Ghostpipe Eating, Then Die :(

real

Recently I bought a ghost pipefish from OP, saw that it is picking on tank wall, so may have a good chance it will feed. True enough, it started eating adult live brine on first day! I was so happy and fascinated with its moment. Then 2 days later, I found its body lying on the substrate :cry: Part of its body has been torn, but I am not sure if it was attacked before or after death.

Although it ate live brine, I found that its poop has brine shrimp almost in perfect shape, a sign that the food is not digested. Does anyone has success story to share on feeding ghostpipe? Anyway, my tank has enough pods for it to feed, so I don't think it died of hunger, unless it is not interested in small pods.

Here is the pic:

post-32-1063553973.jpg

1. Keep in tanks with heavy copepod population.

2. Doesn't like mysis that much and I find that the mysis decimated the copepod population.

3. Keep another SIX tanks running, each the same volume as the original ghost pipe holding tank. Food runs out damn fast with ghost pipe.

4. Die off within 48 hrs mostly unrelated with diet.

5. Very very difficult specimens to keep. A lot of work. Only for those with tremendous patience and lots of time.

thanks Edwin for the info. Keeping SIX other tanks just for ghostpipe is definitely a NO for me.

Ong, I bought for only $8, I think the more expensive one is the red color ghostpipe.

I would like to give another try on ghostpipe, if anyone see it in any LFS please kindly inform me, thanks.

thanks Edwin for the info. Keeping SIX other tanks just for ghostpipe is definitely a NO for me.

Ong, I bought for only $8, I think the more expensive one is the red color ghostpipe.

I would like to give another try on ghostpipe, if anyone see it in any LFS please kindly inform me, thanks.

If i am not misstaken, saw it at rebo** on 17/9/03 2pm. A few in a tell tank right below on the rack, facing the packaging area.

There were many at r*b*r*. I saw a huge wan almost 2.5inche long too. Was quoted $20 leh ... Wonder how real got it at $8..

thanks Hon and cool_water for the lobang. Will drop by Reborn if I got time.

selling at $20? so ex meh? Then I better think twice, don't want to waste money and kill life. Looks like me and Thomas (OP) ah kar liao :D I didn't even ask for discount already get $8.