Finally.........

finally able to have a few things in my tank. went pasir ris farmway today to get some live rocks to further season my water. end up buying some corals too. (Hope it's the right move).

attached is a pic of what i have bought and my arrangements. i trying to achieve a colourful layout with some caves for fishes to hide.

i bought two live rocks ard 4 kg ($10/kg). a leather coral (left on top of the LR $10) and two i dunno what (on the right orange and blue. ornage is $8 and blue is $5). Can someone help me to identify the orange and blue thing.

Also i took some reading of my water after putting all these in with a Tetra 5 in 1 test kit (is it a good test kit?). Below is my readings:

NO3 - 0mg/l

NO2 - 0mg/l

GH - >16d

KH - 10d

pH - 7.2

water temp - 27 to 29 degree celsius

Are these readings healthy? if not, how to increase/decrease the various values?

Thanx for the attention. waiting for the replies from the experts here.

post-6-1063553554.jpg

Your pH is 7.2?! Or issit 8.2? Typo issit?

The blue and orange things are sponges. I hope you did not take them out of the water...which I am most certain you did....

Anyway..sponges not recommended for new tanks..they would slimpy starve to death. Make sure you feed them with phytoplankton.

finally able to have a few things in my tank. went pasir ris farmway today to get some live rocks to further season my water. end up buying some corals too. (Hope it's the right move).

attached is a pic of what i have bought and my arrangements. i trying to achieve a colourful layout with some caves for fishes to hide.

i bought two live rocks ard 4 kg ($10/kg). a leather coral (left on top of the LR $10) and two i dunno what (on the right orange and blue. ornage is $8 and blue is $5). Can someone help me to identify the orange and blue thing.

Also i took some reading of my water after putting all these in with a Tetra 5 in 1 test kit (is it a good test kit?). Below is my readings:

NO3 - 0mg/l

NO2 - 0mg/l

GH - >16d

KH - 10d

pH - 7.2

Are these readings healthy? if not, how to increase/decrease the various values?

I think it's a wrong move for you to buy corals for your tank since your set up is relatively new (since you said to further season your water). Corals need very strong lighting in order to strive. If you do not have the necessary lightings for it, chances of it dying is high.

Tetra test kits? I've read from one of the old threads in this forum saying that Tetra Test Kits is only suitable for freshwater and not suitable for saltwater. Perhaps someone will be able to clarify on this.

Good luck! ;)

Bought 2 sponge? the orange one will survive....mine has survive for a long time, but the blue ones.....unless you know the boss well and see to it that the sponge was never exposed to any air(outside water), not advisable to buy it. Exposure causes damage to the tissue which is irreparable.......too much light also kill these guys.....

Deepblue sorry hor , but i did try keeping blue sponge which they were expose to air for some time abt 20min . Only thing when expose to air would be they need a long time to sink .. :)

As they are known to be expose to air and sunlight during low tide at the area they are found .. :)

They wont die if u dose lots of DT ...

I think you gone a little way too soon to put corals inside. I hope you have read/research more regarding what to do during the 1st month. There are very informative articles (especially by Bawater) for newbies somewhere around. Agree with Kalib your pH too low. Should be around 8.0-8.3. Welcome to the club... :D

read it in the Aquarium corals book...my piece was exposed for a while....after sometime...it turned brown at certain portion and ....another gone...I once have one the size of a volleyball.....amazing!!!!

WoonMing...did you notice most LFS has it in dimlight, like SL...was told they thrive better in dim light...true??? :D

so how do i increase the pH value. i know it's too low.

and also the uncle just pack the sponge in plastic bag with some water and fill it up with air.

so i have to add phytoplankton to the water lor. is there any other thing to add? like calcium? so which test kit do u all recommend?

and can i know what is GH and KH. and what is the idea value for this two. again how to i increase/decrease their value?

I think it's a wrong move for you to buy corals for your tank since your set up is relatively new (since you said to further season your water). Corals need very strong lighting in order to strive. If you do not have the necessary lightings for it, chances of it dying is high.

