2500lph Skimmer : Weipro 2011 Lightings: 4xT5s HO..2 20,000k & 2 Blue Pro(Aquaz) Retrofits Chiller : Resun CL280 Auto Water Top Up Life Stock: More then 35kg of figi rocks Blue Tang, Powder Blue Tang, Bristletooth tang, Clown Tang, Yellow Tang, Purple Tang, Flame Angel, Six Line Wrasse, Sunrise Dottyback. 2 Cleaner Shrimp Green Bubble, Orange Yuma, Hammer, True Octopus, Acans, Frogspawn, Green/Orange Cyannaria, Red Prata, Red Open Brain, Star Polyp, Acan Enchinata Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wpcheng Posted April 9, 2007 Share Posted April 9, 2007 Alvin I did quarantine for about 2-3 weeks and the Clown Tang was feeding well before releasing into main tank. Not too sure whether the Clown Tang got white spots after the Powder Blue Tang "Terrorises" it in the main tank or the water quality still not good enough because I tried flame angels and coral beauty a few times. Each time the pygmy angels did not last more than 3 weeks in the tank. I have never been successful with pygmy angel. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Ketchup Posted October 7, 2011 SRC Member Share Posted October 7, 2011 Powder blue is the most difficult... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...