SRC Member jem Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 jus wondering.. how do you guys fatten up your tangs?.. been trying to feed my regal hippo tang for abt 5 mnth now.. still no "pui pui" leh.. and special stuff u all add in?.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 What and how often are you feeding? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jem Posted September 5, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 feed a variety of food -henry mix -pellets soaked in garlic -mysis shrimp soak in garlic is it ok to use this diet?..or should i stick to only one diet?..i change their variet every alternate days.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SoTongBall Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 try put in red bamboo algae for the tangs to eat + your normal feeding. They will be busy eating whole day, bery soon become fat tang. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 Variety will be much better for the Tangs. Henry's food is simply amazing. How often r u feeding? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jem Posted September 5, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 every night..scrape of a whole chunk of food for them to eat.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gouldian Posted September 5, 2005 Share Posted September 5, 2005 Hi Bro, The key is frequent small feeds. If you are not always at home, you can get a auto-feeder to feed small portions of pellets. At when you are home, you can continue with Henry's food. But bear in mind that frequent feeding = increase waste production. Make sure your skimmer is able to cope. Quote "Reefs, like forests, will only be protected in long term if they are appreciated" Dr. J.E.N. Veron Australian Institute of Marine Science -----------------------------------------------------------------------Member of:UEN: T08SS0098FPlease visit us here: http://www.facebook....uaristSocietySG Facebook Group: http://www.facebook....gid=34281892381 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member kueytoc Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 be careful...pui pui = more wastes = high NO4 = high PO4 = ??? I rather feed discriminately once or twice a day at least...as long as the fish is eating, then no problem. Cheers... Quote WRASSEY REEF PARADISE 4ftx2.5ftx2.5ft SRC Site: Welcome to My World of WRASSEYS !!! CHUISUI Site: WRASSEY World of REEF Paradise !!! mio CAN-REEF Site: Wrassey World !!! SiamReefClub Site: WRASSEY MASTER Hyper ไฮเปà¸à¸£à¹Œ ; Silly Fools ; Labanoon ; I-Nam ไà¸à¸™à¹‰à¸³ ; Modern Dog ; Sirasak Ittipolpanish ; Annita - Nisita Pongsong Twin-CAMs Power Module ! ; MIO Dream Car ! ; MIO Alter-EGO ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Earth Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 Dear Jem I have a yellow, purple and brown tang, all puipui... basically, I feed them with those red algae (look very much like grapes) once a month and I can tell u they really love it! pecking at it non-stop! even when the grapes are finished, they peck on the stem! For the other fishes and on a normal day, i feed them with Kent Marine and Formula 1& 2 pellets twice a day. the greedy tangs chiong for the pellets too... IMO, tangs are very greedy and i believe they are the easiest fish to be puipui... Quote 4x1.5x2.3 home tank 6x2x2.3 office tank Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted September 5, 2005 Share Posted September 5, 2005 Feed 12x day confirm after 1 months your BT will be super pui. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AquaRa Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 haha, i didnt know that tangs needed special diets to fatten up... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jem Posted September 5, 2005 Author SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 thanks so much for all the advices!.. really treasure it!.. i guess i will try to grab the red bamboo algae..is that what they call it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giantbicycle Posted September 5, 2005 Share Posted September 5, 2005 i guess i will try to grab the red bamboo algae..is that what they call it? yeap Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member barnacle Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 thanks so much for all the advices!..really treasure it!.. i guess i will try to grab the red bamboo algae..is that what they call it? but not those kinda red bamboo to hang clothes... Quote My Tank Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lester Posted September 5, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 5, 2005 i pump my tnags wif henry special food pui pui too ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member XPeriment 626 Posted September 6, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 6, 2005 tangs are very greedy. grapes, red bamboo, nori, they will all eat. My tangs are all fat like pigs Quote Be teachable always, nobody has a monopoly on wisdom. But learn to distinguish "fact" from "opinion". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member akahoshi Posted September 8, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 8, 2005 Question is.. How do you make a skinny powder brown became pui pui when it is housed wif a super fat BT and PBT? Any food that enters the tank will go straight into the BT and PBT mouth! The powder brown not fast enough.. So how to do make the powder brown fat w/o taking out the BT and PBT? Ps. - This is just a scenerio.. This is not happening in my tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
acidjazz Posted September 8, 2005 Share Posted September 8, 2005 My tangs daily diet: Morning: Ocean Nutrition Formula 1 or 2 flake/pellet food. At night: Mysis/brine shrimps. Seaweed. Cyclopreeze. More flake food. Quote 300 Gallon Reef Paradise 6X2.5X2.5 FT Tank : 4x2x2 ft sump : 2x1x2 ft refugim Skimmer: Deltec AP851 Calcium Reactor: Lightings: Aqualight T5 Retrofit, 150 watt MH X2 Chiller: Hailea HC-500A model w/ Aquabee 2000 Ozonizer: Hailea HLO-300 Digital ozonizer Wavemaker: Tunze 6080, Tunze 6060 Return Pumps: Aquabee 5000 x2 Other equipments: Aquabee 2000, Quietone 1200, 5L Co2 Cylinder w/ Dupla regulator American Marine Wireless Thermometer Reefing is a dedication, not a competition. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member stabilo Posted September 9, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 9, 2005 My tangs daily diet: Morning: Ocean Nutrition Formula 1 or 2 flake/pellet food. At night: Mysis/brine shrimps. Seaweed. Cyclopreeze. More flake food. Bro, you feed ur tangs scary sia, whole tank filled with Mysis/Brine ur tangs all go 5 month BMT type Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greywolf Posted September 9, 2005 Share Posted September 9, 2005 Bros, I understand that we can buy vegetables to feed the tangs. What types would you recommend and how frequent and the methods of doing it. Thanks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Sotong Posted September 17, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 17, 2005 where to get henry's food? & hoe does the red bamboo algae looks like? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maverick77 Posted September 28, 2005 Share Posted September 28, 2005 where to get henry's food? & hoe does the red bamboo algae looks like? I'm also interested to find out how the red bamboo algae looks like, can someone pls post a pic to share? How do I make my Convict tang eat? It's been 3 days and it's been very active but still don't feed on pellets and even sea weeds... Funny thing is that is ate when I bought it from the LFS... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted September 28, 2005 Share Posted September 28, 2005 Give it time, maybe still stress after the transport home and introduction to new enivroment. Quote Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dleecool Posted September 28, 2005 SRC Member Share Posted September 28, 2005 where to get henry's food? & hoe does the red bamboo algae looks like? Go to ML and buy from Henry loh!!! He is at Hong Leong near to Clementi!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maverick77 Posted September 30, 2005 Share Posted September 30, 2005 Give it time, maybe still stress after the transport home and introduction to new enivroment. One week liao still not feeding... Tried sea weed, vege, and pellots... No use... sian... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...