Tetra test kits? I've read from one of the old threads in this forum saying that Tetra Test Kits is only suitable for freshwater and not suitable for saltwater. Perhaps someone will be able to clarify on this.

Good luck! ;)

i think tetra come up with 2 kind of PH test kit.. freshwater one is pic of freshwater angelfish(??dunno tio bo) while marine one is clownfish

sponges dont need calcium. But definitely increase yr pH. Chk this link for some products available.

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/sc_v...d=6&pCatId=8067

NO3 - 0mg/l

NO2 - 0mg/l

GH - >16d

KH - 10d

pH - 7.2

May i ask wat do u mean by 'Finally'?

finally after cycling the tank for beneficial bacteria ( abt few wekks time )

OR finally after a few days of running ur filter system?

cos b4 ur 'finally', i dun think u hav any LR, so did u actually cycle ur tank?

usually after a real 'finally' u shld hav some nitrate....

:off: today? so did u notice the chio bu at pasir ris..?

those make up shift stall..?

anyway I got bad experience with sponges, not going

to touch them for ages.

I think you add your coral too fast. After cycling then

adding some LRs, will kick start some cycling too.

Your water condition may drop after awhile. Do

other parameters looks ok, but not the PH.

You can buy PH upz or calcium solutions. but

PH upz should be cheaper I reckon.

:off: today? so did u notice the chio bu at pasir ris..?

those make up shift stall..?

anyway I got bad experience with sponges, not going

to touch them for ages.

I think you add your coral too fast. After cycling then

adding some LRs, will kick start some cycling too.

Your water condition may drop after awhile. Do

other parameters looks ok, but not the PH.

You can buy PH upz or calcium solutions. but

PH upz should be cheaper I reckon.

u mean at L35 one??

not too sure abt the addy. I neber bother one, just

drive ard, see marine sign I drop in.

The stall used to be at one side near the fodder feed

at one end. pitiful stall tat time, one tank, + a few bag

of fishes. Some more I got to educate the young chap

on marine fish + naming..

Now went back after abt 1mth, going bigger scale liao.

TIk the guy still blur abt marine keeping. put all the

fishes in plastic bag.. sigh..

not too sure abt the addy. I neber bother one, just

drive ard, see marine sign I drop in.

The stall used to be at one side near the fodder feed

at one end. pitiful stall tat time, one tank, + a few bag

of fishes. Some more I got to educate the young chap

on marine fish + naming..

Now went back after abt 1mth, going bigger scale liao.

TIk the guy still blur abt marine keeping. put all the

fishes in plastic bag.. sigh..

hmm.. the make shift stall should be at the lot where they have a number of big pond.. got shark, parrot fish etc..

i was at the other lot.. i think opp dog farm one.. got feeder bus come in one

Most of the Tetra 5 in 1 test I saw, are for freshwater.

Check the upper right corner of the packaging. If it says freshwater, it time to get another set of test kits.

You didn't tell us how long you cycled your tank, or whether your tank was cycled at all. 0 NO2 and NO3 are conditions that are not easily attainable. Of course, many of us would gladly pay big money to get this results. So no offence, but I think that you have not put your tank through the proper cycle yet.

Now that you have added in the LRs, I will assume that the die offs from the LRs will kick off the nitrogen cycle, unless those LRs are cured. At this stage good luck to you. The high ammonia and nitrite will pretty much kill the inhabitants in the tank.

Lastly, calcium and PH are not related in any way. If you want to raise PH, you can get those "PH up" solution. There are many brands in the market.

Cheers.

Hi, so u mean this is a pretty much condemned case? Doomsday? Any better suggestions? Any encouragements? As for the test kit, we did open our eyes when we bought it for the marine tank. As for the 'chio girls', we went Pasir Ris Farmway, not Geylang for your info. :sick: We bought the corals at the same time cos the uncle at the shop said it would work. We figured out we could trust his rearing fish experience. Well, im not so sure now after so many of you is condemning it...... hmm....

abangjohn

i think you really need to slow down a little and start reading up. you seems totally lost to me. there are quite a few threads posted in this section esp the one by bawater which are helpful.

the advise given so far will not help you at all if you don't understand what they mean.